We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colorado Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Desert, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed 5 December 2008

We had a wonderful experience at this B&B. Everyone was friendly, helpful and served great breakfasts and snacks. The room was clean and beautiful. Loved the tub. Would recommend Holden House to everyone.

Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank t2dmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    13
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
77
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ferndale, MI
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

The Holden House is one of the top places I have ever stayed. The owners (Sallie and Welling Clark) go to great lengths to make sure that their guests have the best experience possible.

They work tirelessly to stay on top of the latest trends in comfort and fashion in the B&B world and at the same time don't compromise on the old world charm and the integrity of the property. My room was beautifully appointed and very spacious. I could see Pike's Peak from outside my window. What a great bonus!

A while back I asked for a a recipe and Sallie was all too willing to oblige. That's above and beyond the service that most places accord their guests. And it is just one example of how important each guest is to them.

It's no wonder that this inn is ranked among the top in the United States. Its ranking is well deserved.

Stayed July 2003
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainBob121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

We spent a mid July 2008 weekend at the Holden House with our best friends--2 mid-age couples with lots of travel experience. We had a delightful time. The ambiance is 'old fashioned quaint' without being pretentious or stuffy. Every modern amenity has been thought of and included--as my husband said, 'when you reach for something, it is right there'. Breakfast was a sit-down fine china delight, although we could have had it in our rooms if we asked. Our suite was charming and comfortable, with a refrigerator, microwave, cookies and all the fixings for coffee and tea. My favorite part was sitting in the cozy well-maintained garden, sitting the the swing chair and sipping a glass of wine.....if Holden House weren't 1500 miles away, we'd be back next month.

  • Liked — cleanliness, friendliness of staff, comfortable accomodations
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank marieuberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2008

Loved every moment there. The room was beautiful. The staff was the best. The breakfast was magnificent.

  • Liked — Romantic Setting
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LIppsColoradoSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2007

Initial contact with Tammy by phone and her advice with regard to the accommodation - the Silverton Suite - was spot on ! (The bed was VERY comfortable !!!!).
On arrival, we were given a comprehensive tour of the property and our hostess rang 3 restaurants in order to secure a table for us that evening. Her 1st recommendation, the French restaurant, Le Petite Maison, proved to be superb. The hotel rooms were beautifully furnished and breakfast in our room next morning was excellent - freshly baked muffins and pancakes were a great start to the day !! It really made for an excellent short break - and for those who may visit who are not American, the walk to the old city takes only 30 minutes and is not a marathon !!! (...and the Greek restaurant in the old city (Jake and Tellys is also very good !).
We will definitely go back !!!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeDenverColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

Beautiful room! Extremely friendly service; it felt like home!
Delicious food!
Very convenient location.

  • Liked — Beautiful, comforting and welcoming atmosphere
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hlbrnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 September 2005

Well, it was almost two years ago come this holiday season that my wife and I spent a fabulous 5 year anniversary weekend at the Holden House. Everything was done in a tasteful Victorian Christmas decor and set the perfect mood for a romantic evening. So many B&B’s cater almost exclusively to the more mature in year’s crowd, but we were very grateful for the hospitality shown to us at the Holden House despite our youth. Our host’s thoughtfully suggested dinner at the nearby Gertrude’s in old Downtown Colorado City, which was an excellent compliment to the rest of our evening. We enjoyed a relaxing night in the Aspen suite and woke in the morning to our choice of a sweet or savory breakfast. Things could not have been more ideal. We have since moved to Phoenix, Arizona and as I scour the web vainly searching for a B&B that is on par with this establishment for this years anniversary, I find my self seriously thinking of making the trip up north just so that we might stay in these fine accommodations.

  • Stayed December 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
1.1 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,906 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,289 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Colorado Springs Dwtn Area
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#38 of 105 in Colorado Springs
167 reviews
3.3 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,100 reviews
1.4 mi away
Old Town Guesthouse B&B
Old Town Guesthouse B&B
#2 of 17 in Colorado Springs
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1102 W Pikes Peak Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80904-4347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates Range Between $145-$175 Plus Tax. Award-winning Pikes Peak treasure! Voted "Best" B&B for a Honeymoon/Anniversary by Arrington's B&B Traveler. Romantic restored storybook Victorians filled with antiques. Each guest suite boasts traditional furnishings, queen bed, private bath, in-room telephone/modem, sitting area, fireplace, oversized bubble bath "tub for two", color/cable tv, cd/clock/radio, refrigerator. Centrally located in a tree-lined residential area. Verandah's with porch swings, secret garden with gazebo and fountains. Near shopping, restaurants and activities. AAA/Mobil Inspected and Approved. Full gourmet breakfast and afternoon wine social included. "The Romance of the Past with the Comforts of Today" Free WiFi and computer workstation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing