We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Waterfall”
Review of Helen Hunt Falls

Helen Hunt Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
US$88.00*
and up
Colorado Springs Foothills and Garden of the Gods Jeep Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Waterfall”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

When you arrive there is a little gift shop and the falls
have nature trails around it for hiking. But wear hiking type shoes cause the trail is steep with steps and rocks .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aerobella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    191
    58
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Make sure trail is not closed ahead of time.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Took some out of town friends to see Helen Hunt Falls. We arrived to the falls which is just off the road along with the gift shop/info center. Right away we saw the falls upon getting out of the car and the sign that said the trail was closed. Bummer! Major planning fail on my part. The previous nights storm had done some damage so they had to close it for repairs. We looked around the gift shop and took a few minutes to look at the falls then we decided to drive back down a mile or so and do the quick Mt. Cutler hike. Always have a backup plan! I will go back soon and take the kids on the trail by the falls.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
214 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A quick stop, small but pretty falls”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

After hearing so much about them, I was surprised that Helen Hunt Falls is so small. Still, it's free, a nice drive up into the mountain forest, and a nice if quick stop. Not worth a special trip.

Don't plan on getting your feet wet or wading at all, there is a sign prohibiting it, saying this stream becomes some city's (Colorado Springs?) drinking water. This made no sense to me because I know for a fact that the city would treat that water before humans would consume it. Not sure what the danger of wading would be? Anyway later on we saw a large group with many kids in the stream a bit farther down for the falls. So watch out Colorado Springs peeps, your water may just taste like feet soon!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gypsymamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
5,223 reviews
3,373 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,667 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Hike”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We enjoyed going here and seeing the falls and taking a short walk.

We enjoyed taking some pictures as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great place to go and visit. The drive up to Helen Hunt falls is relaxing and the falls are breathtaking. Plus, it doesn't cost a thing. Peaceful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AikmanCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Helen Hunt Falls also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Helen Hunt Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing