We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Enjoyed Our Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #58 of 104 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited for a week from Indiana. The rooms were decent sized, the bed was a little hard but adaptable. I don't see why this place gets such bad reviews. The staff was friendly and the breakfast workers were helpful and kind. It may not be the nicest hotel in COS, but there's so much to do in COS that you shouldn't have to spend so much time in your room! The breakfast was yummy and had lots to offer. I would stay there again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your review. We are happy that you and your family had a great stay at our hotel and hope to see you again soon. Thanks.


Sincerely,

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Management
719-329-7444

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Worst service EVER! Had to set up own conference room 3x days, no vacuuming of the room, no service for water/coffee, bathrooms not cleaned for 3x days. Food was horrid, came frozen on day one. Bedrooms dirty, crawling on the floors of the bathroom. Go anywhere but here.

Room Tip: There is not a good room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Please call me at the number below so we can discuss the specific details that you refer to in your review. I take matters of service, safety, cleanliness and condition extremely seriously. I get shift reports and walk the hotel throughout the day. Thanks.


Sincerely,

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
719-329-7444

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Nice staff, decent breakfast downstairs. Clean enough rooms. But after confirming a late checkout with the front desk twice, housekeeping still tried to come in while I was trying to get ready. Also, there was no ventilation whatsoever in the bathroom, which kinda weird and seems like it would be possibly not up to normal building codes.

Anyway, overall it was fine and we would probably stay here again if needed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your positive review. We strive to deliver friendly and helpful customer service, clean rooms and a well maintained facility. Thanks for giving us another opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back to our area.


Sincerely,

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
719-329-7444

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Poor access to ramps from drop off for luggage cart. Poor customer service from desk staff. Small elevators made it hard to get luggage cart in. Door lock did not work properly. We had to be put into another room. We were supposed to have 2nd bed in our room for our kids but the only thing they could give us was a single bed. Pull out the hid-away for kids and it was broken. Kids fell threw the bed in the middle of the night and had to be put on the floor. Plumbing leaked.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChadH777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are an older property and our guests do sometimes need additional assistance navigating their way through our building. I know that our maintenance team went with you to your room and ensured there were no issues with getting access into your room. You were also moved from the room where you indicate you had problems and we offered you a special discount for a future stay. We hope you take advantage of this offer and give us another opportunity to deliver great service for you and your family.

Sincerely,

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
719-329-7444

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights with 2 adults and 2 teenagers. The room was comfortable and clean. The shower worked great and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was adequate. Not fancy but enough that we started our day with full stomachs. The location was fantastic just off I-25. They had a business center were we were able to print our boarding passes. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. For the price it was a good find and we will stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmurray942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your review. The highest compliment we can get is repeat business which is earned by delivering good value and service to our guests. We are happy you had a good stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
719-329-7444

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I was in town for work and stayed for 2 weeks in March. The front desk staff was always pleasant and helpful. The night staff was particularly so. The hotel is in the middle of some sort of renovation, so some areas are clearly not "done" - such as weird gaps in the ceiling of the pool room and construction debris on the pool deck. Honestly I couldn't tell which rooms were remodeled and which weren't. (The rooms next to me had some painting done while I was there, but other than the door being a different color they looked the same as my 2nd room.)

My first room smelled of smoke and the heater kept cycling - it turns out the glass slider didn't actually close (issue with the track). So cold air kept blowing in the heater, which kicked it on. And smoke was coming in the room from people smoking outside in the courtyard. Also there was no shower curtain. Considering I had a 2 week reservation and the hotel was rather empty I'm not sure why they put me in a "not ready" room. The next day I was moved to a new room with a working (closing) window (and a shower curtain). But there was no bedspread or cover on the duvet. I asked about it (twice) but it never appeared, so I stopped worrying about getting the duvet dirty from putting stuff on the bed. I also had to ask for clean towels one day, my room was never made up at all another day, my bed was not made up a different day. Generally just very spotty housekeeping service.

Breakfast is all fat, artificial sweeteners, and carbs. Since I have food allergies there wasn't anything there I could eat other than hard boiled eggs and fruit (if there was any). And no decaf coffee. So I stopped checking.

I was fortunate that there were no groups of young people in my area of the hotel. At some points there were large groups, and they apparently were very noisy and inconsiderate of other guests.

Oh, and the wifi was INCREDIBLY spotty. It worked fine the first week, and was completely broken at least 50% of the time the second week. Even during our meeting, when we were told they were making special effort to keep it up and running, it was unreliable.

Overall:
- breakfast not worth eating
- pool and spa were great, but area had sketchy debris and was clearly unfinished
- room was fine (once i switched)
- housekeeping varied from great to non-existent
- wifi varied from great to non-existent
- location was very convenient
- front desk staff helpful (but did not always have influence over housekeeping)

Room Tip: Rooms on courtyard have no street noise, but smokers go out there so if you open the window you migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hipsterbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for staying with us for two weeks in March! Yes, we are finishing up our pool project and adding final touches to all guestrooms in preparation for Peak Season. This includes the addition of a new Bistro C Restaurant Concept which will provide better quality food items for breakfast and dinner. We were experiencing internet issues during your stay due to outages but we were also in the process of adding additional bandwidth to our Internet which has now been completed. Finally, we have added new staff that provide great service but are still learning the ropes. I will touch base with all Department Managers regarding your feedback and we will focus on delivering better service.

Sincerely,

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
719-329-7444

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

So I will do this review on this hotel with pros and cons lists just to clarify.

Pros:
Great decor
Wonderful Service that helped us decide the restaurant we are going to.
Decent breakfast
Best sleep we had on our entire tour Colorado trip.
Great pool with great area (minus cons about it)
Everything else was THE BEST!!!!!

Cons:
Cheerios outside of a room on 2nd floor for 2/3 of our trip.
No towels in pool area and when called to restock gave had towels Day 1 but Day 2 worked fine.
Breakfast wasn't anything fancy except for what it looks like

We will stay here the next time we are in Colorado Springs.

Room Tip: The pool is rather cold, so don't be prepared for a warm pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caribbean556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for providing us with great objective feedback about your stay at the property which will be used to make our team better. We firmly believe that delivering superior service makes the difference between a good stay and a great stay. Our hotel team is extremely happy that you had a great stay overall. Thanks and much appreciated that we have earned the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
719-329-7444

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0 mi away
Quality Suites Downtown
Quality Suites Downtown
#54 of 104 in Colorado Springs
207 reviews
6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#68 of 104 in Colorado Springs
122 reviews
4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of the Gods
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of ...
#41 of 104 in Colorado Springs
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Days Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy
Days Inn Colorado Springs Air Fo...
#43 of 104 in Colorado Springs
590 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn South
Quality Inn South
#42 of 104 in Colorado Springs
257 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Colorado Springs South AP
La Quinta Inn & Suites Colorado ...
#22 of 104 in Colorado Springs
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 314 W Bijou St, Colorado Springs, CO 80905-1307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 104 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range: £45 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel® & Conference Center is a 100 percentnon-smoking full-service hotel located just nine miles fromthe Colorado Springs Airport. With convenient access toInterstate 25, this Colorado Springs, CO hotel is close tomany local points of interest, including Colorado College,the United States Air Force Academy, United StatesOlympic Training Center, Pikes Peak "America's Mountain"and Garden of the Gods public park.The business traveler will welcome the convenience of thebusiness center, complete with fax and copy service.As one of Colorado Springs' only full-service, mid-size,downtown hotels, the Clarion Hotel & Conference Centeroffers 10,000 square feet of functional meeting spaceand a full range of catering services. Whether planning ameeting for 14, a reunion for 50 or a reception for 200, wecan accommodate events in a setting that is both unique andrelaxing. Our experienced and professional convention andcatering staff can make any event a success with our "Be OurBest" service.Guests of this Colorado Springs, CO hotel will enjoy a varietyof deluxe amenities, such as:• Free hot American breakfast with scrambled eggs,sausage, hashbrowns and more• Manager's reception Monday through Thursdayproviding two free cocktails and hors d'oeuvres for eachguest• Free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms• Free local calls• Free newspaperBe sure to enjoy our state of the art indoor saltwater pooland hot tub or relax in the beautiful courtyard garden.A grab-and-go food and beverage counter in the lobby isavailable 24 hours, offering sandwiches, soups, salads, beer,wine and cocktails. In addition, guests are invited to takeadvantage of the downtown YMCA facilities; contact the frontdesk for free passes.All of our guest rooms feature such standard amenitiesas hair dryers, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards,refrigerators and microwaves.For added convenience, an ATM is on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Colorado Springs
Clarion Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing