We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it should have been”

Marigold Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #3 of 1,431 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not what it should have been”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Birthday with a group of friends. Poor service, had to ask for refills of water. Was looking forward to their wonderful carrot cake but didn't have a choice and was given dried brownies.

Helpful?
Thank Pyrite921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    793
    262
    77
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peyton, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A wonderful spot”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Last night I had the chance to take a new found friend to dinner. My original plan had been Thai, bu then the Marigold Cafe caught my eye. I had heard good things about it and, frankly, I didn't think my date was to enthused with the idea of Thai, so......

This was one of the finest casual dining experiences I have had in years. Stripped of the need to dress up, as for so many other great dining spots, one here could simply concentrate on the food. The bread was a great invitation to the rest of the meal -- though I have to admit that when the butter comes in pre-packaged pats, my expectations are always lowered. The salad was fresh, crisp and delicious. Not finding anything on the menu though that really called out to my vegetarian leanings; I had the Salmon --- it was absolutely awesome. Cooked to perfection, moist and favorful. The grilled veggies on the side were a feast onto themselves.The portion was large enough, that dessert simply wasn't possible -- perhaps tonight I will go back just for coffee and a dessert.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scorsine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
168 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and good service”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a consistently good choice at a moderate price in Colorado Springs. Many small touches and attention to detail add to the experience. Several unique menu choices keep the dining experience interesting; try something new if you're adventurous, and if you have picky eaters there are burgers and sandwiches (though if you're looking for a burger there are better places to go). Recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skullmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Springs
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a little disappointed”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

it's pretty pricy, which I don't mind if it's worth it. I had trout, which looked and tasted like salmon, I actually thought I had the wrong order. any sides or salad are separate. my daughter had a chicken dish, and the chicken was dry and overcooked. I had a side of scalloped potatoes, that tasted quite sweet..i took one bite and told her I didn't like them. the onion soup was very good though. quite possibly the locals know what to order and have a better experience than we did.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merrym00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We ordered Roquefort Blue Cheese Salad, Amish Pizza, and 10oz angus Filet Mignon prepared Med Rare Plus. Everything was perfect and we left with leftovers! Highly recommended!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marigold Cafe & Bakery also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Marigold Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing