We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Colorado Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center
Ranked #31 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We always stay here when we come to Colorado. Where else can you stay in working Castle? The Premier Rooms have great character and charm. We especially appreciate the Pink House rooms. The grounds are beautiful and hiking is right out your door. Wonderful and adventurous.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FartherIsBetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

I've lived in Colorado for most of my life and never knew that this place existed until a few years ago. Nestled in a lush, private valley within the Garden of the Gods, Glen Eyrie is a most breathtaking and beautiful property. We were there with a large group for several days. The lodgings run from inexpensive and rustic to very upscale and luxurious--you decide based on your own wallet. The grounds are green and often wildlife roams--turkeys, deer, big horn sheep. There are multiple hiking trails and picnic areas, and the property has a coffee shop (yea!). Access to groceries and restaurants is just a few minutes away. The people that work there are gracious and friendly and bend over backwards to accommodate. I will absolutely stay there again, and again, and again.

Room Tip: Only some rooms air conditioned. Lower levels if no A/C are cooler--like Cedar Ridge lower
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you for visiting Glen Eyrie! We are grateful you enjoyed your visit and we hope to get the chance to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Ten friends and I were patrons of the Castle on Friday, May 31, 2013 for "High Tea". This experience was the MOST DISAPPOINTING afternoon regarding our "High Tea". The table was set beautifully upon our arrival, however the rest went miserably downhill. The scones were a bit hard and were definitely not fresh. The rest of the servings were substandard to say the least. The items were identifiable from Costco or Sam's Club. The fruit consisted of a slice of unripened Kiwi with the skin in tact and a half of a strawberry. The tea that was served was bordering on acceptable, however two choices for eleven patrons wasn't exactly generous. We each received a half dollar sized piece of brie cheese and a little quiche from Sam's club, along with 1/2 strawberry, a slice of unripened kiwi with the rind still in tact, 3-4 crackers for the cheese, 2 -3 scones (wedge cut) with devonshire cream, a mint and a piece of candy!!!!! I will not recommend the "high tea" to anyone. Maybe you are trying to get out of the "HIGH TEA" service. You are doing a good job. This did not resemble the High Teas that I have had the pleasure of attending. Shame on you for such a fine establishment to treat your guests in such a low level manner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FDRPueblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

We sincerely apologize that your time with us was not as enjoyable as it should have been. We do assure you that our scones are and have been baked fresh every day, and that the quiche most certainly was not from Sam’s. However, we do regret that your experience suggested otherwise, and we are always looking to improve on our menu and service. That said, we are happy to report that after taking many of our customers’ valuable thoughts and experiences into account, we have actually just revamped our entire tea menu(s) (www.gleneyrie.org/tea). We hope you will return and enjoy our new and improved menu offerings. We are always striving to improve our service and make each guest’s experience a truly positive and enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I stayed in the Big Horn Lodge a couple years ago. It was nice but I regretted not staying in the castle itself. So when my job sent me to Colorado Springs for a couple days and allowed me to stay anywhere, I immediately thought of Glen Eyrie.

Staying inside the castle is a very unique experience. Each room is different. The rooms are more like residential bedrooms than hotel rooms. Even though the other rooms were occupied it was very quiet during the entire stay.

The only negative thing I experienced was poor cell phone service.

The next time I go to Colorado Springs I plan to stay at Glen Eyrie again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiger52680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Wow.

As a former local now living overseas, I visit Colorado Springs twice yearly. As such, I can't believe it took me so long to discover the peace and serenity of Glen Eyrie.

Spouse and I took my mother for the tour and tea. We all thoroughly enjoyed the comprehensive tour, where we learned quite a lot about the founder of our fair city. We loved the location and the gorgeous grounds. We plan to return next time we're in town to explore the various hiking tracks on the property (hiking permit required) and perhaps spend a night or two.

The food provided at the tea was tasty and filling, although portions are relatively small, considering the cost. I'd have preferred an extra savory or two and a few more crackers, as the treats were predominantly sweet. The tea was too tepid for my tastes, but our table, nestled in the nook of the window overlooking the grounds, made it easy to forgive any shortcomings.

The décor of the music room (where the tea was held) was comforting and lovely.

All in all, an ideal way to spend our final day in Colorado Springs before an arduous journey back to Australia.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Melnq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Due to the destruction of last year’s Waldo Canyon Fire, the danger to hikers at Glen Eyrie is too great to allow the public on our trails. NO PUBLIC HIKING will be permitted on Glen Eyrie property until further notice. We apologize for the inconvenience and encourage you to check our website for any future policy updates (www.gleneyrie.org/hiking). We hope you’ll still consider coming for a visit and checking out the many other wonderful things that Glen Eyrie has to offer, such as an afternoon tea, a tour of the castle or relaxing in our bookstore/café. We look forward to seeing and serving you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed in the Big Horn Lodge. It was not attached to the Castle. It was a room with 2 twin beds, that was clean and adequate. The lodge itself had a big event room (lodge) and was full of kids having a small pizza party. The grounds are located in a mountain canyon and had wild turkey and other natural wildlife amongst the towering pine trees. The surroundings justify the rated we payed (price of a HoJo-but a HoJo in the canyon). It also, came with breakfast-not a big buffet but, at least bacon and eggs (not a bad deal). This is someplace you go to get away from it as, there are no TVs in the room. Just a basic quiet place from it all. Breakfast is in the castle but, you can tour it for about 6.00 USD.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVSENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I was in the "lower level". No VIEW - one window is dark, the other one is a parking level and see only car tires. No TV, No Internet - to far way from the wifi.The GYM is even worst. Do not try to use it. It is dangerous because the treadmill is on the wall bricks. It is a real prison. The food was $22 for romantic dinner with cold turkey meat.For the breakfast we had 3 boiled eggs for group of 21 people. Outside activity is none - no tennis, volleyball or anything. Only a view if you are outside or on the upper level. The parking for the castle is far way and is it a castle? No it is a big stone house and to state that it is a over statement. I am from Europe and castle is a different thing. Do not waste your money. Go to any motel and you will have better services.You can call me.
Zen Spassov 224-578-2615

Room Tip: Upper level only, close to the castle
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for your thoughts regarding your stay at Glen Eyrie. We appreciate hearing from you and we are committed to making every necessary and possible improvement as needed. Thank you for taking the time to share your observations and concerns; we value them greatly, though we are disappointed by anything less than a perfect experience at Glen Eyrie, when we know that our shortcomings added to that less than favorable stay.

While we have read each of your points and take them seriously, a couple of them merit some clarification. We are very intentional about not having televisions in our guest rooms because as a retreat center, we work to create a relaxing environment in which people can have time to reflect and find peaceful moments away from the usual noise and stress of life. Still, recognizing that people want to stay connected on their own terms, we do provide Wi-Fi in all buildings and meeting rooms. Also in that same spirit, we leave it up to our guests to determine how they wish to spend their time. They may choose to enjoy our sand volleyball court, sports lawn or maybe just sit and enjoy a tasty espresso and a great read in our bookstore, or even go shopping in the nearby Old Colorado City District or hike in the Garden of the Gods park.

And yes, we definitely recognize that there is a grandeur to the many castles in Europe that General Palmer’s humble home lacks, but we still do enjoy our English Tudor style castle here in Colorado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
1.2 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,107 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
841 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Lodge at Flying Horse
The Lodge at Flying Horse
#44 of 105 in Colorado Springs
63 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Colorado Springs
Hyatt Place Colorado Springs
#10 of 105 in Colorado Springs
872 reviews
1.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Colorado Springs Garden of the Gods
TownePlace Suites Colorado Sprin...
#37 of 105 in Colorado Springs
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center

Address: 3820 N 30th St, Colorado Springs, CO 80904-5001
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#26 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on over 700 breathtaking acres with 97 lodging rooms, Glen Eyrie’s stunning beauty and rich spiritual heritage create a place where, for a few sacred moments, guests can set aside their troubles and catch their breath. The Glen Eyrie staff ministers by thoughtfully creating experiences which set the stage for all to discover, explore, and be transformed. Whether guests come with a group for a retreat, individually for a program or conference, or for historical Teas, Tours, or overnight stays, Glen Eyrie serves a sanctuary and safe haven of transformation and inspiration. As the conference and camping ministry of The Navigators, The Glen Eyrie Group is comprised of Glen Eyrie and Eagle Lake Camps. Built upon the unique intersection of natural, historical, and spiritual heritages, the Glen Eyrie Group promises to stay true to our Navigator calling by purposefully and thoughtfully ministering to guests through Christ-centered service excellence and innovative programming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Eyrie Castle Hotel Colorado Springs
Glen Eyrie Castle And Conference Center
Glen Eyrie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing