We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind zoo”

Cheyenne Mountain Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Colorado Springs is home to America’s ONLY mountain zoo. Located at 6,800 feet above sea level, Cheyenne Mountain Zoo offers breathtaking views of the city and of its 750 animals. The unique design of the Zoo’s animal exhibits gets guests closer than ever before. Hand-feed one of the largest reticulated giraffe herds in the world, watch grizzlies swim with trout, hop next to red-necked wallabies and get hands on with some of the Zoo’s smaller residents in The Loft. Have a WILD adventure at Cheyenne Mountain Zoo – see the animals, ride an antique carousel, eat a gourmet lunch at the Grizzly Grill and ride the Mountaineer Sky Ride to the Zoo’s summit. Visit 365 days a year for family fun at the Cheyenne Mountain Zoo.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of a kind zoo”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Though not as big as the Denver zoo, definitely check it out. We fed the giraffes and looked at some animals that the Denver zoo didn't have such as wallabies and moose . The feedings are over priced though , $2 for 3 pieces of lettuce .The sky ride is worth it as you get a different perspective on the zoo.

Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,539
    663
    132
    37
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best zoos in the US!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Not only will you visit an awesome zoo nestled against gorgeous Cheyenne Mountain, with a breathtaking backdrop view of downtown Colorado Springs, and where you can "feed" the giraffes, your ticket includes a drive thru the zoo (very slowly, of course!) to reach the must-see Will Rogers Shrine!!! And, the otters - my favorite - will put on a show to delight you. They are soooo cute. This is such a fun place. You and the kids will love it. So glad I live right down the street and can visit often. Lucky me! :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SpringsGal54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Great Zoo That Is Working To Become Even Better”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A trip to the Cheyenne Mountain Zoo (only mountain side zoo in the US) is always a treat, but as the zoo continues to improve and expand habitats, they make each visit so much more than just going to a zoo. The giraffe herd is the largest in the US, and the ability to feed them, and have them walk right up to you is very unique. The new (and quite frankly the best I have seen) elephant enclosure give a chance to see these lovely creatures in an environment that doesn't make you feel sorry for them. The new lion enclosure, also, allows for the obviously content cats to explore, rest, and relax. Live prey is the only thing missing to feel that you are in the wild. The obvious thought behind the enclosures allows visitors to enjoy their time, rather than feeling that nagging sense of sorrow for these captive creatures. This zoo has done a wonderful job bringing the visitor into the realm of the animal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank thechemgirl205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
107 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Awesome zoo!!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We really enjoyed our brief visit to the zoo. My son is still talking about feeding the giraffes by hand. He loved it!! There is an amazing view of the Garden of the Gods and all of Colorado Springs. We recommend making the treacherous trip up the the Shrine of the Sun. It's an amazing place. The view is unbelievable. So are the Westminster chimes. We couldn't believe that the entire building was made from one giant piece of Colorado granite. It's worth the walk up the stairs to the top. Granted it's 8300 feet in elevation, so not for everyone, but well worth your time if you can handle things at that height.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingbnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun time!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Loved the zoo. It was winter and very cold when I visited, but there was still a nice crowd and the zoo was fun. The view from the mountain is really beautiful. The gorillas were a hit! Very animated and entertaining - they made me laugh out loud!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cheyenne Mountain Zoo also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Cheyenne Mountain Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing