We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing! Dirty Property!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #55 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Colorful Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Disappointing! Dirty Property!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The outside was dirty, landscaping was bad, paint was peeling, needless to say we were a bit concerned about what our room would be like?! We PRE-PAID online and it is non-refundable and now we know why they do that! When we walked inside there was another guest yelling at the Front Desk Male Clerk who really seemed to keep his cool. A female clerk came out to help us, she was nice and check-in was easy but as we walked to our room the hallways were hot, the carpet was filthy and the tiles around where we were told breakfast would be was sticky and in desperate need of a mop! The elevator was small and hot too, the door to our room was small, we had booked a King Suite which reminded us of a cheap studio apartment, tan toilet and tub, sinks and tub were slow to drain, but overall we felt our room was clean compared to the public areas of the hotel. Some other positives about the room: The beds were comfortable and there was a good little fridge in there that even had a crisper, and the Wi-Fi worked well! All the staff we encountered was friendly but we had hoped the housekeeping staff would get to the dirty areas before breakfast service started, but that was not the case, floors were still sticky, tables were still dirty (like we saw them the night before) and we were a bit apprehensive about even eating there, but joined the other guests who seemed to be enjoyed themselves and going back for 2nds and 3rds. It was a typical hotel breakfast, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, and oatmeal. Nothing exciting or anything to make it stand out from the crowd. This is the second CHOICE HOTEL we have tried this summer and have been disappointed with both of them, think we will stick with the high, consistent standards of the BEST WESTERN BRAND!.

Room Tip: Usually like a top floor with a view, but at this hotel all the first floor rooms had walk out patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept our deepest apologies for not having a great stay with us. We appreciate your comments regarding our staff's excellent service. Our Maintenance Department is working on improving our landscape and curb appeal. Thanks for your feedback.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    135
    72
    60
    67
See reviews for
148
107
55
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The good: the staff is excellent. Everyone we came into contact with was pleasant and helpful, from the folks at the front desk to the young lady who was cleaning up in the breakfast room.

The OK: breakfast was unexceptional, but perfectly acceptable.

The bad: this whole property looks like it's been rode hard and put up wet. Basic maintenance appears to be almost totally lacking. For example:

- exterior paint is peeling and/or missing entirely
- carpets in public areas were filthy, tile was chipped and cracked
- it took us half a dozen tries to get our room door to open every time we went in
- we found a partially-eaten sucker on the shelf by the microwave; in fairness, the rest of the room appeared to be clean
- there were brown stains on the ceiling over the tub
- there was something black on the wall behind the toilet
- the walls looked like they'd been patched, but poorly, and repainted in colors that didn't quite match. There were even areas that were missing paint entirely, like half of the shelf in the closet.
- the only outlet reachable from the beds was an extension cord on the floor.
- my husband had to spend 45 minutes on the phone with tech support to get logged into your wi-fi so that he could get some work done, and even when he finally got logged in, the signal was really weak.
- the room was extremely noisy. We could hear people coming and going all night long. That probably means that the door to the room isn't insulated for sound.
- lighting was inadequate. It was impossible to sit on the sofa (or lie in the sofa bed) and have enough light to read, because there's no lamp at all on that whole side of the room.
- all in all, our impression of the room was that it was just kind of funky

I'm not generally picky about hotel rooms; as long as it's clean and functional, I'm happy, and we've had great experiences at Clarion in the past, (The one in Garden City, KS is outstanding!) But it really annoyed me to pay $140 per night for a room that wasn't as nice as a room I could have had at Motel 6 for $70. We checked out a day early.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbettin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your review. We are glad that you felt our staff provided excellent service and that you also thought the breakfast was sufficient for your needs. We are in the process of improving our property grounds and public spaces. We hope you consider staying with us again in the future.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colorado Springs hotels

Morris
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I called the late afternoon before driving to the hotel and asked for an early check in. The girl up front said that the king rooms were full that night but the earliest we could check in would be 1pm. I had explained to her that I would be on the road for 13 hours and had had been awake that morning since 4am. Taking her word for it, my family and I headed to Colorado Springs after I got off work. We arrived an hour early so we ate at the Denny's across the street until 1pm. So at 1 pm we go to check in and the girl up front tried many times to contact the cleaning crew and had no luck. After an hour of waiting the cleaning supervisor shows up and our room had still not been cleaned. At that point I was frustrated and just wanted to leave but could not get refunded. So we had to wait. I was so tried from being awake for almost 36 hours. Finally around 3pm (normal check in time). We were able to get our room. The girl up front handled my frustration well and the maintenance guys that helpped with our luggage were awesome and very friendly. Even though the outside, just off property, was a little spooky I felt secure within the hotel. Not a bad place to stay just not where I would stay next time. Sorry.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SMS4OU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your review. We are glad that you liked the king suite room and have noted your comments regarding wait time at check-in.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Customer service was awful & when I talked to the manager (Savannah?), she said we would get 2000 Choice Rewards points, but she did not follow thru on her promise! We were consequently unhappy with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Your points will be added to your Choice Privileges Account as promised. Thanks for your patience.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very convenient. Stayed there to be close to the downtown area for business. Slept well. Room was extremely clean. Quit area even with the highway right next door. Which made finding the place very easy. Will be staying here every time I come to the springs.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your feedback. We are glad that you had a great stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Im a firefighter form CT who flys out to CO every year for the fallen firefighter memorial in Colorado Springs. I have stayed at the clarion, The rooms are very clean and updated. It's a nice place to stay. The staff is friendly and accommodating. This place is great !!! I already booked my trip back to CO again in September.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KevO498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you and thank you and all firefighters for the service you provide around the world each day. We are honored to be able to host you and your brothers and sisters when you gather each year to remember those that have paid the ultimate sacrifice. Thanks and look forward to seeing you in September!

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Wow was the Clarion amazing!!!! The service was wonderful! Clean! Quiet ! Quaint! There is no better place to stay! If you are visiting Colorado Springs this is the only hotel you need to stay at/ Perfect location!

Room Tip: No smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moquin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks so much for your review! Our staff is focused on delivering great service, clean rooms and a well maintained facility so your travel experience to Colorado Springs, Colorado is positively enhanced.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Suites Downtown
Quality Suites Downtown
#54 of 105 in Colorado Springs
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Colorado Springs Dwtn Area
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#38 of 105 in Colorado Springs
167 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of the Gods
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of ...
#45 of 105 in Colorado Springs
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn South
Quality Inn South
#43 of 105 in Colorado Springs
245 reviews
6.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#69 of 105 in Colorado Springs
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 314 W Bijou St, Colorado Springs, CO 80905-1307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel® & Conference Center is a 100 percentnon-smoking full-service hotel located just nine miles fromthe Colorado Springs Airport. With convenient access toInterstate 25, this Colorado Springs, CO hotel is close tomany local points of interest, including Colorado College,the United States Air Force Academy, United StatesOlympic Training Center, Pikes Peak "America's Mountain"and Garden of the Gods public park.The business traveler will welcome the convenience of thebusiness center, complete with fax and copy service.As one of Colorado Springs' only full-service, mid-size,downtown hotels, the Clarion Hotel & Conference Centeroffers 10,000 square feet of functional meeting spaceand a full range of catering services. Whether planning ameeting for 14, a reunion for 50 or a reception for 200, wecan accommodate events in a setting that is both unique andrelaxing. Our experienced and professional convention andcatering staff can make any event a success with our "Be OurBest" service.Guests of this Colorado Springs, CO hotel will enjoy a varietyof deluxe amenities, such as:• Free hot American breakfast with scrambled eggs,sausage, hashbrowns and more• Manager's reception Monday through Thursdayproviding two free cocktails and hors d'oeuvres for eachguest• Free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms• Free local calls• Free newspaperBe sure to enjoy our state of the art indoor saltwater pooland hot tub or relax in the beautiful courtyard garden.A grab-and-go food and beverage counter in the lobby isavailable 24 hours, offering sandwiches, soups, salads, beer,wine and cocktails. In addition, guests are invited to takeadvantage of the downtown YMCA facilities; contact the frontdesk for free passes.All of our guest rooms feature such standard amenitiesas hair dryers, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards,refrigerators and microwaves.For added convenience, an ATM is on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Colorado Springs
Clarion Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing