We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The customer service staff could use a few lessons.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Ranked #16 of 104 Hotels in Colorado Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Not what I expected from a 3 star hotel more like a 2 star hotel.
The staff didn't seem to enjoy doing their job.
I was surprised that we were given tickets for breakfast i felt this was in necessary.
On the last day of our stay housekeeper walked in while we were all asleep with our any notice.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,277 - 1,283 of 2,338 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

as with previous reviewers what more can u say about the breakfast! we had a problem with noise above our room on the first of a three night stay, staff dealt with this promptly and moved us to an upper floor at 12.30 am. overall very impressed - the bar/restaurant was very good and good value particularly if you have booked direct and received a $10 voucher to use each night. negatives - if you do not have children the shouting and squeeling coming from the open swimming pool can be offputting. we asked to eat inside the bar every night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HalesowenStel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Great location, great hotel, great breakfast buffet... Overall totally great family experience. The buffet for breakfast is better than most with custom omelettes and just about everything you could want.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I made an online reservation and was initially excited about staying. I phoned from the airport that I would be arriving around 4:30pm and had spoken to Dayne that morning who was very helpful when I requested a second floor room. When I arrived, it was busy and a black woman at the check in I thought was rude when the man was checking me in I mentioned that I had requested a second floor room which Dayne had already arranged for me. She also said there was going to be an additional hold on my account because I was using a debit card. No one mentioned this and she started moving things around. She was not friendly and her customer service was underpar. She sort of barked at me that they were trying to have me not have to wait. The room they put me in was hot and there was a moth I had to set free. I had been in the hotel in the past for meetings and for a meal. I always liked the fireplace and the waterfalls and the pool. I wanted to swim and there were a million kids so I opted for the hottub. The restaurant server in the am was repeatedly touching her hair and her nose and did not wash her hands--- disgusting indeed. the breakfast buffet was cold. Unfortunately, it was not what I was hoping for and overpriced for what I experienced. Also, I did not appreciate that someone entered my room while I was at breakfast. Debra Bordeaux

Room Tip: Don't let them put you over past the restaurant as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Thank you for all your services. We were extremely happy that we had found a excellent place to stay and eat. Your staff went above and beyond for our family. I would recommend and play on staying here again in September.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I only had 2 staff that were pleasant and helpful, the owner and rest of the staff were short, rude, and seemed to be bothered by the fact you were asking a question.
Everything for our group was arranged through email. When we arrived everyone's reservations were messed up and the prices had changed, plus the extra fees for using debit card ranged from $25-$50 per day...then released back to you 4-5 days after check-out. This was not pointed out when we booked our group.
Some of our group was asked to switch rooms daily because they had made a mistake with their reservation, customer service lacked when handling their errors.
Hotel stated it was "pet friendly", but the owner was not. They placed pet rooms by their main doors and office doors. This was extra noise that caused the pets to bark constantly.
Great space for kids and adults to hang-out but owner drank several nights there and displayed inappropriate behavior with his girl-friend at the bar which made customers leave due to the scene he was making.
Breakfast was fabulous and always had plenty of food. We also ate at the restaurant several nights in a row. Sometime our food was good, other nights our order was wrong. The most disturbing part was on our 3rd night eating there, my son ordered chicken fingers. Since they appeared hot, I began to cut them up only to find they were still RAW in the middle, about 1 inch in diameter still un-cooked. The server replaced them with a new order and offered to take them off our bill, but when the check came they were still on the bill and I had to follow-up and ask him to take them off like he had offered. It was a good thing I cut-up my child's food that night. The cook nor the owner came over to offer any apology. Customer service lacked in the situation.
The pool area was nice. The hot tub was dirty often.
Rooms were cleaned daily but the amount it was cleaned varied depending on the staff cleaning it. My sheets were not changed during my stay and I was there for 9 nights.
We liked that there were things for the kids to do and the staff tolerated the kids being kids.

Room Tip: Request a refrigerator upon arrival. Not every room had a refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ralbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have stayed at the Academy Hotel many times over the past 7 years or so, and I have never been disappointed. I'm sure my family and I have tallied up dozens of beautiful visits to your hotel and not one time has been less than excellent. Every staff member shares a smile, is eager to help and displays the utmost in hospitality. Breakfast is consistently excellent and the restaurant/bar has a full menu, great variety and the quality will not be beat. Well done Academy Hotel. Well done, indeed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LocksLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,533 reviews
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 104 in Colorado Springs
563 reviews
2.5 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 104 in Colorado Springs
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#19 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,347 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
Best Western Executive Inn & Sui...
#13 of 104 in Colorado Springs
676 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of the Gods
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of ...
#40 of 104 in Colorado Springs
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Address: 8110 N Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#6 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#18 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#21 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range: £64 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing