We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the lobby!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Ranked #16 of 104 Hotels in Colorado Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel has one of the nicest lobbies of any hotel I have ever stayed in! The 4 sided fireplace in the Greatroom area was perfect for sitting around after a long day of sight-seeing. The dining area/bar stayed open relatively late and April was an awesome server. The front desk staff and the breakfast staff were also wonderful - we especially loved Patrick "the omelet guy". And to top things off, we had a spectacular view of Pike's Peak from our room. We loved everything about our stay and will definitely go back!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie57894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,579 - 1,585 of 2,343 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have been here on two trips. The first time we came for a wedding and stayed 2 nights with plans for the last 2 at the hilton downtown. We were so much happier at the academy than the hilton that we stayed at the hilton for only the wedding night and switched back...! Amazing breakfasts, great service, clean, and just amazing! I recommend booking directly, you get gift certs toward food in their restaurant! The only downfall is no elevator which is a tad inconvenient with lots of luggage, but thats easily overlooked!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A group of 8 of us stayed 3 nights at The Academy in early October. It is truly a great value. The rooms are spacious, clean and pleasant. The included breakfasts are all that as well, that is complete, varied and well prepared including omelets, pancakes and so on. The lobby, dining area, indoor swimming pool is pleasant, though not quiet. It is a good place for families in this respect. However, one should be aware that many rooms are reached only by stairs and not elevators. If you have a lot of luggage this is clearly a deficit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PuffTrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at The Academy Hotel for a football weekend. Rooms are clean. Most of the staff is friendly. It is an older hotel probably built in the 1980's but still clean and comfortable. They have a decent buffett breakfast each morning. The hotel bar is nice but the bartenders need some people skills. This was our first time to Colorado Springs. You need to know the Air Force Academy campus is very large. By the name of the hotel, we assumed it was on the campus. It is not. However, after the game we got right back to the hotel without getting stuck in traffic.

For the price and convenience, I would recommend staying at the Academy Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDPatriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights for a friend's wedding and were impressed by the friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere. We enjoyed quiet time by the fire in comfortable lounge chairs, and fun get-togethers with family and friends in the bar/restaurant area during happy hour. The food was very reasonably priced and delicious. The complimentary breakfast was amazing and as other comments have indicated, the omelettes were an unexpected treat. We found the rooms a bit dated but very comfortable with everything we needed including a fridge and microwave. Shopping was within walking distance and sightseeing attractions like Pike's Peak, Cliff Dwellers, and Valley of the Gods were all within a 15-20 minutes drive of each other. Although we didn't use the pool, hottub, fitness, or games room it was great to know they were there if we wanted to. A great place to stay for all ages!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor in A building which we were told had a larger bathroom than others, and we als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19jkb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We travel once a year to visit our son and 2 grand kids in Colorado Springs. My son is a High school football coach and my grandson is on the JV team.
Every year we take in a weekend of Air Force Football and High School football (usually 3-4 games on a 4-5 day stay. Staying at the Academy Hotel is center to all our activities that weekend. We plan way ahead (as soon as the Air Force games are published) so we get the best games...the last three years we saw Navy, Notre Dame, and Army.

Room Tip: Second floor tower is away from the lobby but still close to all activities and has easy access to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBP550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The Academy Hotel is the greatest value in Colorado Springs. This hotel has an amazing, hard working staff, exceptional rates, good food, and a pleasant atmosphere.

I have stayed here twice now and I will definitely return any time I'm in the Springs.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VernalHVAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,536 reviews
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 104 in Colorado Springs
563 reviews
2.5 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 104 in Colorado Springs
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,350 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,948 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs Airport
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs ...
#7 of 104 in Colorado Springs
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Address: 8110 N Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#7 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#18 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#21 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range: £64 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing