We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Ranked #16 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Solid Value”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Only spent one night during a 9 day Colorado vacation. Found the Academy to be the best value of the trip compared to Holiday Inn Express and Best Western. Room was clean and quiet. Complimentary breakfast was the best of our trip. Would have enjoyed staying longer but our itinerary didn't allow.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,053
    709
    319
    133
    72
See reviews for
1,127
467
80
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Hotel was nice overall. The rooms were clean and the lobby is aesthetically pleasing. I did have a problem with the staff however. First of all, they failed to inform me that the offramp to their hotel is closed, which they don't have to do, but I think it is something they should mention when talking on the phone with them. Secondly, we had first reserved one room with two queen beds, but then decided to each get our own room. Unfortunately, they would not change the original room to a king bed. You would think that they would be willing to accommodate seeing how the hotel was not busy and we were spending more $ getting a second room. Lastly, they do not offer room service after 11pm which I thought was too early. At least they should have a limited menu to offer. I would not go back here, there are plenty of better options out there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is good place for family trips since you can feed the whole family before going out and it is a really nice buffet with omelette and waffle stations, fresh fruit, cereal, eggs, ham, biscuits, etc. Rooms have frig, microwave, coffee, hair dryer, lighted magnified mirror and desk with chair. Has a nice selection of pillows and towels were fluffy and clean. Floors could be a little cleaner

They have a hard time keeping up with the crowds when it comes to the floors, bathrooms and common areas. Seems like they had a lot of turnover of staff since most people had not been there very long. All the staff was friendly and accommodating and they let us have a late checkout. Has complimentary Bally fitness coupons but it is about 5 miles down Academy Blvd

Don't plan on sleeping past 8:30 am because the airforce academy starts zooming planes overhead during the week. There are a lot of shops in the area. Mall across the street and bus stop down on the corner which runs once per hour. Parking was not very convenient for loading and unloading unless you are in the back building

Room Tip: rooms near highway have better parking. One of the towers seemed newer but not sure which one
See more room tips
Green Features: They use dispenser's for soap, lotion, shampoo, etc. Have towel wash policy vs re-use and will change sheets when requested
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Special12k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Not what I expected from a 3 star hotel more like a 2 star hotel.
The staff didn't seem to enjoy doing their job.
I was surprised that we were given tickets for breakfast i felt this was in necessary.
On the last day of our stay housekeeper walked in while we were all asleep with our any notice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halesowen
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

as with previous reviewers what more can u say about the breakfast! we had a problem with noise above our room on the first of a three night stay, staff dealt with this promptly and moved us to an upper floor at 12.30 am. overall very impressed - the bar/restaurant was very good and good value particularly if you have booked direct and received a $10 voucher to use each night. negatives - if you do not have children the shouting and squeeling coming from the open swimming pool can be offputting. we asked to eat inside the bar every night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalesowenStel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Great location, great hotel, great breakfast buffet... Overall totally great family experience. The buffet for breakfast is better than most with custom omelettes and just about everything you could want.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnwood, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I made an online reservation and was initially excited about staying. I phoned from the airport that I would be arriving around 4:30pm and had spoken to Dayne that morning who was very helpful when I requested a second floor room. When I arrived, it was busy and a black woman at the check in I thought was rude when the man was checking me in I mentioned that I had requested a second floor room which Dayne had already arranged for me. She also said there was going to be an additional hold on my account because I was using a debit card. No one mentioned this and she started moving things around. She was not friendly and her customer service was underpar. She sort of barked at me that they were trying to have me not have to wait. The room they put me in was hot and there was a moth I had to set free. I had been in the hotel in the past for meetings and for a meal. I always liked the fireplace and the waterfalls and the pool. I wanted to swim and there were a million kids so I opted for the hottub. The restaurant server in the am was repeatedly touching her hair and her nose and did not wash her hands--- disgusting indeed. the breakfast buffet was cold. Unfortunately, it was not what I was hoping for and overpriced for what I experienced. Also, I did not appreciate that someone entered my room while I was at breakfast. Debra Bordeaux

Room Tip: Don't let them put you over past the restaurant as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
8.1 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,287 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,405 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
758 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs Airport
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs ...
#6 of 105 in Colorado Springs
927 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorad...
#17 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Property: The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Address: 8110 N Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#18 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#21 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing