We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Haven of Hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colorado Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hughes Hacienda Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I was looking for somewhere beautiful, quiet and peaceful but still close to city amentities. Hughes Hacienda is all of that and much more. The owners, Wayne and Carol, were very inviting and informative while, at the same time, respectfuly of our privacy. The Hacienda Suite was large and tastefully decorated in Southwestern decor with high quality linens on the bed and robes available for the guests which was a nice touch since we had packed lightly. We found the accommodations to be immaculate and the breakfasts we experienced?? Mmmmmmmmmmmm..great! We enjoyed walking down to the barn to see the horses and walking the two trails on the property. The views were great and our only regret was that our trip wasn't longer. When we left during a blizzard, the Hughes were kind enough to call us on our cell phones and text us to make sure we had safe travel and even asked that we call then when we arrived back in Missouri safely. We cannot wait to go back to the Hughes Hacienda. Thank you, Wayne and Carol, for making my daughter's 40th birthday so special!

Room Tip: The Hacienda Suite is large with a separate sitting area, microwave, small fridge and wet bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank digar_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

My husband and I arrived at the Hacienda during an early night in November 2012 and it had already become dark. As soon as we pulled into the driveway, they had wonderful music playing outside welcoming us to the property. As we entered the charming front gate to the courtyard of the Hacienda and stepped onto the beautiful front porch, we were greeted by Wayne who made us feel instantly welcome!
In the morning we came up stairs to the smell of a wonderful breakfast and a view of the mountain which literally took my breath away!
Every breakfast was a work of culinary art and delicious with fresh juice and fruits accompanying every one of them!
Our room was the Hacienda Suite. It has a wonderful seating area with a fireplace, a wet bar, a music system, and private restroom. We LOVED it! And can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: The Hacienda Suite is like a privite apartment space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Hughes Hacienda rates with the best. Warm and friendly, comfortable, a lovely home that speaks of the full and wonderful life adventures of hosts Wayne and Carol. Loved the music playing in each room, even the bathroom. Our room had a lovely view of the mountains and a balcony to sit to enjoy the moon or the morning sunlight. Hacienda is about 10 minutes outside of Colorado Springs, just a quick drive to several good restaurants. Breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented by Wayne in his chef's jacket. Thanks for everything, wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My wife and I , and one other couple stayed at Hughes Hacienda on Sept 28 and 29, 2012. We were touring CO , but wanted to have a base in Colorado Springs for a few days. THe accomodations were great. Very clean, up to date accessories and had our privacy when we wanted it , but also had a chance to talk with the Hughes as well and learn about the area and listen to a few good adventure stories. Nothing else needed as far as accomodations. We had the suite, which had a sitting/tv area and we could have the other couple come over to our room for a nightcap.

THe smaller bedroom had a nice tv and deck as well, but not big enough to do much else in the room. But you do get a nice patio with a great view for having a glass of wine or reading a book.

Both rooms had a bathroom exclusive to your room. Very nice and clean.

If you only want a bed and a breakfast , then dont come here. If you want to make the B&B part of your touring, then this is the place. Exceptional view and comes with its own hiking trail (strenuous hill as well). Gourmet breakfast on the patio overlooking the valley was a great way to start the day. Even the neighbors are very friendly when we took a morning walk.

Did notice creaky walls (disturbed sleep for an hour or two) when we opened the window at night. Must have been some wood shrinking with the cooler night air entering the room. It took us a night to get the right temperature for sleeping.
I did like the firm mattress and pick of numerous pillows.


Location is very well centered for Rafting, Pikes Peak and Garden of the gods.
Great value for the price. Remember , it is not just a beg and a breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I have stayed in the finest hotels in the world...The Peninsula in Hong Kong, the Shangrila in Singapore, The Palace Hotel (Kings Suite) in Sun City So Africa....none of them surpass the beauty,serenity & elegant yet cozy personalized service provided by Wayne and Carol at Hughes Hacienda from the moment you enter the wooden gate to the sound of the fountain, birds and soft music played throughout.
Nestled in the majestic Red Rock Valley south of Colorado Springs, you will enjoy the spectacular views from patios, porticos or the private balcony of the Baja Room.
An evening under the stars in the outdoor jacuzzi is quite an ending to a day that begins with the most colorful, delicious & unique breakfasts home cooked & served up first class style in your room, patio or fire side.
Don't miss a trip to Josh n John's ice creamery on PIkes Peak Blvd during your stay where they scoop the best home made ice cream in the world. A short drive north puts you in Garden of the Gods for scenery of rock formations that look other worldly with no entrance fee.
Whether you stay one night or a week, you will be looking for an opening in your calender for another visit to this heavenly hacienda soon.

Room Tip: ~This is "B&B" at it's finest. Remember that you will be enjoying a stay in a priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catherinelejeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This was our first Bed and Breakfast experience. We were greeted at the door by Wayne and welcomed by warm lighting and soft music playing throughout the hacienda. With a quick tour and introduction to his wife Carol, we settled in to an amazing 2 days. The Baja room that we stayed in was warm and very comfortable. We slept great! We woke up to the wonderful view of Blue Mountain, birds darting back and forth from the feeders and the lovely smell of coffee. The most delicious breakfast was served outside. The attention to detail was very impressive. Wayne and Carol offered quite corners, hiking trails, books, music and friendship. I hope to go back!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shortywi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I had been looking for a different place to spend some time with my Bride on the weekend of our 40 anniversary. Having never before stayed at a B&B I looked for different places. Hughes Hacienda was the spot I finally chose at the last minute. Wayne was very accommodating to the late reservation. We spent 2 days. Our room was well appointed and Carol was a gracious host, attentive and friendly. Carol was a new friend by the time we left. The location and views of the Blue mountains was special to us. The facility is very quiet and my bride and I enjoyed the laid back atmosphere of the facility once we relaxed after about 1 hour sitting on the patio. The hummers and birds of all kinds flittered about the patio. Carol and the birds made the superb and delicious breakfast even more enjoyable, almost didn't want the leave while enjoying their chatter. The deer were also up close and personnel.
Wayne also knows the places to eat and see in Colorado Springs and local area. Wayne's restaurant suggestions were right on for our tastes and the variety. Several good to excellent places are within 10 miles of the Hacienda. Each place he suggested we tried and the restaurants were very enjoyable.
Hughes Hacienda is tucked away in the foothills and in early August with the Hot Colorado temperatures this weekend brought a little coolness.
Both Colorado Springs and The Royal Gorge are nearby. A little over 45 minutes to the Gorge and Canon City.
Since this was our first B&B experience I would believe that I could not have chosen a better spot.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
15.5 mi away
Garden of the Gods Collection
Garden of the Gods Collection
#3 of 103 in Colorado Springs
1,160 reviews
19.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 103 in Colorado Springs
1,587 reviews
12.7 mi away
Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn
Holden House - 1902 Bed and Brea...
#4 of 17 in Colorado Springs
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Old Town Guesthouse B&B
Old Town Guesthouse B&B
#1 of 17 in Colorado Springs
418 reviews
25 mi away
Black Forest Bed and Breakfast
Black Forest Bed and Breakfast
#13 of 17 in Colorado Springs
29 reviews
13.5 mi away
Spurs and Lace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Spurs and Lace Bed and Breakfast...
#7 of 17 in Colorado Springs
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hughes Hacienda Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hughes Hacienda Bed & Breakfast

Address: 12060 Calle Corvo, Colorado Springs, CO 80926-9640
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Colorado Springs
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing