We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not family friendly” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden of the Gods RV Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colorado Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garden of the Gods RV Resort
1 review
“not family friendly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

major mudslide one person died and one still missing. called and left several messages that we couldn't get through. the next day they call and so no refund. I believe my family is worth more than the 52.61 they wouldn't refund. I will never stay there again. You can bet I will tell everyone I talk to this experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gogmanager, Manager at Garden of the Gods RV Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
We are very sorry for the inconvenience that the recent flash floods have caused. The night you were supposed to arrive several of the other RV parks in the area had to evacuate and being one of the few in the area that didn't, we had to find temporary emergency relief for those guests. This may have also been the reason why you were unable to get through by phone, as we were busy coordinating with the displaced customers trying to find them a space. Our policy is that a no show is charged for the night they didn't show and since we were in an emergency state the communication as to why you were unable to show may have been lost. So for that reason please call us back or email to gog@rvcoutdoors.com and we will be happy to refund that nights stay due to the circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    61
    36
    21
    18
See reviews for
105
53
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have a family of 5 kids ages 3-21 and there was something for everyone. We were right next to the pool and had ample space. We absolutely loved the location! You could walk to a huge amount of activities including Garden of the Gods, horseback riding,a skate park, and the great town of Manitou Springs. The Rv park itself has an arcade where most games are only a quarter, dinner 4 nights a week with music and icecream, playground, pool, and lots of area to walk. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The laundry and bathhouse was the cleanest ever with everything working great. The only drawback was the wifi not quite strong enough but there were public computers for your use. We will definitely be returning!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shana l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ensign, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

What a great place for our family to stay! Easy to get a big rig into. Staff is excellent and goes out of their way for whatever you need! The personal service to help you park your RV is a plus! The boys loved riding their bikes around the park, playing in the arcade, swimming, and the playground! Quiet place and very peaceful! Very clean restrooms and showers, and an excellent laundry facility! Close to alot of things to do in the Springs area. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Phenomenal Resort!!!! My Husband and I were AMAZED at the service from a few Superb employees. Felicia greeted us joyfully each morning, taking our trash, inquiring as to my sleep experience, offering us coffee, she even helped with our laundry!! Who does that these days? Well apparently Felicia believes whole heartedly that Exceptional Service is what her life is all about. She indeed cared dearly for my family! I asked her where she worked before... where her service skills emanated from. She was the Operations Manager over a huge hospital and before that she was a Director of Property operations at a few major hotels. Wow! She said she came to this Resort because their corporate core values matched her own. ''SERVICE with a Giant Smile and a Helping Hand''!!!! And Betsy & Ian, these 2 went above and beyond. Their kindness, courtesy and attention to detail made me think I was at a luxury boutique hotel. We had the greatest vacation. It was Amazing! Thank you for all you did for all of us!!! See you next summer.

Lisa M

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Oh boy what can I say. If you look at the website it looks great, then you get there and wow. You are right smack against your neighbor. Lots of kids and their little electric scooters and bikes riding all over the place. I had been there once before and I will never return again. They have added more sites to an already crowded campground. Office staff is about as friendly as prison guards. Just north of the Garden of the Gods is a riding stable. That was aromatic every evening. All gravel pads with a small concrete pad for the picnic table. Not easy to back into your site because streets are very narrow. Plenty of room for the Big Class A's but those are premium sites. Rules are not enforced. Shower and restroom facilities are not the greatest. In summation, if you would like to camp in a place that feels like a cage, stay here. I have more room in my living room at home, than in this campground. $40.00+ a night, think about it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tfd850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex E, Public Relations Manager at Garden of the Gods RV Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
RVC recently acquired this favorite vacation spot that had fallen on hard terms. We have just completed the first phase of renovations, including our restroom facilities to enhance the guest experience. As a result of your comment we have reevaluated our security and monitoring of the property to ensure the safety and enjoyment of all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colorado Springs hotels

Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was not the worst rv park we have stayed in but keep in mind this place packs you in TIGHT!!! It was a good thing our neighbor was in our group that camped there and we had plans for our day time. Don't let the pictures fool you they do not show how very close they make you park to one another. Also they say they have a quiet hour, don't beleive that either, we had someone show up in the middle of the night to set up a pop-up camper with what seemed like 8 kids all yelling and banging stuff around. The views would have been great if we didn't have a coach 4 feet from our door blocking everything! Just stay the night and move on.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex E, Public Relations Manager at Garden of the Gods RV Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
We appreciate your feedback that allows us to improve. We have evaluated our security and monitoring of the property to ensure the safety and enjoyment of all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is probably one of the worst, not quite the worst - we have a couple other gems in mind for that distincition, Class A motorhome park we've stayed in during our travels and that's saying a lot.
Ok, if you have kids and multiple animals it's probably a little better. But, really... the park is extremely crowed and equally as extremely outdated. All bout about 6 pads are either gravel or dirt. the inner streets are wornout and busted up asphalt. Streets are also narrow with an abundance to big trees which no one thinks to keep pruned back. Expect a good chance that'll you'll damage your rig driving to or from you site. Speaking of sites... you park close enough to your neighbors to read their morning paper while they sit in their coach. We could smell sewer odor everywhere and this is despite rules, which they don't enforce, saying to keep sewer hoses connected and maintained. The guy next to us lost his 90 degree elbow for his hose and rather then buy a new one stuffed the hose down the opened pipe. Real nice! Our sewer hookup was surrounded by raw sewage that had been spilled by the previous tenant. Looked to us like no park staff attempted to clean it up before we got there. The electrical, we need 50 amp, was spotty at best and required several resets due to the circuit breakers being weakened by repeated use as on/off switches. Their electrician I asked to have a look at our pedestal asked what the problem was since I WAS getting electrical. Really?
Office staff is pretty much not helpful. They will agree to anything just to get you out of the office and then never follow through on anything they say they will do. It's pretty frustrating dealing with a bunch of park volunteers who get to stay for free if they work around the park. There's a huge lack of desire for the staff to do anything for fear they'll lose their free parking spot and be shown the exit. Really sad!
Lastly a word about the surrounding area. This place is nowhere near the park for which they derive their name. Garden of the Gods is several miles away and not at all visible from this park. The small town, Manitou Springs, where the park is located is a pot smokers paradise with "medical marajuna shops" (wink, wink, nod, nod) on every street corner. Honestly, why would any resident of any town or city in this great country want to have as part of it's description a pot paradise with readily available dope and "dopes" on every street corner? THese shops are supposed to be medically and state licensed? Garden of the Gods has a medical pot shop right at it's entrance. Look for it on the right as you pull in. All this readily available dope really attracts a lot of people that clog the streets and street corners playing music and panhandling to the point you can't walk down the street. I wonder if a person can get high or cancer from second hand bong pipes? Traffic noise is bad all aorund the park due to the closeness to the only major road into and out of town.
Finally, if you want to stay in the Colorado Springs area try the Cheyenne Mountain State Park south of town. We are only sorry we found out about this beautiful state park too late to make a reservation. The park features a full venue of activities and easy access off the interstat The park offers a full venue of area attractions, park activities and the academy. Best of all the park is newer and beautifully maintained by a very qualified and capable staff of both camp hosts and park rangers.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clouddancer330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex E, Public Relations Manager at Garden of the Gods RV Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
RVC recently acquired this favorite vacation spot that had fallen on hard terms. We have just completed the first phase of renovations, including some tree management and infrastructure improvements to enhance the guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
1.8 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of the Gods
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of ...
#47 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn...
#6 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
#17 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden of the Gods RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden of the Gods RV Resort

Property: Garden of the Gods RV Resort
Address: 3704 W Colorado Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80904-1916
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 227
Also Known As:
Garden Of The Gods Campground Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing