We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, Affordable, But That's It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #86 of 104 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Excellent location, very close to Colorado College and "downtown" Colorado Springs.

First, the rooms do not open into internal hallways. The room doors open to the exterior of the building. Just be aware of that from a security perspective. In addition, the rooms all face the parking lot, increasing the potential for noise. There always seemed to be people standing around in the parking lot or sitting in their cars.

The room itself was clean, and the front desk staff was very cooperative and helpful in getting the internet to work.

You can skip the "breakfast included." A machine that emits an orange liquid juice substitute for orange juice, dry donuts, mediocre coffee. Better to pack in something the night before.

But affordable it was.

Room Tip: Second-floor room seemed to be more secure. Can see what's going on in the parking lot before y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arjaydobleyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

i was in colorado springs on a expo event tour.Being new to the area i was looking for great food and something to do with colleagues i had no luck until i stop by the front desk for so help .in which i found thanks to a frontdesk attendant named Dee she told me about some great resturants in town and some great landmarks in the area which i can say help greatly..She was very sincere in all efforts to find something that fit my needs it realy made my stay better.

Room Tip: Just ask front desk they are honest people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bishop l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Where to begin? Number one, this place should recieve zero stars. After driving for 13 hours, my friend and I go to check into this place and it took almost an hour for the girl at the desk to key the card for the door. I had reserved a smoking room over 2 weeks in advance and they gave me a non-smoking room. After complaining, they told me to just smoke in the room. We got in the room and realized we had entered hell. The room was beyond dirty. This place was just nasty. They had several things plugged into a power strip that the face plate for the wall was off. The toilet ran all the time. The chain on the door was broke. There are evidently guests that live there full time, and hang out watching the guests coming and going. We did not feel safe leaving ANYTHING in the room and took everything with us when we'd go somewhere. The parking is a joke. Even with a small car, is was a pain. Oh yes, every time we left the room and tried to get back in, the key card wouldn't work and it would take forever for them to re-key it. Needless to say, I would NEVER stay here again and wouldn't want my worst enemy staying here!! I stayed here July 2011...

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Txperfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Usually choice hotels have standards that ensure you get what you expect from choice hotels. Clean, safe, reliable. this hotel is in a nice neighborhood but is not adding to it. Cramp and old is how I would describe this hotel. I saw substandard wiring in room. AC worked but rattled as did the bathroom fan. Continental breakfast was a donut and weak coffee. I used reward points for this stay but it was no reward.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Arrived and was immediately turned off by the offensive men around the pool who just stared at me, check-in man checking out the singles websites. Then I get to the room and it was something out of the 50's. Hair in tub, grimy feeling and just plain scary. No fridge, microwave or even
a clock, as promised by the 800# reservationist. She told me I had 3 choices and she recommended this one downtown. Can't believe the others could be as bad!

If you are traveling with a high school sports team, it is probably ok, but I am glad I just
happened to bring along my Bedbug Defense.

Breakfast is in the tiny 12x12 lobby, if it is that big. So this will be quite interesting. I doubt
it is any more than coffee and a donut.

Room Tip: Don't bother. I often stay at Comfort Inn and Comfort Inn Suites and this was the worst of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Room was clean, sheets clean, shower head worked so well that turned all the way up it would sting the skin. It is a older motel, but had frig. Microwave and coffee. Lady at the desk very nice
Internet worked great

Room Tip: Room 221 was very quite due to being up high & on the end
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CavemanHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

disgusting run down rooms, worst housekeeping service in the world, rude, erogant front desk, and actually gave me a curfew on having friends in the room with me. REALLY?? i did not pay money to be controlled by a crappy hotel, i would love to see this place go down or get replaced with someone who knows how to run a hotel

Room Tip: not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
Clarion Hotel and Conference Cen...
#57 of 104 in Colorado Springs
501 reviews
7.2 mi away
Econo Lodge North Academy
Econo Lodge North Academy
#72 of 104 in Colorado Springs
141 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn South
Quality Inn South
#42 of 104 in Colorado Springs
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites Downtown
Quality Suites Downtown
#55 of 104 in Colorado Springs
206 reviews
7.4 mi away
Days Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy
Days Inn Colorado Springs Air Fo...
#43 of 104 in Colorado Springs
584 reviews
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of the Gods
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of ...
#39 of 104 in Colorado Springs
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 714 N Nevada Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80903-1008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 104 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range: £39 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing