We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Town Guesthouse B&B
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This B&B has great reviews but we were disappointed. First of all, the rate on the website is not what we were charged. The $160 fireplace room rate was not what we got. Secondly, at checkout we were given someone else's receipt. Thank goodness only part of our credit card info was on there. Thirdly, when we requested a different breakfast entree the response was that the alternative had been served the day before. The 2-person steam shower was really just big enough for 1 and my spouse and i are small people. At breakfast we sat a few feet from the kitchen. The door remained open the whole time and we could hear all the kitchen noise, conversations, etc. Overall it was very quiet and fairly clean but in need of some significant updating-coffe pot was old, butler's pantry was bare with no toothbrushes/toothpaste, bathmats were old and misshapen. The decor was fairly good-not the Victorian you so often seen in B&Bs. We did enjoy the waterbed which we had been skeptical of. The fireplace and sitting area were terrific. The basement exercise/conference/game room was creepy, musty, and out-of-date. Don't mean to be a scrooge but we were looking forward to something else.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollyjollymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald W, Owner at Old Town Guesthouse B&B, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
With apologies for responding so late, I will offer my sincere regret that your stay was sub-par. No excuses are appropriate or adequate for a bad experience. We have reviewed and corrected our policies to ensure that billing and check-out receipt mistakes do not happen again.
We've looked at the lighting in the exercise/game room area and hope to freshen up the look and feel of that area of the Inn. Thanks for your observations.
We're glad you liked the waterbeds (we think they're wonderful, of course).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    37
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
39
278
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Shirley and Don made my 60th birthday so special! Other local B&Bs were not willing to accommodate my requests. Shirley understood what I wanted right away and we had great fun planning. They wowed us and our friends. The pre-arranged hearty champagne brunch for 8 was heavenly! We enjoyed bright and sunny library while they cleaned up and set us up to play Mah Jongg. While we played all afternoon they slipped in and out to keep us supplied like they were reading our minds! We found that Don had a Mah Jongg set so enjoyed checking it out and showing him a little of the game. We felt so comfortable and had a great afternoon! My husband and I took a couple hours quiet time in the beautiful Oriental Poppey room. Rejuvenated . . . we felt like royalty when we came down for the dinner and they had already welcomed our evening guests! Once again the food was incredible and we felt quite pampered as we visited the evening away. We stayed a second night so that we could enjoy Old Colorado City, the beautiful inn, wine and conversation with other guests, another gourmet breakfast, our room, the hot tub, and the views! It was all I had hoped for and more! K&LB Colorado Springs

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We travel to the Colorado Springs area frequently and, whenever we have driven past this B&B, we always say "we should stay there sometime." We just came home from a 4 night stay and were highly impressed. While the exterior of the building is very inviting, the interior is even better. We stayed in the Oriental Poppy room which, like all of the rooms, is decorated very tastefully. (Since we caught them during a lull, we were able to tour each of the rooms.) Besides the hot tub on the balcony, we had a great view of Pike's Peak and Garden of the Gods. I don't think this was unique to our room . . . they all had great views. The dining room and library/den were also very tastefully done. Tasteful is also a good word to use regarding breakfast. The food was great. The entire B&B is spotlessly clean. Shirley and Don are the perfect hosts and during our stay we enjoyed many conversations with them. By the time we left, we felt as if we had stayed with friends. My only concern regarding writing this glowing review is that they won't have an empty room the next time we want to stay there! Seriously, this is great place to visit. Truly one of the "BEST".

Room Tip: You can't make a bad choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CODYKODA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We had our first visit to this B&B in October. We liked the location and beautiful vistas of Pike's Peak from our room. The inn is newer construction in an old part of town, clean and well maintained with the convenience of an elevator. Knowing the Colorado Springs B&B market this one is on the high end price wise. Breakfasts were good but uninspired, nothing memorable. What was memorable was the bed! Their beds are "upscale" waterbeds that for us were anything but comfortable. We would not knowingly sleep on this type of bed in the future. Our hosts were gracious and outgoing willing to answer any inquiries or offer suggestions. Were they to switch to conventional mattresses we would rate this inn excellent and consider a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenoreprimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We nearly always choose B&B's or small inns. This one has gracious, hospitable on-site owners, is new construction on the site of the old jail and firehouse in the historic Colorado City district, and is easy walking distance to restaurants and shopping. It also has a sky light lit central staircase and an elevator to aid with luggage.

Rooms were very quiet but the beds are high end water beds, no sloshing, not chilly, but not for everyone. Also we missed the cookie jars which most inns provide.

We had a very nice stay; thanks to our hosts Shirley and Don Wick!

Room Tip: We stayed in Victorian Rose. "Our smallest room but it has an amazing view of Pike's Peak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KakiTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHIGAN
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We liked the location of this b&b for the shops and restaurants like Gertrudes. It's not far to drive to Garden of the Gods for exercise, Trading Post for jewelry, and Craftwood Inn for a special dinner. The breakfast is yummy and entertaining by Don. It's the only place I know that has an elevator which helps for taking the luggage upstairs. Rooms are beautiful with a hot tub on your private porch, and stunning view of the mountains.

Room Tip: We liked the Oriental Poppy for comfort and beautiful view from the private porch with a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BECKY6067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at the Old Town Guesthouse for the last three nights of a long vacation in the USA. We wanted a relaxing place to stay and chose this B&B on the basis of good reviews. We were very glad we did.

Our room (Oriental Poppy) was comfortable and well appointed. The balcony had a private hot tub and a view of Pikes Peak.

The provision for guests is exceptionally good. The excellent three course breakfast has 2 sittings depending on how early you want to rise. There is a library with a good selection of books and films.

Should you wish to attend, there is a drinks reception provided every afternoon between 4:30 and 6. This is a good chance to meet Don (one of the owners), other guests, and have a chat about what people have been doing. Don is a very amicable host, and is happy to recommend restaurants and make reservations. We had some very good dinners within a short walk of the guesthouse.

The basement contains a selection of games and a pool table. Wi-Fi worked well. An area on the 2nd floor includes a microwave, microwave popcorn, ice machine, water, soft drinks, and assorted boxes for the use of guests with first aid items, stationary, mending kit and others. There is off-street parking

The room was quiet, and we slept well in the comfortable bed which was made in the mornings and turned down in the evenings, at which time a weather forecast for tomorrow and 2 chocolates were left on the pillow.

Overall we were impressed with the attention to detail, cleanliness, and hospitality and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midlandsmoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
2.5 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,906 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
828 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,101 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
554 reviews
2.4 mi away
The St. Mary's Inn
The St. Mary's Inn
#1 of 17 in Colorado Springs
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Guesthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Guesthouse B&B

Property: Old Town Guesthouse B&B
Address: 115 S 26th St, Colorado Springs, CO 80904-3010
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Town Guesthouse B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms offer private hot tubs or shower/saunas, fireplaces, double sinks, refrigerators, spectacular mountain views and more. Full daily breakfast. The conference facility accommodates standup receptions to 50 with classroom seating for 24; WIFI, copy and fax services, world-wide videoconferencing on premise, fine catering available. Complimentary on-premis Tesla Super Charger and Clipper Creek Universal electric vehicle charging stations for overnight guests. The Guesthouse is located in the center of historic Old Colorado City amid shops, restaurants and unique attractions, minutes from famed Garden of the Gods and mountain attractions. We provide unique, eclectic and extraordinarily comfortable, private accommodations for sophisticated leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Old Town Guesthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing