We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful addition to downtown Colorado Springs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
209 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A wonderful addition to downtown Colorado Springs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We had the opportunity to spend a few nights at the Mining Exchange recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. Having moved from Colorado Springs three years ago, I was surprised to see this building as a hotel and definitely wanted to try it. We are glad we did.

First of all, it's always wonderful to see a historic old building preserved and this building was one of the few truly historic buildings left downtown. They have done an excellent job restoring the building, preserving the important architectural features while creating modern, comfortable common spaces and rooms. The rooms themselves are somewhat small, but laid out in a way that makes the maximum use of the space with lots of partitions and angles. It makes the rooms seem bigger they are and gives a sense of intimacy. The staff at the hotel are all friendly and seem truly interested in your comfort. It is clear that they are proud of the hotel and everyone (from the manager to the servers) is always happy to talk with you about the property's history, etc.

As far as the bar and restaurant are concerned, they both get good marks from us. You can enjoy the lobby bar or the outside space between the hotel and restaurant. Given the New Orleans theme of the restaurant, the outdoor space is decorated accordingly, and because it is in an alleyway, it really does feel like being just off of Bourbon Street. Dinner at Springs Orleans was great. Most of the traditional cajun/creole cuisine is represented there and my companions all enjoyed their dishes (Shrimp Étouffée, Shrimp with Grits, and Pork Chops with Red Beans and Rice). Everyone agrees that I had the best dish on the menu -- Organic trotolle pasta with lobster in a sun dried tomato and tarragon cream sauce. Oh man, was that good! We shared the Southern Style banana puddin' (yep, it's the one with the Vanilla Wafers!) and the bread pudding with blueberry coulis and they were both wonderful.

All in all, we had a wonderful visit at the Mining Exchange and believe it is clearly the best downtown hotel. It's central location makes it easy to navigate downtown on foot and it is a great place to return to after a hard day of work or play.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbruels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,337
    381
    76
    27
    13
See reviews for
462
688
76
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
BRECKENRIDGE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Wow! Stay here if you get the opportunity! Very cool old stock exchange building with many money vaults, large artwork, and beautiful decor from the lobby bar to the hallways to the rooms. Loved the large, 2 shower head bathroom, and all of the remodeling with granite counters and sleek decorating, exposed brick wall, huge wall mounted flat screen t.v., luxurious bed and bedding, and very quiet. We had an early morning appointment and had to leave, so just wish we could have hung out longer in the room. Reasonably priced for this excellent hotel in downtown Colo Springs, walk to everything, within 1/2 block to the fabulous Mexican Sonterra Grill (even a really good guitar player that night) and many other restaurants. Also within 1 block of the country western bar Cowboys, where we danced the night away in a great atmosphere with a spacious wood dance floor. The people watching was fantastic, and you can even play all sorts of games and pool on the 2nd floor and bowl on the 3rd floor! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank KimBreckenridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBILE
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Only issue was with housekeping.
Did not refill coffee in room, and when asked at front desk that it be refilled, got not only coffee, but another coffee-maker as well Creamer was not refilled when coffee was. Also, housekeeping did not remove dirty glasses in room or give us clean ones.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank HARRIET D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARBONDALE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Selected based on TripAdvisor reviews. Excellent job of converting old historic space into a very comfortable hotel and excellent value.
Adjoining restaurant serves a very good New Orleans menu.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank johnc1234Carbondale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

We spent 5 nights at the Mining Exchange. Our room was clean, large and the bed very comfortable.We loved the large shower! Also nice was the toilet separated from the rest of the bathroom by a pocket door. All the staff were super friendly and helpful..

If management were to ask me for suggestions....I have a few. First, I would like more lighting over the mirror in the bathroom. Doing make-up and hair was not good in the dim light available. Using the attached lighted mirror was a bit better for make-up, but I was literally unable to get a good view of the back of my hair in the large mirror.. I would like to see additional lighting around the mirror area. We sat in the beautiful lobby to read, but returned to our room as the music was a bit intrusive instead of being a very low volume, background feature. Finally, I like to sleep in a very cool room, so kept the temperature low at night. The problem with that is, the vent blowing cool air was close to the ceiling on the far wall and blew directly across the bed. The result was, when the air was blowing, I needed the comforter up to my neck. When it was not blowing, in order to stay cool I could not have the comforter covering me. I don't know if there is anything that could be done about that issue. Having said all that, I would not hesitate to stay again and would recommend the hotel to my friends with a caveat of the issues I've mentioned here. I would actually award four and one half stars.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laberna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STAFFORD
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Given the history of the building I was beyond excited when I got the opportunity to stay here during a recent trip to Colorado Springs. The rooms are new, and beautiful, yet the building stays true to the history and maintains many of the safe vaults that were used during the mining days of the hotel. The staff was beyond helpful with everything I asked, and the valet team were very pleasant!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank SONYA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We spent a weekend in CO Springs at The Mining Exchange. The rooms and lobbies were spotless and elegantly decorated. The staff were amazingly helpful, especially in obtaining a room for three people when we originally booked the room for only two. They also came to rescue when one person in our party became ill. Music from a wedding was playing rather loudly under our room in the evening, and when we called to ask them to have the music turned out, they did so within 10 minutes. We ate an excellent dinner in their restaurant and enjoyed walking 3 blocks to a great breakfast place in the morning. The icing on the cake was the European street-style courtyard that totally charmed me. We look forward to staying there again next time we are in the Springs.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverTravelers33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
4.1 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#18 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn...
#6 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
10.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Springs near the Air Force Academy
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Spri...
#2 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 S Nevada Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80903-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing