We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very difficult to review...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Ranked #3 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very difficult to review...”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Depending on which piece is being rated, this review could go from excellent to poor. We stayed at the resort on Saturday, May 24th, expecting a luxury resort with full amenities. The view - EXCELLENT! Our room looked out over Garden of the Gods and was simply beautiful. Our large "deluxe" room... the first thing you notice is the smell used on the carpet to cover... what? smoke? mildew? old, outdated carpet?... whatever the reason, it smells like pepto bismol and it's horrid. The carpet and the furnishings are outdated and do not scream luxury - they may have 20 years ago but not today. For those who watch tv, I'm sure the two flat screens would be nice. The bathroom. and dressing area are huge but a waste of space. For that much room, there could be a huge walk-in shower or a large tub. Nope, just standard tub and very standard toiletries.

There are many weddings taking place here. When checking in, we were told dinner could only be in the fireside lounge and not the main dining room because of the wedding party. Ok. So, if you're looking for romantic, you won't find it at a hightop table next to the bar. There was one waitress and one person behind the bar who was making drinks for those in the bar - and also for the wedding party, while taking dinner orders. She did the best she could, but a few additional servers would have helped.

Spa services - the couples massage was great; April and Debra were wonderful! After our massage we were looking forward to hottub and pool time, having specifically reserved here because of the no children rule. The pool had a few rather loud boys and when asking about the policy, no one seemed to know when the no children rule went in to effect. A manager was finally found who said it went in effect the day previous, and came and asked that they try to be more quiet. It's not as if we're against children, but rules are rules - and don't advertise what will not be upheld; and, really, if they are in an adult area maybe they could be respectful and be quiet. We ordered lunch and it was mediocre, but that's personal preference. A couple hours later, I was able to get in for a manicure. Now, here's a problem. I was charged $10 to remove the shellac and another $10 to put it on. I was then charged another $35 for a manicure. Now, I'm not sure what they consider a manicure, but other than taking the polish off and putting it back on, the girl did nothing to my cuticles other than squirt some liquid on and push them up and then at the end rubbed a ridiculous amount of lotion on my hands and arms, to where I had to ask for a towel to wipe most of it off. Had I been told I'd pay $35 for that piece, I would have waited to come home to Denver and had a real manicure for a lot less than $66 (tips are included in all prices - which we actually liked).

So... couples massage for $204 - excellent value. Room charge of $400 with an extra $15 charge for Wifi - not even the view made it worth the smell and non-luxury feel. $66 for shellac manicure - waste of money. Dining experience - average. $700+ for a night in "luxury" and a spa day - lesson learned. Stay at the Broadmoor. The view may not be as great, but the amenities and luxury will be well worth the money spent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denverfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca K, Manager at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We are appreciative for your comments and feedback. We agree that our views are as you stated EXCELLENT! We do, however, want your experience to be excellent too. I will share with you the reason for the large size of our rooms and walk-in closets are because we have guests that will stay weeks with us and therefore, need larger rooms and more space for their belongings. I’m glad to inform you we are in the process of upgrading our rooms and addressing the carpet and furnishings as part of our upgrade. I’m not yet able to determine why the carpet had a smell as if we sprayed something on it, but we are taking every measure to ensure that does not happen again.

We do host weddings with our magnificent views of Garden of the Gods and Pikes Peak as the backdrop. When we host weddings our Club Dining Room is always available for dining. However, the Club Dining Room was full that evening and as a result the Fireside Lounge was available. We should have also offered another dining option at our Kissing Camels Grille located in the golf clubhouse.

Please accept our apologies for your experience not being one that we wish to provide all our guests. We not only strive to meet expectations, but we want to exceed your expectations. The Spa services should have been explained to you in advance. Our staff should have been able to answer your questions regarding our Spa infinity pool and minimum age of 16 or older is required during the summer months.

Thanks to your comments we are addressing issues that should not have taken place and these improvements will make us better. We hope you will choose us in the future, not only for our unmatched views, but for the charm and ambiance of a boutique Lodge striving to provide personalized service.

-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    790
    180
    64
    22
    14
See reviews for
283
479
39
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were on our honeymoon headed home to California from Iowa. We just needed a place to sleep for the night. Late night check in at 9:30pm. Called ahead, desk person was friendly, but quoted me a AAA price, but neglected to tell me about resort charge, taxes and fees. We left at 730 the following morning. Had I known about additional fees, I would have never stayed there knowing we were only going to be there a couple of hours. Saw my credit card bill for double what was priced to me and sent me through the roof. Called to get it straightned out and no one has returned my call for over a day. Give me a break. I would not stay here again because of customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca K, Manager at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We want to offer congratulations on your wedding! We also sincerely apologize for not communicating our Resort Fee and what it includes. Our $15 Resort Fee includes Valet Parking, Daily Newspaper, In-room Bottled Water, Wireless High Speed Internet Access, and Access to all Resort/Club Amenities (Pools, Fitness Center and Classes, Golf, Tennis, Spa, and All Dining Facilities). Our only other charges are taxes. Our policy is to respond to all guest inquiries within 24 hours. We are sorry we failed to do this. We would like to extend an offer for you to call our Front Office Manager at 719.520.4975 so he may help resolve any outstanding issues. Once again, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.

- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn Mawr
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This resort has the most beautiful views anywhere around "The Springs" - and that includes the Broadmoor. It also has good size, comfortably equipped rooms. But, until it sorts out its chronic "service problems", it's never going to make it past three stars.

We spent a week in a suit there in mid-May while the resort was undergoing significant renovation. Nothing like enough was done to shelter guest from the impact of the work in progress - inside and out. Senior management was wonderfully patient but they were dreadfully understaffed and what staff they did have were, for the most part, inexperienced - and one or two were down right "cranky", like the barmaid who made it very clear that she had better places to be at 10:15 on a Saturday night!

The food and dining room service is reasonable for a golf club - but it's not fine dining.

This could be, by far, the premier hotel anywhere close to "The Springs". It has the location. But it really does have to add the staff - enough of them and, most of all, staff who are true professionals

Such a shame - so much potential wasted.

Room Tip: Only accept a room with a view of the Garden of the Gods and stay away from rooms that are far from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca K, Manager at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your comments as we need to know what your experiences have been in order to address them. Also, we appreciate your acknowledgement as having “the most beautiful views anywhere around”.

We sincerely apologize for the service you identified and assure you we strive to immediately resolve all service related issues. We want you to have the best experience possible when you stay with us and anything less is unacceptable. We were undergoing renovations during your visit with us and made significant effort to keep our guests from being negatively impacted. Temporary sound walls were built with wall paint and texture to match our permanent walls. Many of our guests thought the temporary walls were permanent.

We do have a fine dining room in the Resort Lodge as well as a restaurant at our Kissing Camels Golf Grille. Our main dining room is considered fine dining and rarely have we been told otherwise. If you did eat in the main dining room, I again apologize for not meeting and exceeding your expectations. We use the finest beef and are attempting to go “farm to table” in selecting our ingredients. We have been told our wine list is exceptional and our menu offers a wide variety of offerings.

As a note regarding our rooms, I’m pleased to say all our rooms have fabulous views facing the Garden of the Gods Park and Pikes Peak. There are no garden, pool, or parking lot views other properties may have.

We truly regret you did not receive the service and level of professionalism you are deserving of and more. We hope you will please consider staying with us again and enjoy not just our breathtaking views you mentioned, but also the elegant services and professional service standard we are known for.

- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, Missouri
Level Contributor
232 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Wow! what a treat to wake up each morning to a perfect view of Pike's Peak and the Garden of the Gods-- watch the Kissing Camels change in the sunshine from tan to gold in a minute. Just amazing. The rooms in the lodge are spacious and lovely. Every amenity. Breakfast in the room or in the restaurant was delicious. We enjoyed a wonderful wedding rehearsal brunch on the Sunrise Terrace. certainly the top place to stay in Colorado Springs. We loved it!!!!!

Room Tip: Our room was 222. Nice!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGMaSue19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
433 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We spent 3 days at this hotel while attending the college graduation of our grandson over the past weekend, and we were happy with most everything......the location of the hotel is hard to beat; on a quiet residential street with exquisite views of the impressive rock formations in the nearby Garden of the Gods, very nice facilities, good food, friendly staff and well appointed rooms. I think the layout of the room and adjoining dressing area and bathroom, #231, is a great design for spaciousness and privacy. It's true that the furnishings are a bit dated but that was a minor issue. All that said, we enjoyed our stay and only have one small complaint.....the resort fee is objectionable in light of the price of our room, approximately $250 a night, and we never know exactly why some hotels insist on that additional charge. We appreciated the water but didn't get a newspaper delivered and we had to wait until late in the afternoon to have our room cleaned....seems like a silly expense. We will probably stay at the Lodge again if we ever make a return trip to the area because the good definitely outweighs the less than good! Nothing is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKandCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We loved our stay at the Lodge recently! They even upgraded us to their largest suite - WOW! Awesome views of the Kissing Camels and the Garden of the Gods park. Great service, staff, and food! Highly recommend it to everyone! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The suite is the way to go - awesome views and spacious/comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We found ourselves in Colorado Springs due to my mom's eye surgery. There were complications and we had to stay three nights. We had adjoining rooms to help with mom's recovery. The hotel staff was awesome and accommodating. We used room service constantly and they were able to give us some special items to meet my mom's needs. Sitting by our fire at the end of the day enjoying a superb meal with a glass of wine and looking out over the incredible view made the next day easier to handle--even in the spring snowstorm. We will return under better circumstances to take full advantage of the resort and grounds.

Room Tip: The first level rooms have outside patios with easy access to the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
4.1 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,869 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
802 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,305 reviews
4.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 105 in Colorado Springs
540 reviews
8.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Springs near the Air Force Academy
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Spri...
#2 of 105 in Colorado Springs
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden of the Gods Club and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden of the Gods Club and Resort

Property: Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Address: 3320 Mesa Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80904-1036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#2 Spa Hotel in Colorado Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#8 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden of the Gods Club and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Colorado Springs, Garden of the Gods Club and Resort is a 69-room legendary golf and spa resort boasting breathtaking views of Pikes Peak and the red rock formations of the Garden of the Gods National Landmark. Guests have complete access to all of Garden of the Gods Club and Resort's amenities, which include fine and casual dining, a state-of-the-art sports club, a spa and salon, a 27-hole golf course, tennis courts, and swimming pools. All guest rooms feature a dramatic view of Garden of the Gods and Pikes Peak from either a private patio or balcony and include a refrigerator, coffee maker and bath robes. Wireless Internet access and daily newspaper delivery are included in the resort fee. The Club and Resort is also a retreat for weddings, social events, and executive meetings. During your stay at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, you can be as active or as pampered as you desire. Take advantage of the Sports Club's wide variety of fitness equipment and group exercise classes, hit the nearby walking trails, or get a golf or tennis lesson from our PGA or USPTA-certified professionals. The full-service spa and salon offers massages, facials, body treatments, manicures and pedicures, hair care services, and luxurious retail products, and the cuisine served in The Club and Resort's Dining Room rivals that of some of the finest restaurants in larger cities. Additional dining options include The Lounge and, on a seasonal basis, Kissing Camels Grille at the golf clubhouse. The Garden of the Gods Club and Resort is conveniently located within five miles of many popular Colorado Springs attractions, including Garden of the Gods Park, the Rock Ledge Ranch historic site, the Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center and the Old Colorado City shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Garden of the Gods Club and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Garden Of The Gods Club, Colorado Springs Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing