We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good German cuisine in Colorado”

Edelweiss Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 1,438 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: For over 40 years this family-owned German Restaurant on the south side of Colorado Springs has served over a million happy customers. The restaurant invites guests to dine in one of its several rooms decorated with artifacts from Europe. With strolling musicians on Friday and Saturday nights, three blazing fireplaces in winter, and an authentic "Biergarten" in summer, you are sure to enter into another world as a guest at Edelweiss.The authentic menu with a variety of Old World German dishes includes Schnitzel, Bratwurst, and Sauerbraten, with newer-age items such as Flammekuchen and Maultaschen. For those not so adventurous palates Edelweiss offers other Continental fare such as Chicken Cordon Bleu, Filet Tournedos, or Fresh Salmon Filet. Imported German Beers and Wines can be ordered to compliment any of the flavorful dishes. The European-trained Swiss Pastry Chef bakes all of the desserts from scratch, so save room for one of the rich Tortes or pastries, or take some to go.
spokane
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good German cuisine in Colorado”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I grew up eating at the Edelweiss. they are something of a landmark. The service is great. they serve beer and wine. not positive about anything stronger.
having lived in Germany for 6 years (military brat), we always felt it was a great place to go replicate those meals.
good place to take visitors, good place for visitors to visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    306
    99
    31
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great tasting food, good selection of german beers, amazing deserts. Definitely recommend. I'd call ahead for reservations though.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorsinCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So so ”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We had seen the good reviews so decided to try it. It was so so. And over priced. Make sure you have reservations if you want to sit in the main room. We didn't and were sent to the basement dungeon.

Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
“It was just okay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived around 5;30 and were seated next to the Coi pond. We noticed immediately that the pond needed a lot of work. After we had our salads (which by the way were the highlight of the meal) we were asked to move to another table so someone could clean the pond. Got to the new table and had a new server who asked if we were waiting for friends before we ordered. We said we had already had our salads and were awaiting our entrees. We have been going to Edelweiss for over 30 years and had the most disappointing entrees ever. Very blah. We thought they should comp our drinks since we had to move mid-meal. We will return based on past experiences and hope our next experience is better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niwot, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Good Authentic German Food - Yes Attitude”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The food is authentic, the variety is good, great beer selection, good wine selection, What I really like is that this is a YES business. they are very accommodating, if you want to switch sides- yes, if you want to add or delete something - yes. This is very unusual for a German run business.

Try the beef roladen, sauerbraten, maultaschen and the various schnitzels, they are all good and prepared right. The jaegerschnitzel for instance often is a breaded peace of meet with mushroom sauce in other German restaurants. Here it was prepared properly, just pan fried without breading with the mushroom sauce on top. The Schweins Haxe is huge. I am a big man, shared with two people, removed the bone and the fatty skin, ate till I was full and brought home at least 12 ounces of lean meat afterwards. They have good desserts with a decent Schwarzwaelder Kirschtorte (Black Forest Cake).

The beer selection both on tap and by the bottle is very good. Try the smoked bock from a small brewery (Schlaenkerle) in Bamberg, Germany. They have three varieties, Maerzen, Bock and double Bock. They have this by the bottle.

If you like German food, you will enjoy this. Most every staff member speaks German and they understand the food and can explain the dishes to you. The prices are reasonable. Our bill for 10 people with beer, coffee, dessert and a Williams Christ pear schnaps at the end including the obligatory 18% tip was $340.00.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edelweiss Restaurant also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Edelweiss Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing