We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who knew going to the Principal's Office could be such fun?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bristol Brewing Company

Bristol Brewing Company
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Colorado
Level Contributor
282 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Who knew going to the Principal's Office could be such fun?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I'm a coffee snob, so on a recent visit to Colorado Springs, I sought out every coffee shop in town.

I loved everything about the Principal's Office at Ivywild...the fact that they've re-purposed a historic school and community landmark into such a creative and thoughtful gathering spot restores my faith in my former hometown. The atmosphere is fun, inviting and speaks to my community spirit.

In this day and age of mass produced faux coffee and the obscene overuse of paper products,
it's refreshing to find a good solid coffee made with proper espresso and served in an real cup!

The variety of coffee and preparation styles on offer is quite impressive. My only complaint was that no matter how many times I requested extra hot, they couldn't seem to bring themselves to actually do it. I realize this is a form of barista control, but hey, some of us really do like our coffee scalding hot. Hint: if you're worried about scalding the milk, just heat the cup first. Works wonders.

The Old School Bakery attached to the Principal's Office is another wonder. Fabulous baked goods and meat pies, baked by a real live Aussie. The pies have been given the stamp of approval by at least one Australian I know, who likes them so much that I took a batch of them up to him in Denver.

The atmosphere of Ivywild is a big part of the charm, but the coffee and baked goods make it just about perfect.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melnq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    28
    10
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
476 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Fun Place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

A fun place to go to with friends. Set in an old elementary school, the pub is spacious and comfortable. Even when crowded it is not too loud, and if you want there is some space away fro the pub itself with comfortable chairs. Also in the building is a restaurant and a number of small shops like a bakery, Meat and Sausage market, and a couple of other small places. A great place to get together with friends for a fabulous beer and some decent and reasonably priced foods.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
308 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fun place to hang out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Kind of odd (but in a good way) but fun place to hang out. The Principal's Office offers a small menu of food. Very good except for the chili--didn't like it to the point that I couldn't even eat it. But, fun place to wander around and hang out for the evening. Unfortunately you can't get anything but beer at Bristol Brewing (no mixed drinks, no wine) but I believe this is due to what they had to do to get a liquor license. It's worth checking out! (be warned--parking SUCKS!)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
90 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“WOW! From worst to best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Bristol Beer is always outstanding, but the tasting room on South Tejon St was one of the worst in town. Uncomfortable chairs, overcrowded Thur-Sat nights, impossible parking. We often just went next door to the bar at Blue Star so we could sit.

The move to the Ivywild location changed all that. The new location has a beautiful, and spacious bar 3 (or 4?) locations for taps, huge comfortable seating space, gorgeous outdoor patio. My goodness, this is what bars should ALL be like! I cannot recommend this place more highly.

Note: this is a tied house... they only serve Bristol Beer. You can bring food in from one of the other places in Ivywild (just down the "hall," Ivywild is a renovated school with a number of venders inside).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mywebss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellence in Colorado Springs?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Who knew Colorado Springs could be so cool? The Ivywild School collaboration is one of the most creative, hip and vibrant places I've seen in this often mediocre town. Cheers to all responsible parties! The pub serves up delicious beer and a friendly (kind?!) atmosphere that could rival any of its type. I haven't had the food at the wine bar yet but the menu looks tasty.

For a town that invests so little in its infrastructure, Colorado Springs should be proud!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank bokbokbok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bristol Brewing Company also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Bristol Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing