We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thankful they had a Room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Howard Johnson Colorado Springs
Ranked #82 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thankful they had a Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Thankful this Howard Johnson had a room, when the Days Inn down the street didn't honor our confirmed Wyndham Reservation. Yes the rooms are basic and it's an older hotel, but our room was quite clean and had a flat screen tv and good wi-fi, and it is close to the north end of the I-25 Interstate in Colorado Springs, Co. My main reason for writing this positive review is that I want to give a big thank-you to Bernice, the front desk clerk at my checkout. Thank-you Bernice for helping get my wife an I back on the road, when we were having major car problems. Your kindness and generosity made all the difference between a continuing good smooth trip and a trip that wouldn't have been so smooth. Thanks again Bernice for getting us back on the road :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rikitikitavi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJo80920, Manager at Howard Johnson Colorado Springs, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we greatly appreciate all thoughts and opinions. We are so happy to hear that you had a good stay and we were able to help you out when the other hotel could not honor your reservation. We pride ourselves in being a friendly and helpful staff and we are glad we were able to prove that during your stay. We hope you will come see us in the future and all of our improvements. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    79
    130
    111
    147
See reviews for
193
113
58
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Granby, Colorado
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I just needed a place to sleep for the night and this hotel was close to where I would be attending church in the morning.

Check-in was fine, however I did see a sign up on the back wall for the staff at the front desk warning them against letting guests use pay-per-view. The sign also threatened staff that if it continued the cost of the movies would be taken out of their pay check and also provided a lie to give to guests when they weren't able to rent a movie. I was disappointed that the sign was right at the front desk where guests could read it.

The room itself was ok. It was clean, but the sheets and the blanket on the bed had small holes in them.

For the price I paid I wasn't expecting anything fancy or service that was above and beyond..just a clean room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Alyssa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJo80920, Manager at Howard Johnson Colorado Springs, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we greatly appreciate all thoughts and opinions. I am very sorry that the sign about the pay-per-view movies was visible for the guests. We were having some problems with the network that provides the movies and instead of trying to accommodate those issues, we chose another route to go. At this time, we no longer offer pay-per-view movies. We sincerely apologize for this. Since your stay, we have updated our linens as well as other renovations and updates to the hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have stayed here several times and although cheap it is close to the AFA where I work on call. Today I arrived at 2:57 to be told that I had arrive very early for check-in. I said 3 min. early. He said he couldn't ask to see if my room was ready because he wouldn't speak Spanish. I asked if any rooms were ready. He said he couldn't put me in another room because then two rooms would be dirty. Didn't get this logic. I told him I had a meeting at 4pm I needed to get to. I was told to go to the meeting and my room should be ready by then. What?? I was mad then and told him he had 2 min. to find a room for me or I was cancelling. He told me to go ahead and cancel he didn't care. After I left and proceeded to call "customer care" he checked in the two people behind me and that's not including the one in front of me. He had absolutely no business being around people at all. He hung up twice on customer care and that was the only way I could cancel my room. So he wasn't going to give me a room, instead he was just going to charge me for a room. And hire English speaking maids! In this economy it is ridiculous that all of their maids can ONLY speak Spanish. The staff is never friendly. You can see that they are paid minimum wage and don't care if they have customers or not. Always a bunch of nearly homeless people staying there. I won't again. Trying to save money is not worth it when I can stay at the Hilton, down the street, for $30 more.

Room Tip: Cross your fingers and hope they will give you one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csgeisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJo80920, General Manager at Howard Johnson Colorado Springs, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
I am very sorry that your were not treated appropriate. Upon being notified of this issue, I immediately contacted you to try and make things right; we are happy that you gave us another chance, to provide you with the service that you deserve. I personally look forward to the mornings when you come to check out, I have enjoyed talking with you.

We appreciate the feedback that you have given us, and your continuance in remaining one of our guests.

Look forward to seeing you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Found dirty towels , dirt and plaster behind dresser. Water was left running in shower. Shower nob stripped. Couldn't sleep worried about the health of my young grand daughter. Terrible housekeeping. Breakfast was another issue, no spray for waffle iron do waffles wouldn't stick. Long night!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybossrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJo80920, General Manager at Howard Johnson Colorado Springs, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
We thank you for your feedback, we greatly appreciate your time in providing it. I have looked into the issues that you had during your stay, and , I am sorry for any inconvience you may have had, and would have been glad to have handle things for you personally. If there is anything I can do or help you in any way, if you come to Colorado Springs again, please contact me personally. As for not providing non-stick spray, this is due to the fact that the company that provides the waffle equipment, has stated non-stick spray is not to be used, only the daily conditioning spray.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, TX
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Obtained a great rate of $35 (prob. due to a last minute booking). Room spacious, clean. Breakfast was pretty good - finally some fresh fruit! Lobby nicely decorated for the holidays. Coffee and fridge in room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iowana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJo80920, General Manager at Howard Johnson Colorado Springs, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. I am very please to know that you enjoyed your stay, and hope that you will come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamosa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I have stayed here in the past and continue to because the rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJo80920, General Manager at Howard Johnson Colorado Springs, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback and Brand loyaty when you are here in Colorado Springs. We enjoy having you stay with us, and look forward to the next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge North Academy
Econo Lodge North Academy
#73 of 105 in Colorado Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy
Days Inn Colorado Springs Air Fo...
#26 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn North - Air Force Academy Area
Comfort Inn North - Air Force Ac...
#51 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Colorado Springs
Comfort Suites Colorado Springs
#61 of 105 in Colorado Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.5 mi away
Colorado Springs Extended Stay Hotel
Colorado Springs Extended Stay H...
#74 of 105 in Colorado Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Colorado Springs North
La Quinta Inn & Suites Colorado ...
#68 of 105 in Colorado Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Property: Howard Johnson Colorado Springs
Address: 8280 Voyager Pkwy, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-5508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Colorado Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi-story Inn. Great location, beautiful views of the Rocky Mountains, shopping and restaurants within walking distance, modern guest comforts, outdoor seasonal pool, near the Air Force Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing