We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B in a great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colorado Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Room with a View Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We recently returned from a great vacation throughout Colorado and our first stop included three nights at A Room with a View. Our stay at this quaint B&B could not have been better. Chris is the most gracious host and superb cook. We stayed in the first floor room which was very comfortable. Our breakfasts were delicious and we had something unique each morning. I especially enjoyed being able to sit on the front porch in the morning with my coffee or in the evening as well. Colorado Springs is a wonderful city and the location just near the downtown area was very convenient for everything we wanted to do. We were able to walk to a nearby park our first night to watch fireworks on the 4th of July and Chris even supplied us with a blanket on which to sit.

We were able to walk to the main downtown area where there are many great restaurants and breweries. We especially liked the authentic German restaurant that Chris recommended and this was only about a five-minute drive away.

Outside of the downtown area, we visited Pike's Peak, Garden of the Gods and Old Colorado City, all just a short drive from A Room with the View. It really is in a convenient location.

After leaving A Room with a View and the Colorado Springs area, we drove through Great Sand Dunes National Park in the southern part of the state. We were amazed at the magnitude and size of the sand dunes. It really is a sight to see. If you happen to be in this area, this park is well worth a visit.

Our journey then took us to Durango for a couple of nights. Durango is a great Western town with a nice walkable downtown. While in Durango, we visited Mesa Verde National Park. The cliff dwellings in this park are truly amazing. Like the Great Sand Dunes, if your travels take you to southwestern Colorado, I recommend visiting this park as well.

We finally ended our trip in probably the most visited Colorado park, Rocky Mountain National Park. As all of the other parks and areas we visited, this park did not disappoint. The fact you can be up in these peaks in these heights is quite impressive, not to mention the wildlife we saw.

In summary, we had the most remarkable Colorado adventure and it all started with staying at A Room with a View and getting some great information from Chris on the areas. If your travels take you to Colorado Springs, I recommend that you consider this B&B for your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyinIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

First and foremost, Chris was an incredible host. We only stayed for a night, but she made sure we had everything we needed during our stay - including a delicious breakfast before we departed. It's a nice little house within walking distance of downtown Col Springs. Also, close to Manitou Springs and Garden of the Gods which we also visited during our stay. I would highly recommend this B&B if you are in the area. Chris will make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tomry15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed just one night. Chris gave us such personalized service by asking what we liked for breakfast and making something to our tastes.It was wonderful! Location is great, very close to everything. Chis made us feel very comfortable. She is a great host!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Located on a quiet street within easy walking distance of downtown, Room with a View is only 6 or 7 minutes off I-25. We stayed in the large upstairs king room which is spacious and quiet with a huge bed, cable TV, sofa, coffee table, and fully functioning window for light/air as needed. There is an adjustable thermostat for individual comfort and plenty of outlets for electronic gadget charging. The bathroom (just outside the room) is well appointed with towels and travel toiletries and a single stand-up shower. This is a shared bath with another room but it remained unoccupied while we were there. Everything is clean and well maintained. We didn't check out the other available rooms or garage facility so I can't comment on them.

Monument Creek and Shooks Run are close by; if you want to a nice place to walk/run/bike etc, you can easily access this paved trail system. If you like traveling on foot, in addition to downtown, you can also walk to Colorado College (30 min) and the US Olympic Training Center (40 min).

Chris is a wonderful and accommodating host. My Sis and I have very different tastes in food so Chris eagerly made us different, individual tasty and nutritious (and large portion!) breakfasts each morning ready at whatever time we suggested. She has copious knowledge of C Springs (and statewide) area so is helpful with recommendations for sightseeing and suggested travel routes. We enjoyed everything about our stay here.

Room Tip: Loved the spacious upstairs king but the stairs are steep and I suggest downstairs if you have any a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nowakklmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed for four nights in September 2013. Chris was a terrific host and her breakfasts are as good as advertised. There was something a little different every day, and always delicious. Good location, close to downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jharp03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had a very good experience with Chris at her B&B. We had a problem with our room (broken heater) and luckily were able to move to another room. Chris made everything right and made sure we were well taken care of. The breakfasts were excellent--no one will go away hungry from her table!

Room Tip: Next time I would probably choose an upstairs room in the house for more privacy. We were on the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This was to be our last stop before the long, arduous trip back to the UK. Thanks to Chris; we rested well, and were fed even better! It is a wonderfully located spot. Downtown is within easy reach. loads of great places to eat and drink are within easy walking distance. Chris has fantastic local knowledge, and is a wonderful resource of all things Colo Springs. Stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,533 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#19 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,348 reviews
6.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 104 in Colorado Springs
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,947 reviews
2.8 mi away
Old Town Guesthouse B&B
Old Town Guesthouse B&B
#1 of 17 in Colorado Springs
408 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St. Mary's Inn, Bed and Breakfast
The St. Mary's Inn, Bed and Brea...
#2 of 17 in Colorado Springs
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Room with a View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Room with a View Bed and Breakfast

Address: 528 E Bijou St, Colorado Springs, CO 80903-5400
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Colorado Springs
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Room with a View Bed and Breakfast near downtown Colorado Springs is within walking distance to shops, restaurants, night life and entertainment. Nestled in a quiet neighborhood, surrounded by lush, peaceful parks, a paved pedestrian and bicycle trail is mere steps away from the shady front porch. Free WiFi hotspot on premises, so you can stay as in-touch as you like, or leave the rest of the world behind. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing