We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Famous but a nice place for a walk.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ute Valley Park

Ute Valley Park
Attraction details
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not Famous but a nice place for a walk.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

It is close to home so I am a bit biased but here goes -- It is a very nice place for a walk (especially if you have a pet which needs exercise). The only official parking lot is very small so it is NEVER crowded. The main wildlife you see is either herds of deer but I have seen Bobcats, Bear and Mountain Lion. There are also rattlesnakes so keep your pets on a leash.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TerrynJean_Quinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
223 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice "hidden" Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

If you've never visited this park, you're missing one of the nicer quiet places in the Springs. The trail-heard just west of Eagleview middle school is pretty small (has porta potty) so on weekends you might have to park at the school. Some really nice views of Pikes Peak. Great place for dogs but keep them on a leash - in summer there are snakes off the trail in the rocky hillsides.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MoBBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great spot in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I love Ute Valley Park. I go running there often and love the convenience in location to my house. There are tons of trails. Downside is there are also tons of dogs off their leashes.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hollydolly31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
600 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Splendid oasis in the suburbs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

UVP has always been one of my COS favorites over the years- diverse terrain and eco-systems, spacious, and great views. Lots of neat rock formations. The trails go over a combination of flat areas, rolling hills, and steep, scrambling climbs; although they criss-cross through the trees in some areas, there's not much shade overall. After snow or rain, many areas within the park have the tendency to get muddy. Also, I always hike/walk, but the park is mountain bike friendly.

My only complaint is the north end's small parking lot off Vindicator Dr (it even has a port-a-potty). On nice days, vehicles are crammed into it.

Please LEASH YOUR DOGS and PICK UP AFTER THEM (I am very grateful to the responsible and courteous pet owners who realize this park belongs to everyone AND the natural wildlife).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank aerofaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ute Valley Park also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Ute Valley Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing