We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Academy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Ranked #16 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The Academy Hotel hosted my 3rd Bn /71st ADA Reunion and the hotel staff did an excellent job. There was over 200 of us and the hotel handled our soldiers honorably. I didn't find one thing to complain about, which isn't normally the case with me. The hotel is the first hotel off of the interstate exit and located ideally to everything we are used to having... eateries, shopping, all the local attractions that Colorado Springs has to offer. Pikes Peak, Garden of the Gods, Cripple Creek , everything we wanted to visit was a stones throw away. It's your money and you can stay anywhere. If I were able to spend some of your money for a room I would stay at The Academy Hotel. 50 inch hd Tv's, free wifi, a great breakfast. Just icing on the cake. Please Enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevator ... the elevator was very quiet. We never heard anyone make an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarpey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,130 - 1,136 of 2,323 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was our first time to stay here. We got the family suite because there were four of us.
The complimentary breakfasts were fabulous but the room was not. It was in need of major
renovations. The carpet was so wrinkled I am sure it was hard to vacuum and therefore not very clean. The toilet tank lid was broken. The tile coffee table was broken. There was only one remote for two TVs. The sofa was so lumpy it looked like it came from a second hand store. The shower curtain smelled so bad I had to ask for a new one. The room was very disappointing. Everything outside of the room was great.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have always loved your hotel, once I found out the pool was open 24 hours in the beginning, I don't think I left your hotel for A WEEK straight. Your staff is always friendly and now with u having gluten free bread for breakfast, I will continue to choose The Academy Hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cassandrahunter73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Great hotel, great service, wonderful amenities, pretty good price. Minor issues: we were only given 3 bath towels every day, though there were 4 of us; however, just had to make one quick call to the front desk each day and someone would bring us extras. The Wi-fi is free, but spotty- we kept being disconnected, and sometimes couldn't re-connect for several hours. Even though beds in the Tower are listed as memory foam, they are VERY firm and nothing like our memory foam at home. Also, the plastic mattress pad slipped around and creased under us at night, causing uncomfortable lumps. Two-queen room was pretty small- only about 3 feet at most between the foot of the beds and the dresser/table and not much room to spread out or move around. Shower had a little black mildew build-up and bathroom smelled a bit mildewy as well. Window air conditioner ran constantly (rather loudly) and only cooled the room if set at 60 degrees (lowest setting). I call these minor because we're not a family that gets overly concerned about small things. Now the major good things: Free breakfast buffet- best of any hotel we've ever stayed at; on par with a nice brunch you'd pay $15-20+ in a restaurant. Location was great- close to various types of restaurants, shopping, etc., plus right off Hwy 25. Service was friendly and fast when we needed something. Maybe due to loud air conditioner, but we never heard hallway or outside noise, nor next to us or above us. Decent fitness center (but they need disinfectant spray or cloths so you can wipe down the equipment). Beautiful lobby area with fireplace, couches, etc - loved that they had fruit-infused water always available. Didn't eat in the Falcon Bar & Grill, but did have drinks one night- lucky we had the $10 voucher for booking directly with the hotel, as two drinks and one beer cost around $30. But they were great drinks! Overall, I would recommend this hotel as the good outweighs the bad and the price was pretty reasonable.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to be on the northwest corner of the tower, but second floor. So we didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShakoBaseballMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms and I wished we had upgraded to a mountain view room in the tower with an elevator. Our room was very clean, but in need of renovation. The fitted sheets on the bed were too small to fit under the mattress and popped off every night. The soap, shampoo, cream rinse and hand lotion were in dispensers which was convenient as long as you weren't sitting in the bathtub. I would have preferred a bar of soap for bathing. Other than these items, we truly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The breakfast was wonderful and the omelet chef (Patrick?) was extremely friendly and patient with the guests. The $10 off dinner coupon was a great deal. We ate dinner three times in the restaurant and all meals were delicious! The meals served in the hospitality room for the reunion were good and the service was great. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful! We would stay a this hotel again!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Mountain View. The view of Pikes Peak is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaT50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Room was very clean. It was a bit noisy where our room was located. I needed a handicap access room on the ground floor for my mother. I was disappointed that the bathroom was not total handicap access for her. The room was a bit narrow for her walker as well. They are pet friendly, which was great for my diabetic small dog.The chef at breakfast was very friendly and helpful. The staff at the front desk and housekeeping were very helpful and nice too. This was our second time staying here. I will be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

we were on a family vacation and booked a suite. At first we felt lucky to have found a room as other hotels were booked, but soon after we walked into our room we new we made a mistake. The coffee table had a cracked tile. The tv stand had scratches all over it. The view from the room was an outside wall. The windows had tape and hand smears on them. There were pubic hairs on the comforters and on the bathroom floor. the walls were dirty and the floors had paper and lint on it. it looked like it hasn't been vacuumed. The swimming pool water was murky. We swam with googles on and could barely see under water as it was that dirty. We slept with our sleeping bags on top of the beds, it was that disgusting. It was the dirtiest hotel we have ever stayed at and over priced.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,504 reviews
2.5 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
790 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,936 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorad...
#17 of 105 in Colorado Springs
150 reviews
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 105 in Colorado Springs
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Address: 8110 N Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#18 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#21 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range: £66 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing