We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different but great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheyenne Mountain Zoo

Cheyenne Mountain Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cheyenne Mountain Zoo is America's ONLY mountain zoo. Large alpine habitats are home to over 950 different animals and approximately 180 species. All of your favorites are here - monkeys, hippos, tigers, elephants and bears (oh my!). Hand-feed their large reticulated giraffe herd, and experience animals up-close, like never before.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Different but great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Ive read that this is the only zoo in America up in the mountains. That alone is reason to check it out. Dont miss feeding the giraffes!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stanton V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,380
    631
    125
    35
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Love this Zoo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Reminds me a little of the San Diego Zoo. Kids love feeding the giraffes. They were able to pet a 9 month old Joey. Took the ski lift up to the top. Beautiful views. Fun day all around.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gelika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great zoo!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Beautiful location for up close visits with many animals. We have been to many zoos, Atlanta, Miami, Boston, and many smaller ones but this is the best place by far to get close and feed giraffes! Buy lettuce for $2 and feed many giraffes that are very spread out and easy to get to. Plenty of space and giraffes for everyone. You can let and touch them as well. Tip...near closing enter the indoor giraffe area and ask the keeper if they have any lettuce left to feed the giraffes. We happened to be there 15 minutes before closing and the very nice young lady in there let our kids feed as much lettuce to the giraffes as they were willing to eat! Every single staff member we talked to here was professional and very nice! Well done! Grizzly bears were impressive! This zoo is on the side of Cheyenne mountain so be prepared for uphill walking!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spotz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow! Great Zoo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We took our family to the Cheyenne Mtn Zoo just outside of Colorado Springs in early July. We had an awesome time. The zoo is very nice. Lots of diversity. Not too big so we could see it all in a day. Our boys loved it. Everyone had a great time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The zoo has a really nice layout, you can pretty much go in one big circle and see all of the major exhibits. It was clean and it kept the kids attention. It's on a mountain side so there is some uphill walking. We had a really good time.

Helpful?
Thank ChicagoJoe2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cheyenne Mountain Zoo also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Cheyenne Mountain Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing