We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Town Guesthouse B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed here for one night in the Oriental Poppy room. The room was lovely and very well maintained and clean. The hot tub on the balcony was great. The hosts were very friendly and knowledgable about the local area and gave us great dinner suggestions. The social hour in the evening where they provide complimentary wine and snacks was great to meet other guests and the hosts. Breakfast was gorgeous. Our only regret is that we only stayed for one night. The chocolate covered strawberries and champagne were also lovely and a nice end to our two week holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald W, Owner at Old Town Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thanks for the great review. We hope we'll see you back here the next time you travel this far West in "the states". Thanks too for sharing pieces of your trip with our other guests over a glass of wine - it's my favorite time of the day. Imagine that!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
There are newer reviews for Old Town Guesthouse B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

My husband and I just stayed at OTGH and it was just perfect! Don and Shirley are very special people and do an awesome job making you feel like you are at home!!! We stayed in the Moroccan Jasmine Room and it was wonderful! The view was great, the bed very comfy!!! Cocktails at night and the breakfast in the morning on the outside patio was just great! I would recommend OTGH to everyone!!! Thanks again Don & Shirley!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10SusanP825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald W, Owner at Old Town Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

We are blessed here in Colorado Springs to have many beautiful mornings and we're pleased when our guests choose to enjoy the day having breakfast on the patio. Blue skies, no bugs and low humidity make it almost perfect. The only way to improve on it is to have great guests to enjoy the morning with. Thanks for being such guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed in the Coral Reef room for 2 nights, the experience was flawless! First trip to Colorado Springs and the location is a short distance from a lot of area attractions. I would highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Great deal on the Coral Reef room
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjm441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald W, Owner at Old Town Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Our Coral Reef room is our "Value" room. Only $99/night (2 night minimum) and the only thing it lacks is a balcony. Breakfast and evening wine sampling are included as is our tailored hospitality. Two nights are three times as good as one and most of our guests wouldn't have it any other way.
We hope to have you back with us, maybe in one of our larger rooms with a private Hot Tub - what do you say??? Stay well and travel safely!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This was my first stay in a B&B and I think for any future quick getaway I will only stay in B&B's from now on. The prices were reasonable for the intimacy and originality if the room. The breakfasts were elegant and delicious. The innkeeper and his wife were friendly, helpful, and great company. They were able to point out some great local restaurants and the location was exceptional for just wandering around and having a relaxed weekend. It was really beautiful and I would recommend it to any of my friends!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mofms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald W, Owner at Old Town Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thanks for the great review. We'll take credit for the hospitality and the breakfasts, we don't serve anything I don't eat (as my girlish figure will attest). The location speaks for itself - Historic Old Colorado City is a treasure that few seem to know about. It was the Territorial Seat and the first State Capital (for a few hours) and is now a home for fine shops, galleries, boutiques and dining, dining, dining (ice cream and chocolate, too.
We hope to see you folks again, there's surely more to see and do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I couldn't have been more pleased. After a quick road trip around the state, we landed in Colorado Springs and happened into the most comfortable bed I've ever been in. Plus, Done and Shirley were beyond welcoming- their hospitality, cooking skills, and advice about our outings were greatly appreciated. When we're back in Colorado Springs, this will be our first stop; plus, it's located in a great area of town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotdotloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald W, Owner at Old Town Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

It's easy to be enthusiastic about our neck of the woods; the area is gorgeous, the things to see and do are numerous, the shops and restaurants of Old Colorado City are unique and just around the corner.
But equally important are our guests; they make doing our job a pleasure and we have been blessed with some of the finest, most interesting guests you can imagine.
THANK YOU, for being among them and for sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor readers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The "Old Town GuestHouse" immediately reminded me of the song. It would remind you of a small hotel in a small town tucked away somewhere. But in fact it is a lovely B&B right in the heart of Old Town Colorado Springs. Half a block from Colorado Ave, very close to Manitou Springs and with a wonderful view of Pikes Peak. The afternoon wine time with Don, Shirley and guests is very relaxed. Breakfast though 3 courses (fruit, coffeecake and main course that includes meat) is just right. Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingwonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald W, Owner at Old Town Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

If we only had a wishing well, the image would be complete. Thanks for the nice review - we know that our guests have several other choices in our area and we try, all the harder, to prove that they've made the correct choice when they stay with us.
We're ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed in the Indian Paintbrush room, not our first choice but the only room available for the two nights we wanted to stay there. To our surprise the room was decorated quite tastefully so even a person that doesn't care for "Native American" decor can really still enjoy the room. The check in was smooth and Don did a great job giving us information on the area and showing us Old Colorado City from our room's balcony. We enjoyed using the hot tub with the breath-taking view of the mountains. You put your hand up and you feel like you can almost touch Pike's Peak.

In the accommodations, I don't think there's anything that's been overlooked. They have a decently stocked pantry with coffee, popcorn, tea, sewing supplies, toiletries, the list goes on... I was very impressed that there were even cotton balls, q-tips and tampons in the bathroom as that is the last thing any girl wants to need and not have.

The wine social was fantastic! They had plenty for everyone and a wide variety of from sweet to dry and white, red and blush (truly something for everyone who drinks wine). It was fun to meet some of the other people staying there and learn what they've done or are doing in the area (we learned there was more to do than we thought!) The room and furniture is very comfortable and when we were starting to think about dinner they have a menu from all of the nearby restaurants and so many of the others that are not within walking distance.

The location is fabulous with the neighborhood being adorable with little privately owned shops and restaurants, but still very close to chain restaurants and retail. Only a few miles from Garden of the gods, trails, parks, etc. And a little over an hour from Royal Gorge.

The breakfasts were fantastic with three courses. We had never heard of Scotch Eggs but were pleasantly surprised! We had a tremendous egg bake the second morning. Mmmmmm...

There are other little things that we think made the stay great, but I don't want to ruin all surprises!

The only thing we weren't totally impressed with was the bed. There's no perfect solution for everyone and I think that it's great that they have something other than the standard hard bed you get at many hotels. Not sure how to describe it, it feels a little hard when sleeping on it but there's certainly plenty of give to it. Probably, like any bed, just takes more than two nights to get used to it.

Don and Shirley have really done a great job at making the rooms comfortable and beautiful. I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different. The Indian paintbrush is unique in that it has a twin size bed (sem...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald W, Owner at Old Town Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thanks for the great review. We try hard to make everyone feel comfortable and welcome. We're really happy when we hit the mark.
Sleep systems (and preferences) vary greatly and, as you say, not everyone works for everybody. Our waveless floatation beds seem a good compromise on the whole (we love ours).
Again, thanks for the compliments. I'll share this with Shirley and the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
2.5 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,927 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
841 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,106 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
575 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Guesthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Guesthouse B&B

Address: 115 S 26th St, Colorado Springs, CO 80904-3010
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Colorado Springs
Price Range: £131 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Town Guesthouse B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms offer private hot tubs or shower/saunas, fireplaces, double sinks, refrigerators, spectacular mountain views and more. Full daily breakfast. The conference facility accommodates standup receptions to 50 with classroom seating for 24; WIFI, copy and fax services, world-wide videoconferencing on premise, fine catering available. Complimentary on-premis Tesla Super Charger and Clipper Creek Universal electric vehicle charging stations for overnight guests. The Guesthouse is located in the center of historic Old Colorado City amid shops, restaurants and unique attractions, minutes from famed Garden of the Gods and mountain attractions. We provide unique, eclectic and extraordinarily comfortable, private accommodations for sophisticated leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Town Guesthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing