We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pictures make it look nicer than it is.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Ranked #15 of 104 Hotels in Colorado Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed with a team before a Sunday game. The rooms were clean, but the hotel felt old and musty. The fire alarm kept going off so a couple times the elevators were shut down and we had to take the stairs up to our room. The beds were very fit and when the air conditioner/heater kicked on several times at night it made a loud noise. We all woke up each time this happened. Our extremely lengthy dinner at the restaurant was unedible and left us all hungry and crabby. We decided to order some dessert from room service. The menu said to call about their great selections, but when we did they told us all they had was soft serve ice cream. In the morning when we left I tried to find the manager to tell them about our experience, but there was no one to be found at the desk. Next time, I will trust my instinct and stay at a Marriott property.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly2370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,430 - 1,436 of 2,351 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

When we are going to Colorado Springs for any of the kid's events - sports, band; we always stay at the Academy Hotel. The rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet at night, They have a continuous fan option which we really appreciate, because we run a fan at night at home for the white noise. The full complimentary breakfast is unmatched. We ate dinner there this past Saturday night and it was delish, and the hotel gives out $10 off dinner coupons.It was quite busy late for dinner and some other guests that we knew that were staying there were not too happy with the wait, but we had great service. We requested a cot and add'l breakfast coupon for an additional guest and were accomodated quickly. Great stay! They have a nice indoor pool.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were in town to visit our niece at the AF Academy. The room cost was very reasonable. When we got to our room we turned on the AC and it made an awful noise--one we would not be able to sleep with. We called the front desk, then left for the Academy. When we returned they had replaced at least part of the air conditioner and controls, enough to make it work just fine, with a new control panel. We were impressed. But the biggest impression was made with the huge, fantastic breakfast buffet. It had nearly everything you could imagine, including an omelet station operated by a helpful chef, anxious to please each guest. We would stay there again, and will recommend it to others travelling to Colorado Springs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhardtke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Very Good place to stay! Rooms are clean & comfortable! Bathrooms were a little small but good! Rooms had small refrg. & micro and coffee maker. Beds were good, pillows were great!
Advantages and Disadvantages to the indoor pool area! Great for all weather but was so noisy with kids playing in pool, could hear through out the whole lobby and restaurant& bar! We were disappointed that hot tub was broke down during our stay! The Falcon Bar & Grill was Great! We loved the Happy Hour food & drinks! Then on Fri & Sat. nights they serve Prim Rib that was amazing! The soup of the day was Calm Chowder that was the BEST!!! The Academy Hotel has the BEST Breakfast Buffet around EVERY DAY!!! Served from 6am to 10am Free with your room! Also when you book your room directly with them you get a food voucher good for $10 off at Falcon Bar & Grill! We had a very good stay! Sad that it was for just one night! Next time we will have to stay longer!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TamLynnLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed overnight as a mini getaway with our kids. They swam in the pool which was nice, had a good sleep and the breakfast buffet was great. I would definitely stay again in the future. Great staff and overall great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amberkauffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

When checking in make sure you ask for a room that does overlooked the lobby atrium area. The room was dark and there was no natural light. You also get the noise from the bar, restaurant and pool. Also the first room they placed me was already in use. When I walked in all lights were on in the room, and smelled of cigarettes. However, the new room was clean and did not smell. It was quite comfortable and served the purpose.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We came here for my son's wedding. The rooms were nicely clean, except the tub drained slowly, but it was very clean. The beds were nice and soft and the rooms were very quiet. They had there reception there at the hotel and it was put together very nicely with wonderful food and service. The one thing I did notice those was some of the staff was not so friendly. I work in customer service and it can be a not so nice job at times, but you need to smile and be nice to everyone at all times. I will be coming back here to stay though I love the layout and the great rates for all the services you have :).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,554 reviews
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 104 in Colorado Springs
563 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#21 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 104 in Colorado Springs
800 reviews
8 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,951 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs Airport
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs ...
#7 of 104 in Colorado Springs
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Address: 8110 N Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#8 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#17 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#18 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range: £64 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing