We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the great food and love (not so much for service)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Uchenna

Uchenna
Ranked #12 of 1,412 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$32
Cuisines: Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Uchenna is closed on Monday.Open Tuesday-Friday lunch 11:30am to 2:00pm dinner 5:00pm to 08:00pm Saturdays and Sundays 12:00pm to 2:00pm dinner 5:00pm to 08:00pm Honoured to welcome you.Peace and Blessings
Houston
Level Contributor
144 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Go for the great food and love (not so much for service)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

great food - and you have to be open to trying new things. The owner greets you and treats you like she lives to make you happy, she is just not a super polished server - but that is part of the charm; it is very earnest. We got a couple different plates to share. Tip - don't' try the bread plain. It is designed for the spikey food and goes well. Ok, so big deal your hands get a little messy. Very well seasoned. We wish we had this place where we live.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Houston_Eriol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    55
    24
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greeley
2 reviews
“Most excellent food and service! The owner is amazing with the biggest heart!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have become regulars at Uchennas whenever we travel to Colorado Springs to see family! The food unique and absolutely amazing! Maya cares so much about all of her customers and she is very passionate about her restaurant and Ethiopia! You will not regret trying this place out!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennyGreeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
“CAN'T MISS!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

How fortunate for Colorado Springs that the best Ethiopian experience I've ever had also happens to be the only Ethiopian restaurant in town!

Their mantra- "Live! Love! Eat Well" couldn't be more astute. Chef Maya has such a glow about her, and you can absolutely taste the love that goes into her food. If that's not enough- she uses grass fed beef and sweetens her amazing orange blossom tea with stevia (n addicting balance of sweet, tart, and slightly floral). She also offers a gluten free stevia sweetened dark chocolate torte that is to die for. All of the meat dishes are delicious, particularly the kitfo- Ethiopian version of beef tartare. You will leave delightfully full and maybe even with a hug from Maya as I was so fortunate to receive.

The restaurant is nestled in a small strip mall in the thick of charming old town Colorado Springs, making it significantly easier to park than other restaurants on the street.

I highly recommend this restaurant, singing it's praises to strangers on the street. I even bravely took a corn-fed Nebraskan who had originally suggested a chain restaurant for dinner, and he enjoyed it so much he cleaned the plate!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Breezus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“C'est bon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family and I had a wonderful time eating at this restaurant. The food quality was excellent and the hostess, Maya, was the sweetest lady ever! On top of that, the quaintness of Uchenna is what added to the warm atmosphere. If you want the comfort of home when you're visiting Colorado Springs, then this is the place!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
238 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Wonderful and satisfying meal presented by lovely hostess”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We're on a two-week cross-country trip. After hiking through the Garden of the Gods, we were ready for some exotic food. Thanks to TripAdvisor reviews, Uchenna was at the top of our list as a "must try" restaurant. It did not disappoint. We were warmly greeted by the proprietor, Maya. We ordered one Mediterranean salad which was ample enough to feed the two of us as an appetizer. Between us, we shared an order of lamb Alecha (cubes of lamb marinated with 12 spices and then sauteed in ginger and garlic) and Gomen Besaega (beef tenderloin seasoned with garlic, onion, ginger, 4 spices, with collard greens). Both orders came with teff injera (Ethiopian sponge bread). As we had requested, the entrees arrived very hot and spicy. It had been a long time since we had Ethiopian food so Maya gave us a refresher course on the proper way to eat our meal. The portions were very generous and reasonably priced. It's too bad we do not live in Colorado Springs because we would become regular customers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdc8mbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uchenna also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Uchenna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing