We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating but great overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Ranked #3 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Needs updating but great overall”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Went there for a winter getaway in November. Was a little disappointed in how "old" the rooms seemed to be, also outside entrance in the winter is tough. The room was clean, big and had a great bathroom and fireplace with a view that made up for the outdated-ness. Went for a drink in the lounge, could have used a little cleaning but again the views were outstanding. Very affordable and quiet as well as close to everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    180
    64
    22
    14
See reviews for
282
478
39
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This vacations were a marvelous time over viewing the mountains from our room. We even had a bunny eating grass in our patio everyday.
Fresh air, snow, and an awesome couple massage and Jacuzzi was the perfect combination for a relaxing Thanks Giving with my love.
Breakfast was excellent and the view of the mountains was the best of all!

Room Tip: Any room has the mountains view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca K, Marketing Coordinator at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Carla - we are so honored that you spent your Thanksgiving holiday here at the Resort and most importantly that you had a "marvelous" time. We greatly appreciate your review and hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAN FRANCISCO
Level Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Pros:
+ You will have premier view of the Garden of the Gods in Colo springs as all rooms faces the monument; this view is hard to beat anywhere in the world!
+ Check in/out; valet folks are excellent - fast and friendly
+ Excellent WIFI; TV; Frig and coffee maker
+ Excellent gym and pool/spa
+ Beautiful grounds and buildings
+ Close proximity to every attraction in Colo springs
+ Master suite is large (~1000 sq ft.), clean and well furnished; but the layout is a bit awkward - we do love the balcony (Note: Our experience is positively biased as the staff has upgraded us to the master suite; YMMV a little)

Cons:
- You will need a car to get here
- Rules to require 'clubhouse attire' on the hotel grounds and at dinner resturant seems silly at this price range
- The lodge has a kept a 1970s look and feel; some will find this as good memories, younger folks will feel it obsolete; it looks like a set from the 1978 TV show "Dallas"
- No microwave even in a master suite?
- The king bed smelled a bit 'medicated'; perhaps from previous tenant.....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCTAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Purchased the suite which was the largest room on the property for an early Christmas present for my girlfriend. Issues started immediately when they gave me the wrong room at first, and when I went up to the proper room after getting it sorted, the other rooms with my package were all locked off. Got that sorted eventually but we noticed the thermostat in the bedroom was working. We tried TWICE to get someone to come fix it but the front desk just assured they would take care of it and nothing happened, the heater was blasting 85 degrees the whole time, we had to leave the doom to the adjoining parlor open to use its AC to cool our room down both nights. The best part of the trip is the view of the mountains, but one of the doors leading to the balcony was broken so we had to fiddle with it for a while to get it to roll.

On our second night around 1am we heard a large group of loud drunk people in the hall just laughing and cutting up. We assumed they were just going to their rooms but after half an hour we had to call the front desk to do something about it, which they either ignored the front desk or the desk never sent anyone because they continued for another 30 minutes before I had to go downstairs and scream at them myself.

Had a breakfast scheduled our last morning here for 9:30 but it was over half an hour late but they at least comped the meal which was nice. The food itself wasn't that great but that's always personal tastes.

The bed was very comfortable at least.

Would not recommend anyone visiting, at least certainly not the most expensive suite. For a fraction of the price the Hyatt down the road still has a great view and functioning staff and room amenities.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradIha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The rooms are nice and have a great view of the park. The on property restaurant has wonderful food and our server, Nora made the evening delightful! All of the staff were helpful. If you are in Colorado Springs this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reragland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We recently had the opportunity to spend 5 nights at the Garden of the Gods Club. It was an incredible experience with the views of the Garden of the Gods with Pikes Peak in the background looking just like the great photos you see. We had access to the small fitness room in the Lodge and to the very nice fitness center located across the street at the Kissing Camels Golf Club. We were off season so didn't get a chance to play the 27 hole golf course. Being off season we had a great rate and enjoyed fabulous food at Garden of the Gods Club. The Garden of the Gods Visitors Center is located just down the hill from the Club and give a great overview of the history and geology of the Garden of the Gods. It is free and has a great gift shop. The Garden of the Gods is a city park, is free and is an otherworldly experience. There is lots more to do in the area so getting a terrific rate at the Lodge and visiting the nearby sights is a wonderful way to spend fall days.

Back to the Garden of the Gods Club, the staff was terrific and always wanted to know what else they could do for you. Any minor glitches were remedied with a smile.

In the interest of full disclosure this property was recently purchased by a local group who intends to return it to its former lofty status and add a world class wellness facility. We do know several of the new owners, but do not believe that affects our ability to review the property, the service and the experience.

Room Tip: all the rooms have the fabulous views. We had the choice of staying over the restaurant and bar or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Colorado Springs ranks among my favorite destinations within the US and the Lodge at Garden of the Gods is easily one of the reasons why. I recently had the opportunity to visit on a road trip with a few close friends back in spring and booked the lodge solely on the sheer percentage of TripAdvisor photos featuring wildlife. Oh the superb views, attention to quality service, and quantity of five dot reviews played a part as well. But let's be honest, we're all here for the sheer amount of bunnies.

Pros:

Location - You can't get much closer to the Garden of the Gods. The only structure closer than the lodge is the visitor center. (I'm not sure they'd be too keen with you sleeping there anyways) Each room at the lodge offers a spectacular view of the park; here garden view isn't code word for hedges in front of the parking lot. The way the building curves allows all rooms to be forward facing; as far as I can tell this means every view is spectacular.

Rooms - Large, clean and full of convenience. The beds are extremely comfortable and positioned to provide a great view of the large vista windows. Of note, I'm not clear if every room has a fireplace, but I'd fully recommend requesting one if they don't. (The bathroom itself is a bit smaller than what you might expect but the massive sink/closet space makes up for that in spades.)

Ease of access - You're in an area that defines getting away from it all but you're less than a 5 minute drive from the conveniences of Manitou/Colorado Springs. The road up to the lodge is nutty at night though.

Cons:

Honestly? Nothing to complain about here. The cell phone policies and the suit jacket dress code for the dining room are completely minor at best. Our only regret about the trip was not staying longer. Also a raccoon/bear/large land-bearing mammal left prints on our car. That's not a complaint though.

Would I stay here again?
Not even a question. Planning on returning with my friends/girlfriend/family/people I know on Facebook/co-workers/anyone-interested-in-paying-my-way as soon as the opportunity presents itself.

Room Tip: Request the ground floor. The patio space is more than worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
4.1 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,868 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
802 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,300 reviews
4.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 105 in Colorado Springs
540 reviews
8.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Springs near the Air Force Academy
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Spri...
#2 of 105 in Colorado Springs
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden of the Gods Club and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden of the Gods Club and Resort

Property: Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Address: 3320 Mesa Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80904-1036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Colorado Springs
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#8 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden of the Gods Club and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Colorado Springs, Garden of the Gods Club and Resort is a 69-room legendary golf and spa resort boasting breathtaking views of Pikes Peak and the red rock formations of the Garden of the Gods National Landmark. Guests have complete access to all of Garden of the Gods Club and Resort's amenities, which include fine and casual dining, a state-of-the-art sports club, a spa and salon, a 27-hole golf course, tennis courts, and swimming pools. All guest rooms feature a dramatic view of Garden of the Gods and Pikes Peak from either a private patio or balcony and include a refrigerator, coffee maker and bath robes. Wireless Internet access and daily newspaper delivery are included in the resort fee. The Club and Resort is also a retreat for weddings, social events, and executive meetings. During your stay at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, you can be as active or as pampered as you desire. Take advantage of the Sports Club's wide variety of fitness equipment and group exercise classes, hit the nearby walking trails, or get a golf or tennis lesson from our PGA or USPTA-certified professionals. The full-service spa and salon offers massages, facials, body treatments, manicures and pedicures, hair care services, and luxurious retail products, and the cuisine served in The Club and Resort's Dining Room rivals that of some of the finest restaurants in larger cities. Additional dining options include The Lounge and, on a seasonal basis, Kissing Camels Grille at the golf clubhouse. The Garden of the Gods Club and Resort is conveniently located within five miles of many popular Colorado Springs attractions, including Garden of the Gods Park, the Rock Ledge Ranch historic site, the Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center and the Old Colorado City shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Garden of the Gods Club and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Garden Of The Gods Club, Colorado Springs Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing