We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Town Guesthouse B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We liked the location of this b&b for the shops and restaurants like Gertrudes. It's not far to drive to Garden of the Gods for exercise, Trading Post for jewelry, and Craftwood Inn for a special dinner. The breakfast is yummy and entertaining by Don. It's the only place I know that has an elevator which helps for taking the luggage upstairs. Rooms are beautiful with a hot tub on your private porch, and stunning view of the mountains.

Room Tip: We liked the Oriental Poppy for comfort and beautiful view from the private porch with a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BECKY6067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at the Old Town Guesthouse for the last three nights of a long vacation in the USA. We wanted a relaxing place to stay and chose this B&B on the basis of good reviews. We were very glad we did.

Our room (Oriental Poppy) was comfortable and well appointed. The balcony had a private hot tub and a view of Pikes Peak.

The provision for guests is exceptionally good. The excellent three course breakfast has 2 sittings depending on how early you want to rise. There is a library with a good selection of books and films.

Should you wish to attend, there is a drinks reception provided every afternoon between 4:30 and 6. This is a good chance to meet Don (one of the owners), other guests, and have a chat about what people have been doing. Don is a very amicable host, and is happy to recommend restaurants and make reservations. We had some very good dinners within a short walk of the guesthouse.

The basement contains a selection of games and a pool table. Wi-Fi worked well. An area on the 2nd floor includes a microwave, microwave popcorn, ice machine, water, soft drinks, and assorted boxes for the use of guests with first aid items, stationary, mending kit and others. There is off-street parking

The room was quiet, and we slept well in the comfortable bed which was made in the mornings and turned down in the evenings, at which time a weather forecast for tomorrow and 2 chocolates were left on the pillow.

Overall we were impressed with the attention to detail, cleanliness, and hospitality and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midlandsmoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

This was our first stay in a B&B. Very good location, just a block off Old Colorado City area - lots of shopping and restaurants. We stayed in the Indian Paintbrush room with private hot tub on the deck, sitting area w/gas fireplace, queen-sized waterbed, an extra twin waterbed (not needed), and generous size bathroom with double sinks. Bedroom size was average - not cramped, but not overly spacious either. Furnishings (chairs near fireplace, bedspreads) seemed a little run down/faded, but matched the very nice early American style decor in the room. Two person hot tub on deck was really why I booked the room. Private stucco/brick walls up sides of deck - we could only be viewed by a house on the hill maybe if they had a telescope! :-) Never saw the innkeepers Don or Shirley, but Kim was very welcoming in giving us a little tour of the place and pointing out amenities when we first arrived. Cozy public rooms, well decorated. Small touches were nice - like individual chocolate-covered strawberries waiting in room and chocolate coins outside our door at bedtime. Welcoming notes and wish for a good night card could be classed up by using some nice cardstock. Waterbed did not agree with our backs too much, and I feel the type of bed should be explained on their website. Breakfast smelled good, but we ate outside at a nearby restaurant instead 'cause we picked a late time to eat (chosen the night before) not knowing we'd wake up to the smell of bacon coming in the windows very early the next morning! Overall, we enjoyed our stay but I feel the room was overpriced a bit - OK for a splurge for one night, but not sure I could justify a longer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifeweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpikesOK, Owner at Old Town Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2011

Great review! Thanks! We're always looking for ways we can improve - it just too easy to keep doing it the same way. We'll work on the things you suggested.
Waterbeds: always a question, no bed fits everyone's style but most of our guests love them. Not sure how to advertise them without scaring away those who think waterbeds are still the "big bag of water" some of us enjoyed back in the 60's & 70's. We hope you weren't too, too uncomfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We could not have enjoyed our stay at Old Town Guesthouse more. Don and Shirley were friendly and helpful. I think what impressed me the most was the cleanliness of our guest room and the common areas. Both Don and Shirley were available for chats and recommendations but never forced their attention on us. You can tell that they truly love the area and want to share it. The breakfasts were delicious! A bonus, an honest staff that called to tell us that we unintentionally left cash in the room when we checked out...you don't find that everywhere!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This is a great B&B just off the main street, so we walked to most restaurants and bars. The B&B was very clean and tidy and the owners could not have been more helpful. The room was very spacious, with sitting area, balcony, and tea and coffee facilities, also a great steam shower. Outside of the rooms, there was an area where you could help yourself to every thing from water, first aid bits and pieces and lots of other everyday needs that one usually takes for granted.
The breakfasts were also very good and a good time to chat to other guests about their experiences with local restaurants and attractions.
Pike's Peak Mountain Bike Tour was a great trip, travel up in a bus and ride a bike down. It's chilly at the top and we were unprepared for this, but the rental company were on the ball and had jackets and pants for us to wear if needed and were following all the way down ready to carry anything we discarded.

Room Tip: Columbine room was great, spacious with king size bed and great steam shower. Very quiet and spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CO0KIE_M0NSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We came with high expectations and were extremely disappointed.
We have traveled extensively, both in the US and Abroad, and have never experienced anything like this:
The room was tiny and very poorly cleaned. In fact, one day it was not cleaned at all. We made sure Don and Shirley knew about this, but neither one apologized nor seemed to care, nor made any effort to compensate for it in any way, either by actions nor by a discounted bill. This is an expensive B&B for what it provides, and we found it more ostentatious than enjoyable; more surface "showmanship" than honest friendlinesss.
It does seem that Don is going through the motions of running a so-called "highly rated" B&B. Every evening during check-in time, he served wine from 4-6pm and wanted to talk to everyone there about their lives and daily experiences. He also spent a lot of time talking about himself, his family, and what he apparently thought were his great experiences. This is not what we were looking for, and we were very surprised by his intrusiveness.
He also wanted to recommend places for us to go and places for us to dine, but we wanted to make our own decisions, and never stayed for his wine hours after the first day nor followed any of his recommendations after the night of our check-in.

Shirley was uninvolved during our stay, except for her annoyance when I had to call her to tell her our room had not been cleaned, our towels nor changed, and our bed not made.
If you can find another place to stay, Colorado Springs is a great place to visit. Enjoy
Pike's Peak, the Garden of the Gods, the Air Force Academy and its beautiful Chapel,
the Royal Gorge Railroad and even touristy Manitou Springs with its many, many shops.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YESCo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpikesOK, Owner at Old Town Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2011

There are two sides to every story (and review), sadly what you read here is mostly fiction. I recommend reading a couple of other reviews and making an informed decision.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The proprietors of this hotel are super nice and available. The breakfast each day is awesome and you even have the choice of getting it delivered to your room the night before if you have plans that will cause you to miss the next day's breakfast. We has some special requests for Don & Shirley (bike parking, packaging tape, receiving packages) and they accomodated us without hesitating. Great place. Great hospitality. Great food. Great location.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
2.5 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,951 reviews
3 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
867 reviews
2.2 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,552 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,358 reviews
10.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Springs near the Air Force Academy
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Spri...
#1 of 104 in Colorado Springs
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Guesthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Guesthouse B&B

Address: 115 S 26th St, Colorado Springs, CO 80904-3010
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Colorado Springs
Price Range: £126 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Town Guesthouse B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elevator/lift provides easy access to all four levels of the Guesthouse. Rooms offer queen or king bed, private hot tub or shower/sauna, fireplaces, double sinks, refrigerators, coffee makers, spectacular mountain views and more. Full daily breakfast. Game room area with complimentary board games, puzzles, pinball and billiards. A conference facility accommodates standup receptions to 50 with classroom seating for 24; WIFI, copy and fax services, world-wide videoconferencing on premise, fine catering available. Complimentary Tesla Super Charger and Clipper Creek Universal electric vehicle charging stations for overnight guests. Free parking. The Guesthouse is located in the center of Old Colorado City historic district amid shops, restaurants and unique attractions, minutes from famed Garden of the Gods and mountain attractions. We provide unique, eclectic and extraordinarily comfortable, private accommodations for sophisticated leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Town Guesthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing