We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a free visit”

Olympic Training Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Colorado Springs Olympic Training Center is home to Olympic hopefuls in various sport disciplines. Take the guided walking tour and see the facilities in which athletes train as the aspire to be part of Team USA in the upcoming Olympic Games!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Worth a free visit”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This place has received some mixed reviews on TripAdvisor. I visited with my dad, and we enjoyed the visit. First of all, it's free. You can see one of three locations in the US where our corporations and citizens put our most promising amateur athletes to train for the Olympic Games. There is a neat, 15 minute film to kick off a tour. Our tour guide was helpful and nice, but she sounded a bit rehearsed when reciting the "facts". While the gift shop is a little overpriced and wouldn't accept my MasterCard, it helps support the facility (even if indirectly), and I bought my proud child a "USA" shirt. The gun range, wrestling area, and weight room all had athletes training when we went through. Don't expect to be overwhelmed, but for a free visit, it's worth an hour of your time if you're nearby in Colorado Springs.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travel159549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    331
    121
    25
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gold Medal Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I come here often as I have the opportunity to volunteer here weekly and have spent over two weeks on campus doing volunteer work. The cafeteria is always the highlight of the day. The food is impeccable. Delicious and nutritious. There are ingredients posted over each buffet style offering. The food also has to be hormone free because of USADA regulations. All in all one of the best places to eat if you can get in. You will find yourself by some of the best amateur athletes and their coaches on the planet. Truly an awe inspiring place.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Support team USA”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Obviously this is a must see. Call ahead and see if there are any Olympians signing autographs. Great historical record of Olympics in the past and present. Get some cool souvenirs while your there too, that your friends wont have.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calumet City, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Proud to be an American”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Loved everything about the tour, the tour guide was knowledgeable and we were able to see many of the training sites and watch many of the athletes train. Had fun places to take pictures and some beautiful statues. The movie was the best...a place you should not miss.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mjgrenchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good perspective”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We love watching the Olympics on TV and our teens play high school sports, but this gave an entirely different perspective on the life of an athlete. Our only disappointment was that our kids aren't interested in any of the sports that are featured at this center. This is definitely not for young children.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 123CasualTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olympic Training Center also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Olympic Training Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing