We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy
Ranked #6 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I consider myself fair in reviews and write about good and bad stays. I was really looking forward to staying here being that it was rated #1. The lobby was nice, check-in by Caitlin was ok, and the disappointment set in when I got into the room. I had a double queen room on the 2nd floor right above the pool area. The room smelled a bit off, like mildew and sewage, the furniture was scratched, and the towels were due to be replaced. I had asked for a room to be away from road noise and elevator noise and so instead got a room above the pool and had to listen to splashes and screams until a little past 10. Luckily, Donald was able to help me in the morning and took my request seriously and switched me to a different room on the same floor that's not above the pool. Unfortunately, that room was not any better overall. There was a different off putting smell in the room, almost like mildew and dirty gym clothes. The shower curtain didn't look like it was replaced, there was a yellow ring around the bottom of the toilet, and there was mildew around the tub - it seemed like the smell came from the bathroom. Instead of pool noise this room had the outdoor hot tub noise. The window stopper to keep the window locked was removed and I had to attempt to get it back on and the caulk around the AC was cracked. The desk was dirty with crumbs and dried up smudges of something.
On the plus side, the staff was nice and breakfast was the typical Hampton rotating breakfast.
Maybe the suites are updated and better but the normal double queens that I saw in just one trip were not ok and did not deserve to be #1 in town. I would not stay here again and not just because it doesn't deserve to be #1 but because the rooms were not what you would expect from a typical Hampton.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank chw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauri B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us some feedback in regards to your visit with us. Our staff really hopes that each of our guest are happy and comfortable while they are staying in our hotel and I am really sorry that you had some situations that did not make for a good stay. I have made a note of them and will address them with our staff to work to improve those situations. I do appreciate the helpful suggestions and response and it does helps us in making changes. Thanks again for letting us know and we will work to correct them.

Lauri B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

I had the pleasure of speaking with the GM and AGM of this property. They were both wonderful people who go above and beyond to make each and every guest happy, and I feel lucky to have been able to stay at this #1 hotel in Springs. With the AFB nearby, there is no better choice than this property. No complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauri B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks and for choosing to stay with us. We are really happy to hear that everything was so nice and comfortable for you. This area by the Air Force Academy is really a nice part of town to visit. Hope you will be back.

Lauri B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is in good location, close to area restaurants, etc. Hotel staff is super helpful. We had a king room with balcony. Be sure to request a balcony with a view. Mountain view was great. Very pleasant hotel. Hotel is new, and very clean. Modern decor throughout. Good location and good proximity to Air Force Academy.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Janlyn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauri B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your comments on our property, I am very pleased that you enjoyed staying in one of our King Suites with a view. We appreciate all the compliments you gave us on our exceptional staff we are very proud of our team. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your future travels to the area.


Lauri B
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a very nice hotel. It doesn't seem very old, so the decor and ammenities look good and are in great condition. It was clean and quiet with a good breakfast, as well. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauri B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your comments on your resent stay here at our property. I am glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy the delicious hot breakfast. We appreciate all of your compliments on how nice our Hotel is. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your future travels to the area..


Lauri B
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at the Hampton Inn near the Air Force Academy during our family vacation in July 2014. The hotel was clean, very nice, close to everything, and the staff was extremely courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank jama001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauri B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your resent response. We are a Excellent Hotel and very proud of our exceptional staff but we are also very appreciated on the comments from all of our Guest.
Thank you again and we look forward in seeing you on your future travels to the area.


Lauri B
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

For the most part, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were super friendly and very willing to accommodate our needs. The breakfast, as with most Hampton Inns, was great. We stayed 9 days and the hot choices were never the same two days in a row. Although her name fails me, the "breakfast lady" was so sweet and cheerful, always saying good morning to all the guests, clearing our table and asking if we needed anything. We've never had that kind of service at a Hampton Inn.

We had one problem...ANTS. I made the staff aware of this. Of course they wanted to move us to a different room, but I wasn't about to tell everyone we had to pack up. In fact, I kept the ant problem to myself. We had teenagers with us and I knew if they found out, it would only make matters worse. It wasn't an infestation, but enough they were in one of the beds (my husband and I), window sill and on the desk.

The front desk rep was very apologetic and assured me the manager would be made aware of our problem. I personally got rid of the ants for 9 days. In the end, although I promise I do not expect something for nothing, for some reason I thought we would receive a small discount, comped a room, or something, but instead received the usual "thank you", as everyone else does.

Who's to blame? Me, I guess, but I still cannot bring myself to give a higher rating as a result of this incident.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank danirenetol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauri B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for you helpful feedback. We do appreciate the time you took to let us know how things went for you. Our breakfast hostess is really the best! She is a wonderful addition to our team. I am so sorry about the situation in your room and the staff did let me know and we had it taken care of by our service team. We always hope that everyone of our guest are enjoying their stay....but in reality I also know from time to time some things do no go as well as we want. Thank you again for your feedback as it helps us to get better and find ways to keep our guest happy.

Lauri B.
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My family stayed at 3 hotels during our trip to Colorado. Our stay at the Hampton was so good that we canceled our 2nd night stay in Denver and drove back to Colorado Springs. The hotel and staff met all expectations of a well ran hotel. Friendly and Professional staff and Clean and Comfortable Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauri B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your resent comments. We really appreciate that you chose to stay with us during your entire trip.. We are very proud of our exceptional team that we have here, and we love to hear the compliments. Thank you again and we look forward in seeing you on your next travels in the area.



Lauri B
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Springs near the Air Force Academy
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Spri...
#2 of 105 in Colorado Springs
478 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Colorado Springs/I-25 South
Hampton Inn & Suites Colorado Sp...
#8 of 105 in Colorado Springs
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 105 in Colorado Springs
557 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Colorado Springs
Hyatt Place Colorado Springs
#10 of 105 in Colorado Springs
871 reviews
5.2 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy

Address: 1307 Republic Dr, Colorado Springs, CO 80921-3780
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#5 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#7 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range: £80 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Newest and closest Hilton family hotel to Air Force Academy- Within walking distance of new movie theater and restaurants- Free hot breakfast and wifi- Large indoor salt-water pool, outdoor hot tub, and fitness center- brand new beds and bedding - refrigerators and microwaves in every room- meeting space, business center, guest laundry, and convenience store- beautiful mountain views- Award winning hotel with all "Outstanding" quality assurance reviews. Top Hampton Inn & Suites in all of Colorado. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Air Force Academy
Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Hampton Inn Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing