We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back for sure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs
Ranked #82 of 104 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Not the most knowledgeable staff. The lady at the front desk had to re-key the room so both of the keys worked and she didn't know where I could find a pharmacy. They do have free Wifi so I found that out myself. The King bed was great. The HotTub next to the bed was awesome. the cable was less that desirable would have liked a guide channel or something and more movie options but I found entertainment. My friend said it was better than the military cot he had in the bunk on base. It's right off the freeway which is nice granted you have to pass it and go flop a U a few blocks away if you are coming from the North Nevada side. Still comfortable. The back of the toilet tank was cracked and there were homeless people in the park across the street and they don't allow pets. Over all I'm going back if for nothing else to use that hot hot hot water in the hot tub. One of my most fun and relaxing vacations. And No the Homeless weren't a problem they were never on the hotel property. My honeymoon hotel with my first husbands was much worse than this.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Primaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2010

I think these people are ridiculous with their complaints, it is probably the cheapest place to stay in C. Springs, it is obviously not the Hilton. The lady at the front desk (Kimberly) was very nice and was able to get me in a room right away. Its not a very nice place but I didn't expect it to be for the money, its clean with wifi and close to everything.

....Nate of Montrose, Co

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathanpc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

First thing the first room took three to get air conditioning was a nasty nasty room the air conditioner didnt work a little complaining they moved us to another room conditioner fine the room painted thought I was at a different hotel. Well the sink didnt drain nice but the air worked a plus at best hot today. went the next day they wanted to move us said fine, I am a smoker and the nice room was non smoking . We get back from royal gorge all day wanted cold air and a shower sat on the bed and someone had thrown up on the floor between the bed and center table nasty place would warn everyone to stay clear from this cheap filthy nasty hole in the wall . They moved us back with some steady complaining.
DONT EVER prepay three nights without seeing what you are getting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!!!!!!!!! And did not have two queen beds as advertised a queen and a full size not what I paid for online......

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jowings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We picked this hotel for location and that was the only good part. Filthy carpet, surly service, trash behind the drawers, unflushed toilet on check-in, bath we had to clean. If HoJo are trying to improve their name then they should bullbozer this hotel or get management that care about cleanliness and service. Book this hotel if you want the Eastern Block experience from the 80's.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TommoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We had a coupon from a travel book, which brought the price down to a very reasonable rate. Beds were comfortable and room was clean. Overall, very "passable" and a great deal with the coupon.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler6245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2008

As we were driving to our destination, Colorado Springs, my husband told me we were staying at a Howard Johnson. Needless to say, I was relieved. With two small children, I wanted a clean, comfortable room where we could rest for the next leg of our journey.

As we pulled into the dimly lit parking lot, I became uneasy. The lights in the lot barely shed light on the hotel, let alone the parking lot - an indication of a lack of safety knowledge. I determined to alter my attitude; after all, this was associated with the Howard Johnson name, right? Even though the company apparently purchased a seedy hotel in a rough neighborhood, they would take every precaution necessary to protect their good name. At least that was my thought as we went to our room.

I was completely wrong. The room, while modest, was difficult to swallow. There was a large spike strip with several appliances plugged into it, sitting on the BASE of the jacuzzi tub in the front room - a fire hazard and another indication of a lack of safety knowledge. The bathroom had holes in the wall and large chunks from the sink and shelf missing as though guests had attempted to open beer bottles on them rather than using the opener nailed to the back of the door. Although we requested a non-smoking room, this room had apparently been used as a smoking room at some time and had been "flowered" over with perfumed spray. We arrived around 9:00 P.M. and attempted to settle into our room.

I unpacked our two year old and our two month old and prepared to settle them in for the night. At 10:00, our air conditioner quit working, so I called the front desk to ask for a different room. The clerk, I believe his name was Raul, informed me he "just had that air conditioner fixed, and the other people who complained about their air conditioner just had to turn it down a little bit."

So we accommodated his request.

The air conditioner still didn't work. He called back to check and I told him we just needed a new room. He moved us two doors down, to Room 115. So, late at night, we packed up our luggage and our two children and moved down the sidewalk.

The new room, a non-smoking room, was a welcomed change - or so I thought. After putting the kids to bed, I went into the bathroom, again to be greeted with holes in the wall and a large hole in the wall-paper. Again, I steeled myself to have a good attitude and, as long as my kids didn't touch anything but the sheets, they were probably safe.

I would not be writing this letter if that is all that had happened... The next morning, I went into the bathroom and started to use the facilities when I watched a trail of ants emerge from under the baseboard and crawl across the bathroom and enter the baseboard at another spot. I shook my head in disbelief.

How could Howard Johnson, a well-known and respected institution, allow this to happen to their name, especially in an age where websites and the rapid flow of information means businesses have to be aware of everything that is happening on their grounds?

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brncofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

We did not even stay at this hotel. It was questionable on arrival. But we had to stay close in the area due to our car being at the dealrship for repair. The whole strip is questionable in fact. Colorado Springs has far better areas. First the office was dirty and unorganized. When we get our rooms there are belongings for families in both rooms. When we went to the front desk his only response was that he had just got on shift. We asked for a refund and left. What if we were asleep and he gave someone our key. When he gave us our recipt he put on there that we did not like our rooms. Of course not!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xyia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
9.2 mi away
Econo Lodge North Academy
Econo Lodge North Academy
#71 of 104 in Colorado Springs
141 reviews
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#70 of 104 in Colorado Springs
119 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Suites Downtown
Quality Suites Downtown
#54 of 104 in Colorado Springs
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Colorado Springs South AP
La Quinta Inn & Suites Colorado ...
#21 of 104 in Colorado Springs
541 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
Clarion Hotel and Conference Cen...
#57 of 104 in Colorado Springs
500 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn South
Quality Inn South
#43 of 104 in Colorado Springs
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Address: 1231 S Nevada Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80903-4312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 104 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range: £48 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy Access Off Interstate and Close to Downtown Conveniently located just off Interstate 25, our Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs hotel near World Arena is just blocks from downtown. Begin each morning with free Rise & Dine continental breakfast and a free newspaper to get charged up for the adventure awaiting you. After a busy day, relax with our heated outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi Internet. We offer thoughtful conveniences like 24-hour front desk, in-room microwaves and refrigerators, and free outdoor parking. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available at our hotel in Colorado Springs. Book your room online today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express South Nevada Ave. Hotel Colorado Springs
Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing