We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If it weren't for the great customer service, I would have rated w/ a Zero”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Ranked #15 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
“If it weren't for the great customer service, I would have rated w/ a Zero”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have to agree with Allen H. We were in room 153 and our toilet seat (not the lid that closes, but the seat that you lift up) would slide to the right every time you would sit down. At one point I thought it was going to break (and no, I am not fat...I am 5'9 and weigh 138). Not only is the lid cheap, the toilet is cheap too! At 4 am after just falling asleep I got up to use the restroom. I flushed, and seconds later as I walked around the corner back into the room I literally hear water pouring out so fast....I turned around and it was already flowing toward the carpet. Needless to say, I called the front desk. A guy with a plunger and 3 towels showed up. He plunged the toilet and left me to clean up the toilet water with THREE TOWELS! No gloves, nothing! So I had to use my feet (with shoes on) to try and clear the water which eventually had to just air dry because 3 towels wasn't going to get the job done. And yes, he said that was all the towels he could get at the time. You would think he would show up w/ a mop and some Lysol, and rubber gloves.... Ugh. It was a nightmare. I didn't go back to sleep after that, so I literally got about 30 minutes of sleep that night.

HOWEVER, I contacted the owner/general manager and he was very, very apologetic and he literally gave us the entire night for free!!! I was expecting a discount of some sort since I had to clean up the toilet mess myself, but I didn't expect them to pay for the entire night! So if the toilet was a little better, I would definitely say come stay at The Academy Hotel! Very very nice people. The guy who came w/ the plunger and towels was just young. I am sure he was trained on what NOT to do next time that happens.

Oh, and their all-you-can-eat breakfast is outstanding! Everything you can think of is there! And this is free! Yummy, now I am craving their waffles!

Room Tip: Please know, I would give the service a +5 if it weren't for the "toilet" incident!
See more room tips
Green Features: 153 is right near an outside door that you can hear slam often....ask for a different room if you get placed here!
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    669
    297
    119
    71
See reviews for
1,056
443
78
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was in Colorado Springs for business so my wife decided to come along. The Academy Hotel was close to were I needed to be and after looking at the reviews it was a no brainier. The room was as expected, very clean and roomy. The bed was very comfortable, slept like a baby. Some hotels have beds that are so hard it makes my back ache but not here. And loads of pillows! The breakfast buffet was awesome! Omelets made to order, unlimited coffee, french toast, waffles, cereal etc. The staff was very friendly. The pool area was well kept the only issue we had was the hot tub was out of order. I highly recommend The Academy Hotel when visiting Colorado Springs.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firefighter1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was my second time staying at The Academy Hotel. We had the best time! We wanted a hotel we felt safe in and good stay for our money. The rooms are nice and super quiet- we didn't hear a thing while resting. The breakfast is lovely way more then the normal muffin. The personal are all friendly and helpful. Plus we got a discount at the bar and grill for booking with the hotel direct. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floor made it super quiet
See more room tips
Green Features: Love that the reuse and recycle. The little note around the room were nice.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Utah
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

THE BAD:
We stayed at the Academy Hotel in Room 122 on 25, 26, 27 and 28 May 2014. You cannot see outside anywhere through the window in Room 122, because the exterior wall faces other nearby exterior walls of the building. Hence, there is no sunlight or real daylight coming into the room through the window at any time, which makes the room quite dark, even when the blinds are open.during the day. There may be a lower, more uncomfortable toilet with a super-cheap, broken toilet lid somewhere in the world, but I believe it would be most difficult to find. When one finally gets sat all the way down onto the extra low toilet, you are almost looking between your knees. For old folks like us, that is extremely uncomfortable. On the other hand, the height of the toilet is probably just right for the 10-and-younger guests.

The adjustable-height swivel *chair(s) at the desk, would not stay in the elevated position. Rather they would unexpectedly and suddenly drop a few inches when you were sitting in them. (*We tried two different chairs, and both had the same problem.) These chairs likewise seemed to be of the super-cheap variety.

THE UGLY:
The colors in Room 122 are just plain drab, which makes the room a bit dull and dingy, especially given the lack of daylight. There were some fragments of facial tissue on the floor the entire time we were at this Hotel, which indicates the room was never vacuumed during our stay.

THE GOOD:
This Hotel is in a very good location with convenient freeway access/egress, and direct entry into the Air Force Academy on Academy Boulevard. The service at the Acadmey Hotel is exceptional with a very cordial, helpful and accommodating staff. The buffett breakfast is superior to any other buffet breakfast we have eaten at during the last few years. The variety is good, and the food is very good with fresh-made waffles and made-to-order omelets available. The eating area is spacious and pleasant, as it is located in a large indoor atrium. The large atrium also provides a very pleasant and comfortable place to visit with larger groups, rather than crowding into a single room or congregating in the lobby.

If Room 122 were representative of the what the Acadmey Hotel has to offer, I would never stay there again, even at dramatically reduced rates. However, based on the popularity of this Hotel, I have to believe staying in some of the other rooms provides a much more desirable lodging experience.

p.s. The bathroom facuet leaked profusely. Overall, I feel like I paid $120.00 per night for $79.00 per night lodging in Room 122.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Room 122!!
See more room tips
Green Features: The Academy Hotel is environmentally concious, and strives to minimize unecessary energy and water waste.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

My family stays here all the time. Great full breakfast buffet is always great to start and plan our day out!
Good location makes it easy to find: right off I-25, straight off South Gate of Air Force Academy

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFHZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

For the money paid, I think this hotel was just fine. The room could use a bit of updating (the wallpaper was very obviously peeling off the way) and the bed wasn't the most comfortable, but it worked for a one night stay. The lobby was very nice, the staff was extremely friendly, and the breakfast in the morning was one of the best I have seem. Omelets made to order, eggs, ham, biscuits, waffles, etc. - that really made the stay worth while. If you are just planning on passing through town and need a place to catch a few zs, this will definitely work at a price you can't complain about.

Green Features: The shampoo, conditioner, lotion, and soap dispensers were a great touch. There is always enough for your needs and a lot less plastic bottle waste to head to the landfill.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel has been a favorite since we first visited 6 years ago when our family toured USAFA. It had a nicely appointed rooms, an amazing breakfast and friendly staff. At that time, it was a chain hotel. While our son attended USAFA the past 4 years, we and our family and friends stayed here whenever we stayed in a hotel in the Springs.

We chose to stay at the Academy Hotel this spring for our sons USAFA graduation, and our party rented 8 rooms. Unfortunately, the hotel has seen some decline. Our rollaway was delivered with dirty bedding in it, and others in our group also had dirty bedding upon check-in. These were resolved, but the entire place has a feel of decline. Ice machine didn't work, the rooms seem "tired", housekeeping was marginal, etc. Finally, the breakfast which has been so impressive in the past, has been reduced to a breakfast that you might find at any other chain hotel...plus an omelet bar with a very friendly chef. (He was our highlight of the week).

This was an incredibly busy week with USAFA graduation and at least one wedding. So much so, that we got the "last" rooms when I booked them a year in advance. Because of that, I expected the hotel and staff to be geared up for a busy weekend. They seemed overwhelmed and not quite up to the task.

I share this review in hopes that the Academy Hotel can make improvements and return to its former fantastic experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomjoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
2.6 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
5.9 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn...
#6 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#18 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Property: The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Address: 8110 N Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#8 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#18 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#21 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing