We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Historical Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We are locals in Colorado Springs, and stayed for one night to "get away". We have also stayed at other downtown hotels and don't waste your money elsewhere. The Springs-Orleans restaurant is next store and offers a wonderful atmosphere too. Do not miss it! The hotel is brand-new, squeaky clean and fabulous! You walk in to your room and just go "wow". I can't say enough about the shower design with double shower-heads and gorgeous tile work. Not something you see everywhere. Everything you would expect from a Wyndam, and walking distance to everything that downtown COS has to offer. You can't go wrong. The rooms offered luxury in every detail--wonderful bedding, tasteful decor, REAL artwork, spacious bathrooms. This building has a lot of history--where miners would cash in their gold from the mountains. Each floor has preserved an old safe. This hotel is great...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mnewbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,927)
There are newer reviews for The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,919 - 1,925 of 1,927 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

Although we live in town, getting downtown is a rare event for us. I booked an overnight at this new hotel for my husband's 50th as a surprise getaway and it was just perfect! It was easy to sleep in because the black-out curtains were very effective, and the beds luxuriously comfortable. Excellent service and beautiful rooms-although a little oddly-shaped due to the conversion from a historic building. The old photos and vault doors were a charming reminder of the oiginal purpose of the property. I especially liked the double shower-head shower and all the "green" features of the hotel. Definitely make use of the adjoining restaurant, Springs Orleans, for room service or any meal of the day. The food and service were excellent. There are a number of other wonderful eateries within walking distance as well. We took in a movie at Kimball's theater just a few doors down--the best movie house--a coffee/wine bar are avaiable in addition to the usual candy and soda movie fare, and the popcorn is the best around. REAL butter makes all the difference! The seats are larger and the legrom more generous than most other movie houses today. We didn't even have time to take advantage of the nearby museums and parks on this outing, but there is no shortage of possibilites for visitors of all ages. An excellent use of one of our historic sructures--well suited to stays for business or pleasure. A great lobby and bar with lots of seating makes an inviting gathering spot.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMfromCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

We travel a lot both for business and pleasure, and I can tell you I wish there were a 'Mining Exchange' in each city we visit! This place has everything you would expect in a fine hotel - extremely courteous and professional service, complete cleanliness and nicely decorated rooms with slab granite, artwork, etc. While this hotel has been around for a long time, there is nothing dated about it's appearance, given its recent complete renovation. The staff will be happy to take you on a tour and tell you about this hotel's interesting history. The location is hard to beat as well.
Now for the restaurant - wow! The chef at 'Springs Orleans' will give you a taste of Louisiana's best dishes.
Needless to say, we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JADLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Superb service, the Best I have ever experienced!!! My room was fresh, plush, gorgeous and IMMACULATE!! The Attention to detail was phenomenal. Jason & Rob, offered the fastest and most efficient curb service a lady could ask for. Jeremy, F&B Manager was simply a dream to chat with.
Soft and beautiful piano music fills the reception area with elegance. Felicia, the director of housekeeping offered to run my bath, get me champagne and walk my little dog. Mining Exchange where have you been all my life? I will be back... you can count on that!!!

Thank you to the Team. Great Job!!
Crystal, Boulder Colorado

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 24-7Cris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Loved it from the moment we walked in. The building is lovely and so was the staff. We can't wait to make our next visit down and if you don't have Springs Orleans reservations while staying you are missing out on half the experience. Perry and James, thanks so much for our get away!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Srogerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I'm a Colorado Springs doctor, am between houses, and have recently stayed in a bunch of local hotels. Unless you are a golfer and bound for the Broadmoor, which is also excellent, this is the best location and best hotel. The Clarion and Antlers are the only other downtown hotels and downtown is the fun place to be. The Wyndham is into its second week while they are both showing their years. The restoration of this magnificent, historic 1900 building has saved and refurbished a classic exterior while creating a beautiful interior with excellent quality electronics and bathroom fixtures, beautiful showers for two, very cushy beds, 42 inch flat screen tv's, and a beautiful lobby. The attached Orleans Springs restaurant is excellent, it's run by longterm local chef, Chef Jamie, and they do the room service. I applaud owner, Perry Sanders, for going above and beyond what was necessary to create a new, downtown Colorado Springs attraction.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Demandez un chambre directement au dessus du lobby pour l'expérience plus authentique de l'h...
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhiliGir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
0.2 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,314 reviews
4.1 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,107 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
841 reviews
5.6 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
776 reviews
5.6 mi away
Colorado Springs Marriott
Colorado Springs Marriott
#28 of 105 in Colorado Springs
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: 8 S Nevada Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80903-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range: £98 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing