We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Great Zoo!”

Cheyenne Mountain Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Colorado Springs is home to America’s ONLY mountain zoo. Located at 6,800 feet above sea level, Cheyenne Mountain Zoo offers breathtaking views of the city and of its 750 animals. The unique design of the Zoo’s animal exhibits gets guests closer than ever before. Hand-feed one of the largest reticulated giraffe herds in the world, watch grizzlies swim with trout, hop next to red-necked wallabies and get hands on with some of the Zoo’s smaller residents in The Loft. Have a WILD adventure at Cheyenne Mountain Zoo – see the animals, ride an antique carousel, eat a gourmet lunch at the Grizzly Grill and ride the Mountaineer Sky Ride to the Zoo’s summit. Visit 365 days a year for family fun at the Cheyenne Mountain Zoo.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow! Great Zoo!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We took our family to the Cheyenne Mtn Zoo just outside of Colorado Springs in early July. We had an awesome time. The zoo is very nice. Lots of diversity. Not too big so we could see it all in a day. Our boys loved it. Everyone had a great time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,643
    681
    137
    37
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really Nice”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The zoo has a really nice layout, you can pretty much go in one big circle and see all of the major exhibits. It was clean and it kept the kids attention. It's on a mountain side so there is some uphill walking. We had a really good time.

Helpful?
Thank ChicagoJoe2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Our trip to the Cheyenne Mountain Zoo!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We traveled in Spring, early April. It had snowed heavily the day before and the zoo was dotted in snow patches and we could see our breath. We hiked, and I mean hiked around this charming zoo for at least 3 hours before we saw another guest. We saw many workers about their day however. Mid week, 30 degrees & first thing in the AM are the perfect time to visit this place apparently!?
We enjoyed it all. Most animals, monkeys, giraffes, elephants were inside due to the cold. The bears, wolves, big cats and mountain goats can handle the chill and we bundled up outside to see them.
Especially loved: the grizzly bears, hippos, giraffes, all the cats. Very fun day at this unique zoo!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank urban_girlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It's Awesome!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I did not have high expectations of this zoo because I have never heard of it. Once on the property, my boys and I were amazed! It is the best zoo I have been to since San Diego! Habitats for the animals were great. Feeding the giraffes was the best experience and a must do! Even my 15 year old LOVED it! Best lion exhibit I have seen. So many animals and so clean. Wrapped up the mountain, it really is not for those who have trouble walking hills. They do have a little golf cart that can drive those around. If you are in the Denver/Colorado Springs area, this is a place you have to visit!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank alcwHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fun day at the zoo!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A very well maintained zoo..so many animals to see. We were really impressed and enjoyed our day at this zoo.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cheyenne Mountain Zoo also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Cheyenne Mountain Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing