We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, ok stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Ranked #3 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2012

GGC is an upscale lodge with outstanding views. Rooms are very spacious with a great layout. While the patios offer great views of garden of the gods as well as pikes peak, they are not at all private. The beds are comfortable but the sheets were a little scratchy for my taste. The fireplace in our room did not work, but we did not call the front desk about it. Had requested wine glasses be put in our room so we could enjoy a special wine we brought back from napa, but they were not placed there either. Again no call to the desk was made, we simply used a couple of the water glasses. Was a last minute booking and recieved a great rate. Overall i would probably stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colobandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggccomm, Director of Communications at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for your review and positive remarks about our mountain views. We'd like to clarify a few items. First, our luxurious bedding does include 100% Egyptian cotton sheets. Second, none of our guest rooms have inoperable fireplaces; we regularly check all fireplaces to make sure that they are working properly. What occasionally happens is that high winds outside blow out the pilot light on the fireplace, and it needs to be relit. Whenever notified of a fireplace issue, our front desk addresses it promptly. In the future, we will be focused on alerting guests up-front that this situation could possibly arise so that they're aware that the front desk can help. We are also revisiting our procedures for handling special requests, such as the wine glasses in the guest room, to make sure that they are properly completed every time. Again, thank you for visiting our property and for taking the time to write a review. We wish you the best, wherever your future travels may take you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,107)
There are newer reviews for Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

I need to break this down into sections...

Reservation person was great and did their best to give me advice on what floor is a better view to the lay of the land.
My only suggestion is to keep guest informed better that on Both Nights we stayed the Main Dining Room was booked.

The Rooms were old and perfect.. Large and clean with a beautiful bed and comfy bed linens. I loved the old style bathrooms with seperate vanities for his and hers.. Large walk-in closet with blonde wood that was in excellent shape. Room had a bar area with a bottle of Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries..
The view was unbelivable so Majestic and so real. I live in the springs but it was a view that i have never experienced before.. I woke up early when the sun was rising and the light was just hitting the Red Rocks of Garden of the Gods.. So Breathtaking that i could not sleep.. i just kept watching the light change the view.

We had dinner after the Main Diningroom guest left to be seated and we almost had the Bar/lounge to ourselves. We were served by Suzie..which we loved and she is a superb waitress. I had the Chipotle Chicken sandwich w/Sweet potato fries which was very good and my husband had the Teriyaki Salmon which was liitle overcooked but was still very nice dish.
The wine selection is very nice and sitting next to the window having a nice glass of wine was picture perfect..GGC members are so lucky.
Saturday we went over to the Golf Club and my husband hit balls on the range and i went and worked out in the state of the art Gym..if you are going to work out..i much rather have the views of Kissing Camels Golf course to make the work out better. It was a bit windy that day so the driving range was difficult but the Pro Shop and the wonderful helpful man that worked there made up for everything.. We talked and visited and he gave us history of the club and the construction that was going on to improve the 18th hole.

We went back after our workout to the spa hotub.. The hottub is in the GGC spa area.it was very private and the jets very were strong.. i would do a spa treatment from what i saw next time.
Of course we needed to go to another restaurant for dinner since the only option at GGC was the sunrise room which was a small plain meeting room converted to dine.(still upset about that)
Breakfest in our room was another highlight.. the views and the deer walking by under our window as we enjoyed the peaceful morning..

Perfect weekend and a wonderful place to Stay

Room Tip: Second Floor had excellant view..
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank one1badpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggccomm, Director of Communications at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for choosing The Lodge at Garden of the Gods Club for your recent weekend getaway. We are also appreciative that you took the time to write such a detailed review. Your positive remarks about our guest rooms, dining service and cuisine, golf course, sports club, spa, and local wildlife will be helpful to other Colorado Springs visitors in choosing where to stay. I have shared your suggestions with our front desk and management team. Again, thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay overall and hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We visited the Garden of the God's Club to celebrate a milestone birthday for my wife.

Despite making notation of this in my reservation, and having multiple e-mail communications with the front desk staff on this prior to our arrival, absolutely nothing was done to note the occasion.

Aware that this is often the case with hotels, when I made the reservation I had also special ordered some chocolate covered strawberries, at extra cost, and these were not delivered either. Upon asking about this at the front desk I was given breakfast coupons instead. A nice gesture, but somewhat sloppy for an "upper level" property such as this one.

Trying to save the event, I made mention of this to the maître d at the main restaurant when I made dinner reservations and again it totally went over her head. Listening ability seems to be a real issue with most of the staff here.

That said, our waiter at the main dining room was exceptional and thankfully was able to come thru with recognition, and a special dessert, when my wife tooted her own horn of the occasion in front of him.

Suffice to say the staff was "so-so." They make a solid attempt to serve and please, but their lack of listening skills is noticeable and, when trying to plan special events, can lead to disappointment.

The room was contemporary in its design and conveyed a feeling of upscale elegance. Be aware that there are no indoor hallways here so you are subject to the elements en-route to your room. The weather when we visited was exceptionally cold so it led for a brisk walk! That said, I certainly do not fault the hotel for this just something you should be aware of.

Somewhat disappointing, particularly with the cold weather condition, was the fact that the fireplace switch was broken and did not work and a few lamps were also broken and would not turn on.

As positives.... The food at the restaurant was exceptionally good and for the limited number of luxury properties in the Springs the value you attain here is quite reasonable - particularly when compared with your other local luxury options.

The view is exceptional here and one of the Lodges main selling points.... Renowned for offering the "Best" mountain views in Colorado Springs. On this point the Lodge did not disappoint. Looking out the windows to the west one can only say... Wow!

Overall we enjoyed our visit and the Lodge did offer a comfortable escape for the night. In regard to our rooms ambiance and comfort , lodge location and overall service the lodge did generally deliver. For this I give it a 4 out of 5.

That said, I likely would not come back if I were coming to celebrate a special event again. On that count the Lodge can use some improvement. If the Lodge can improve on this they would be a very solid option when visiting the Springs.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor Rooms provide a better view as you are elevated over the Lodge's lawns and trees
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelnrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggccomm, Communications Director at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

We appreciate your positive comments about our cuisine, views, atmosphere, and location and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us overall.

Thank you for having chosen to celebrate your wife's birthday with us. I apologize for the atypical service issues you experienced and have addressed them with the team for training and follow-up purposes.

When we experience high winds in Colorado Springs, the pilot lights on our guest room fireplaces sometimes get blown out, and we re-ignite them promptly for guests whenever the front desk is notified of the issue. With regard to the lamps, we regularly check the lighting in our guest rooms and have not recently discovered any inoperable or "broken" units. Although the lamps do have switches on them, their power is actually tied to light switches on the wall, which can sometimes be confusing for guests. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused you during your stay.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. Since you enjoyed your stay overall, we hope you'll consider giving us another try the next time you're in Colorado Springs. We take pride in our high standards for guest service, and what happened to you was not reflective of the typical guest experience at our property.

We wish you the best, wherever your future travels may take you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Booked a Jr, Suite for my Hubby's B-Day. Stayed on the 19th. My ONLY complaint was that the front desk person wasn't good at giving us directions to our room, she told us we had to leave the main grounds and drive down and around and go here and then there. When in reality a tiny path from where we were originally parked woulld have taken us right to our room. Once our room was found, BOY we were happy. Yes the decor is a bit outdated, i don't really mind that at all. We came to relax and spent time alone. We relaxed by the fireplace and looked out onto some of the most amazing views ever seen. Loved the bunnies running around. We got some yummy Thai from the place down the street. Bhain Thai and ordred sweets from room service. Which were FANTASTIC. NO ONE was over in the "south Patio" rooms except for us it seemed. We didn't hear or see another soul. It was peacful and wonderful We got what we came for. Room Service breakfast came HOT and FRESH and FAST. Everyone was friendly and cheeful. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We were on the end in 135! GREAT view! Very peacful!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggccomm, Director of Communications at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dawn, happy belated birthday to your hubby! Thanks for choosing to celebrate the special occasion with us.

We're so pleased to hear that you had an opportunity to take advantage of room service and that you enjoyed the dessert you ordered as well as your breakfast the next morning. I have shared your comments with our culinary team, who take great pride in delivering exceptional cuisine to our members and guests. In fact, the entire team here at Garden of the Gods Club is passionate about what we do. We feel privileged that we get to help our members and guests create memories they'll cherish for a lifetime.

Just to clarify, you actually stayed in a South Club guest room, not a South Patio guest room, in one of our junior suites. We're sorry for any confusion you experienced with regard to parking. We do train our front desk agents to instruct each guest staying in a South Club room to drive back out onto Mesa Road, down to the traffic circle, and back into the property so that the guest is able to park in front of the building. This provides the guest with easier access to his/her vehicle and makes luggage transport more convenient. While it's possible for guests to park near our spa and walk down the path of the South Club building, it's not as convenient as the approach that our front desk agents are trained to suggest.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lodge soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here at a deluxe suite. The room was very cozy and the views of Pikes Peak was outstanding. I don't think you can find better mountain views than from this hotel. The food is outstanding as well. It does not get any better than this in the springs. Top Shelf.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubaDiver-Crazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggccomm, Director of Communications at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your kind words about our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and I have shared your positive remark about the food with our culinary team. It appears that you're a Colorado Springs local, so you may want to consider becoming a member of our private club, which would give you access to our facilities and social programs even when you're not staying with us overnight. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review, and we hope to welcome you back to Garden of the Gods Club soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We've stayed here a number of times over the years and each stay is better and better - a great small hotel. Accommodations and service are impeccable. Views of Pike's Peak and the Garden of the Gods are outstanding. Puts the Broadmoor to shame!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conifer1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggccomm, Director of Communications at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words and for your repeated business. We're glad that you enjoy the intimate, boutique-style feel of our property and that you've noticed our staff's efforts to create a welcoming, service-oriented atmosphere for both our members and guests. Thanks again, and we hope you have an opportunity to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My husband and I went to Colorado Springs for a funeral of a dear friend. We live in Fort Collins, which is 2 hours away. We saw that the Garden of the Gods was offering a special deal called "On a Whim" or something like that.....a special for just January and February. So we decided to take advantage and spent two nights there.

First of all, we have always loved Garden of the Gods Club, and when we used to live in Colorado Springs, it was always a treat to go there for a special event. But we moved away 22 years ago, and did not know if the rooms would be nice or not. Well, we loved the room. Of course the view is spectacular, looking at Pikes Peak and Kissing Camels. And the room was large, with a big dressing area and a walk in closet. There was even a gas fireplace.
There were many perks included in the price.... internet, newspaper, mini-refrigerator, robes, etc.

We enjoyed the Thursday night Happy Hour, and we were shocked at how many people were there. A lot of locals, I assume. Then we took advantage of the pasta buffet and half price bottle of wine, offered on Thursday nights.

All of the staff that we came in contact with were extremely friendly. We really would recommend this, and we had a wonderful experience. In fact, we have already recommended to several of our friends that they should take advantage of the special and go before March.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lboortz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggccomm, Director of Communications at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Please accept our most sincere condolences for your loss. We are glad that our "On a Whim" special provided you with an affordable lodging option during your visit to Colorado Springs. Yes, our Thursday Happy Hour is very popular, and you are correct that many of the attendees are locals who belong to our private club. Thank you for your kind words about our property and for taking the time to recommend us to your friends. We are delighted that your stay exceeded your expectations and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
4.1 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,927 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,316 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,457 reviews
3.5 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
776 reviews
3.2 mi away
Colorado Springs Marriott
Colorado Springs Marriott
#28 of 105 in Colorado Springs
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden of the Gods Club and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden of the Gods Club and Resort

Address: 3320 Mesa Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80904-1036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#2 Spa Hotel in Colorado Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#8 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range: £152 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden of the Gods Club and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Colorado Springs, Garden of the Gods Club and Resort is a 69-room legendary golf and spa resort boasting breathtaking views of Pikes Peak and the red rock formations of the Garden of the Gods National Landmark. Guests have complete access to all of Garden of the Gods Club and Resort's amenities, which include fine and casual dining, a state-of-the-art sports club, a spa and salon, a 27-hole golf course, tennis courts, and swimming pools. All guest rooms feature a dramatic view of Garden of the Gods and Pikes Peak from either a private patio or balcony and include a refrigerator, coffee maker and bath robes. Wireless Internet access and daily newspaper delivery are included in the resort fee. The Club and Resort is also a retreat for weddings, social events, and executive meetings. During your stay at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, you can be as active or as pampered as you desire. Take advantage of the Sports Club's wide variety of fitness equipment and group exercise classes, hit the nearby walking trails, or get a golf or tennis lesson from our PGA or USPTA-certified professionals. The full-service spa and salon offers massages, facials, body treatments, manicures and pedicures, hair care services, and luxurious retail products, and the cuisine served in The Club and Resort's Dining Room rivals that of some of the finest restaurants in larger cities. Additional dining options include The Lounge and, on a seasonal basis, Kissing Camels Grille at the golf clubhouse. The Garden of the Gods Club and Resort is conveniently located within five miles of many popular Colorado Springs attractions, including Garden of the Gods Park, the Rock Ledge Ranch historic site, the Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center and the Old Colorado City shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden of the Gods Club and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Garden Of The Gods Club, Colorado Springs Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing