We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Find!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colorado Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
321 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“What a Find!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

When my husband and I were dating, we wanted a little getaway. We found this and decided to give it a try. They have a wonderful wine social in the evening and delicious breakfast in the am. The room is large and has a fireplace and a HUGE bathtub. Manitou Springs and Old Colorado City are right there, so we did the incline and then came back and enjoyed hors d'oeuvres and wine. It was a fabulous evening!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldenHouse, Owner at Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for sharing a great experience on Tripadvisor!
-Sallie and Welling Clark, Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    13
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
71
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
313 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Everything said about Holden House in previous entries rings true - well-appointed rooms, excellent location, breakfasts solid and out of the ordinary, a chance to meet other guests both there and at the wine and nibbles sessions in the main house from 5 to 7. The staff (they go by the title of assistant innkeepers) are helpful and informative. The decor is at the chintzy end of the spectrum, and there are a great many ornaments. This is fine in the main house, but a little off-putting in the bedrooms, where people usually want to unpack and spread out and make as much use of flat spaces as they can. There is a six-foot white rabbit in the sitting area of the Carriage House, which can be a trifle disconcerting when you stagger out for a glass of water at 3 a.m.

The only puzzle was the whereabouts of the innkeepers. Their names and photographs are all over the website, but we barely saw them; they were in the living-room when we arrived, but left our reception wholly to one of the assistants and didn't acknowledge us. We saw Mrs. Clark at breakfast on our second day for about two minutes, when she bade the assembled company a slightly distracted 'good morning'. While we were there all the obvious heavy lifting was done by the assistants, for whom no praise is too high.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Excellent B&B in a perfect and quiet neighborhood in Colorado Springs. We spent two nights there with a delicious breakfast each morning and a wine and snacks "happy hour" each evening! We got to meet two of the hosts who were sweet as could be and helped us with anything we needed. We will definitely be going back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldenHouse, Owner at Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Appreciate the great comments on breakfast and overall impression. We hope to see you again.
-Sallie and Welilng Clark, Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

The Holden House was a beautiful B & B. The room was large with a lovely decor. The breakfasts were superb and varied every morning. The staff was so nice and helpful, they made the stay even better. The location is great for going downtown, Pike's Peak, or any other attractions. An added bonus was a wine social every evening with snacks and wine, tea, and lemonade, etc. My husband and I stay in B & B's almost every trip, even in Europe, and the was my favorite so far.

Room Tip: All rooms appear nice and pictures are on the Website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duckoutofwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldenHouse, Owner at Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Love the comment that the breakfasts are superb! Thank you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor.
-Sallie and Welling Clark, Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We just returned from a four night stay. I'm not sure how any B&B could be much better than the Holden House.

1. Convenient location between downtown and Old Colorado City
2. Nice old neighborhood
3. Plenty of parking
4. Huge rooms - At least ours was (Cripple Creek Suite)
5. CLEAN
6. Comfortable
7. Great breakfasts
8. Wine and snacks every afternoon
9. Quiet
10. Furnished with actual antiques, not just reproductions
11. The very best staff anywhere

$145/night! Are you kidding me? This is a bargain!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Even_Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldenHouse, Owner at Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
So appreciated your high honor of naming us #1 on Tripadvisor. We strive to provide excellent accommodations and service and great comments certainly show we are hitting the mark. Thank you!
-Sallie and Welling Clark, Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed at the Holden House for two nights while touring the Colorado Springs area. The room we stayed in was the Silverton Suite in a separate two-room house on the main property. It was very quiet, very clean and stocked with anything you may need. We had a sitting area off of the bedroom which allowed for plenty of room for our bags and to spread out and be comfortable. There was even a skylight over the bed! The bathroom shower was very nice and roomy. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the free wine and appetizers each evening on the relaxing front porch swing before heading out for dinner. There were fresh baked cookies accessible 24/7 and the breakfasts were multi-course and very filling. They do have a set breakfast schedule of 8 or 9 am seatings but we could have opted for a cold continental breakfast delivered the night before if we wanted it earlier than 8 am. The 8 am time ended up working out just fine with our schedule. The Holden House is conveniently located to all the attractions and dining in Old Colorado Springs and Manitou Springs - just a short 5-10 min drive. The only complaint was the temperature of the room - we had no way to control the air inside of the room and it was very warm at night having been in the high 90s all day. There was a small fan in the closet that we used, but it was still warm to sleep. A recommendation would be if it is very hot that day to perhaps request they turn up the air a bit so that it is cool enough at night. We were very pleased with the room and service and would recommend it to anyone visiting Colorado Springs!

Room Tip: Silverton Suite is great - there no cats living in this separate house, and it is very quiet! Nice s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polymerchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
224 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Aspen room at the Holden House for our honeymoon. The innkeepers were welcoming and very nice. The house and room were immaculately clean. There wasn’t a spot of dust or dirt anywhere. They have two resident cats that are very friendly and love attention. Our room had a small sitting area, fireplace, shower and lounging tub. The ceiling was painted to resemble the sky; it was really pretty. The only negative thing about the room itself was the fact you do not have control over the temperature of your own room. The thermometer is outside in the hallway so it was a little chilly in the room for my taste. However, if you mention it to the innkeeper they will immediately make it more comfortable for you. Also, we could hear quite a bit of traffic noise from the road. I think every car with a bad muffler came down the road during the nights we stayed. However, that is not the bed and breakfasts’ fault. I am an extremely light sleeper so I had to buy earplugs and they helped a lot.

The bed was comfortable enough and we enjoyed having breakfast in the dining room with other guests. However, there were a couple mornings where we had to get up earlier or wanted to sleep in and they offered us a continental breakfast delivered to our room the night before. That was really nice because we didn’t have to worry about rushing down to eat breakfast; we could just sleep in and eat in the little sitting area.

There is only one other room upstairs other than the Aspen room and the whole time we were there the other guests were very quiet.

They have a lovely outside garden area with a swing and lots of patio furniture. The front porch also offers two swings. There is a social hour starting at five and they had an assortment of drinks and snacks. That was a nice touch for when we would get back for the day and before we went out to dinner.

We walked to Old Colorado historic district and that was way too long of a walk; we should have driven. We also visited historic Manitou Springs while on vacation and found that area to be much more charming. Next time if we visit Colorado again, I think we’ll stay in Manitou Springs.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay minus a few quirks here and there. Everyone was very nice and welcoming and they go out of their way to make sure you are satisfied with your visit. It really doesn’t feel like you’re on vacation it feels more like you’re visiting family in their charming old home.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funinthesun037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
1.1 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#18 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
1.4 mi away
Old Town GuestHouse
Old Town GuestHouse
#1 of 17 in Colorado Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.2 mi away
The St. Mary's Inn
The St. Mary's Inn
#2 of 17 in Colorado Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1102 W Pikes Peak Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80904-4347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates Range Between $145-$175 Plus Tax. Award-winning Pikes Peak treasure! Voted "Best" B&B for a Honeymoon/Anniversary by Arrington's B&B Traveler. Romantic restored storybook Victorians filled with antiques. Each guest suite boasts traditional furnishings, queen bed, private bath, in-room telephone/modem, sitting area, fireplace, oversized bubble bath "tub for two", color/cable tv, cd/clock/radio, refrigerator. Centrally located in a tree-lined residential area. Verandah's with porch swings, secret garden with gazebo and fountains. Near shopping, restaurants and activities. AAA/Mobil Inspected and Approved. Full gourmet breakfast and afternoon wine social included. "The Romance of the Past with the Comforts of Today" Free WiFi and computer workstation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing