We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Odyssey: Epic Destinations-wonderful music, very strange "other" entertainment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colorado Springs Philharmonic

Colorado Springs Philharmonic
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The finest music-making in Southern Colorado.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
199 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Odyssey: Epic Destinations-wonderful music, very strange "other" entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

As always, the music of Odyssey: Epic Destinations was amazing. The musicians of the philharmonic make their jobs look easy!
Can't remember the name of the piece but the trumpet player solo was outstanding.
The disturbing part was between the music. There were 2 "comics" who introduced each piece. They were supposed to be slapstick and silly-I got that. But, it wasn't funny. During Pomp and Circumstance the comics dressed as really old people with walkers struggling to get their diplomas from one side of the stage to the other. It seemed inappropriate to me and the people around me seemed almost uncomfortable......not laughing or even giggling. It was plain strange-especially since a very large majority of the audience is of an older generation.
PLEASE make the philharmonic about the music and cut out the extra stuff that makes me want to get up and leave or, just listen on the radio next season and not pay for season tickets.
Please consider surveying your audience and asking for their opinion about what they thought. I may be one of the only ticket holders to write a review but I know others who would provide their thoughts if given a chance to have their opinion heard.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank COMom45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    13
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The Nutcracker was amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

The place has a small and homey feeling, but it is anything but average. I think it is an amazing facility and the music to die for! Bravo!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank nbparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve Celebration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The Philharmonic was a fun experience for this New Year's eve. While I found the 'set list' bizarre and incongruous with a NYE bash, the musicians were talents and the conductor entertaining. I am looking forward to future performances and am intrigued by the upcoming Pirates of the Caribbean screening during with the philharmonic will perform the score.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allie_Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Philharmonic orchestra at Centennial Hall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have been symphony season ticket members for 2 decades. The present serious classics and have several POP music venues of travelling bands - all very, very good. The acoustics are reputed to be some of the best conditions for opera, ballet or symphony in the entire 50 states. it is very comfortable, and parking is close by. We are VERY proud of this !!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sterling S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
312 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
“Arrival from Sweden performing ABBA hit songs was OUTSTANDING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

My wife and I have seen Arrival From Sweden performing the ABBA catalog each of the last three years. We obviously have been totally impressed, or we would not be returning year after year. Not only was Arrival outstanding, as usual, so was the Colorado Springs Philharmonic.

A prior post indicated that they were disappointed with the dancing. Well...I remember ABBA from the 1970's and I do not remember them doing much in the way of dancing when they performed. We were there for the music and found the performance to be flawless.

We have season tickets and cannot wait for the next performance! The CS Philharmonic has excellent musicians.

If you have a chance to attend a performance, GO! You will not be disappointed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ultimatetravelking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colorado Springs Philharmonic also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Colorado Springs Philharmonic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing