We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Colorado Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center
Ranked #31 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Long time resident of Colorado and finally made it to the castle. Though not really a castle it is an impressive stone mansion. Tea service was great and the tour was wonderfull (althought it is enhanced with religious rethoric). General Palmer was really something.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddog1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for visiting Glen Eyrie! We are so glad that you had the opportunity to come here for the tea and tour. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had our family reunion here. The grounds are beautiful!! The rooms in the Oaks Lodge were ok, a bit dated and the building is showing some wear, but we honestly didn't spend that much time in our rooms. We all stayed together in the lodge and use the conference room there for our get togethers. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The ladies went to tea and had a great time and made a great family memory. Most of us did some hiking and sight seeing on the grounds. What a peaceful, relaxing location.

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank 593LarryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for staying at Glen Eyrie for your family reunion! Your thoughts are important to us as we continually strive to improve the guest experience.

We're glad you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We always stay here when we come to Colorado. Where else can you stay in working Castle? The Premier Rooms have great character and charm. We especially appreciate the Pink House rooms. The grounds are beautiful and hiking is right out your door. Wonderful and adventurous. 3 years ago my only daughter was married on the grounds. Staff was extremely helpful and easy to work with.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FartherIsBetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you for visiting Glen Eyrie! We love hosting weddings, anniversary weekends and long overdue family outings. We are so pleased to know that you had such a great experience here and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We always stay here when we come to Colorado. Where else can you stay in working Castle? The Premier Rooms have great character and charm. We especially appreciate the Pink House rooms. The grounds are beautiful and hiking is right out your door. Wonderful and adventurous.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FartherIsBetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I've lived in Colorado for most of my life and never knew that this place existed until a few years ago. Nestled in a lush, private valley within the Garden of the Gods, Glen Eyrie is a most breathtaking and beautiful property. We were there with a large group for several days. The lodgings run from inexpensive and rustic to very upscale and luxurious--you decide based on your own wallet. The grounds are green and often wildlife roams--turkeys, deer, big horn sheep. There are multiple hiking trails and picnic areas, and the property has a coffee shop (yea!). Access to groceries and restaurants is just a few minutes away. The people that work there are gracious and friendly and bend over backwards to accommodate. I will absolutely stay there again, and again, and again.

Room Tip: Only some rooms air conditioned. Lower levels if no A/C are cooler--like Cedar Ridge lower
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you for visiting Glen Eyrie! We are grateful you enjoyed your visit and we hope to get the chance to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Ten friends and I were patrons of the Castle on Friday, May 31, 2013 for "High Tea". This experience was the MOST DISAPPOINTING afternoon regarding our "High Tea". The table was set beautifully upon our arrival, however the rest went miserably downhill. The scones were a bit hard and were definitely not fresh. The rest of the servings were substandard to say the least. The items were identifiable from Costco or Sam's Club. The fruit consisted of a slice of unripened Kiwi with the skin in tact and a half of a strawberry. The tea that was served was bordering on acceptable, however two choices for eleven patrons wasn't exactly generous. We each received a half dollar sized piece of brie cheese and a little quiche from Sam's club, along with 1/2 strawberry, a slice of unripened kiwi with the rind still in tact, 3-4 crackers for the cheese, 2 -3 scones (wedge cut) with devonshire cream, a mint and a piece of candy!!!!! I will not recommend the "high tea" to anyone. Maybe you are trying to get out of the "HIGH TEA" service. You are doing a good job. This did not resemble the High Teas that I have had the pleasure of attending. Shame on you for such a fine establishment to treat your guests in such a low level manner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FDRPueblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

We sincerely apologize that your time with us was not as enjoyable as it should have been. We do assure you that our scones are and have been baked fresh every day, and that the quiche most certainly was not from Sam’s. However, we do regret that your experience suggested otherwise, and we are always looking to improve on our menu and service. That said, we are happy to report that after taking many of our customers’ valuable thoughts and experiences into account, we have actually just revamped our entire tea menu(s) (www.gleneyrie.org/tea). We hope you will return and enjoy our new and improved menu offerings. We are always striving to improve our service and make each guest’s experience a truly positive and enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I stayed in the Big Horn Lodge a couple years ago. It was nice but I regretted not staying in the castle itself. So when my job sent me to Colorado Springs for a couple days and allowed me to stay anywhere, I immediately thought of Glen Eyrie.

Staying inside the castle is a very unique experience. Each room is different. The rooms are more like residential bedrooms than hotel rooms. Even though the other rooms were occupied it was very quiet during the entire stay.

The only negative thing I experienced was poor cell phone service.

The next time I go to Colorado Springs I plan to stay at Glen Eyrie again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiger52680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
1.2 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,107 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
841 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Lodge at Flying Horse
The Lodge at Flying Horse
#45 of 105 in Colorado Springs
63 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Colorado Springs
Hyatt Place Colorado Springs
#10 of 105 in Colorado Springs
871 reviews
1.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Colorado Springs Garden of the Gods
TownePlace Suites Colorado Sprin...
#37 of 105 in Colorado Springs
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center

Address: 3820 N 30th St, Colorado Springs, CO 80904-5001
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#26 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on over 700 breathtaking acres with 97 lodging rooms, Glen Eyrie’s stunning beauty and rich spiritual heritage create a place where, for a few sacred moments, guests can set aside their troubles and catch their breath. The Glen Eyrie staff ministers by thoughtfully creating experiences which set the stage for all to discover, explore, and be transformed. Whether guests come with a group for a retreat, individually for a program or conference, or for historical Teas, Tours, or overnight stays, Glen Eyrie serves a sanctuary and safe haven of transformation and inspiration. As the conference and camping ministry of The Navigators, The Glen Eyrie Group is comprised of Glen Eyrie and Eagle Lake Camps. Built upon the unique intersection of natural, historical, and spiritual heritages, the Glen Eyrie Group promises to stay true to our Navigator calling by purposefully and thoughtfully ministering to guests through Christ-centered service excellence and innovative programming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Eyrie Castle Hotel Colorado Springs
Glen Eyrie Castle And Conference Center
Glen Eyrie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing