We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We could not believe how poor this motel was for the price!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge North Academy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Econo Lodge North Academy
Ranked #73 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We could not believe how poor this motel was for the price!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

Although the front desk people were great, the room was terrible. The beds were not clean (the bedspread and blanket smelled strongly of urine and the sheets and pillow cases were discolored and stained) and the mattresses were lumpy. The blow dryer shorted out and sparked when it was turned on, the floor had trash under the desk, and the carpet was old and stained. There was a pocket door to the bathroom that was very difficult to open and shut, and the bathroom fan was extremely loud. If the room had been very clean, it would have been worth no more than $30, but with tax they were charging more than $100! Unbelievable! We are amazed that Choice Hotels would allow this motel to represent them in their chain.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    26
    37
    13
    28
See reviews for
52
25
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

I think if we paid attention to all trip advisor opinions or goggle sites we'd NEVER go anywhere! I live way up in the mountains so come down to civilization once a month and stay in hotels in the springs. For $56 the first night desk service (5/19) was great, nice gentleman, very helpful. Location is great, right off Academy and 25 so easy access to shopping and freeway. Hotel room walls are PAPER THIN though and could hear kids next door and then the cell phone on the other side of the wall and even I think someone talking on the fon upstairs too! People walking down the hall at midnight woke me up and the scary part of it was the hotel was very quiet, God forbid it be busy or a weekend night. Bed acceptable (but I bring my own pillow). Feather pillows though if you prefer hard ones. Sheets wrinkled but clean, towels clean. The place is just older so can look dirty but I don't think it is. You can see they try hard to keep it clean. Elevator constantly reeked of smoke and smelled a faint smokiness when I first got in the room. Was told breakfast was 0600-0900 so I got down there around 0715 and there was NOTHING ready..coffee containers empty, a few pieces of bread for toast and that's it. I asked the guy at the front desk who was actually doing the setting up if there was coffee and he whispered an answer and had zero personality. To be honest... even once it was all set up it was lousy, even the coffee so drive 300 yards to Academy and get a decent breakfast. I have stayed at the Crossland and on expedia it's always 40 bucks but it's a dump and I'll pay the extra 15 to see a little cleaner place. Wi Fi loads slowly so if you're used to speed you'll have to be patient. Over all...price 4*.... cleanliness 3* but only because it's old and at least the desk guy on check in was very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockymntngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

With this class of hotel, it's always hit or miss. Unfortunately, this miss didn't even come close. After reading reviews about how great the service is/was, I was shocked at the terrible service I received. After making a booking 6 days before arrival, plans changed 3 days before. Although we thoroughly reviewed the website for a cancellation policy, there was nothing more than the standard one listed (cancel 24 hours in advance). When our plans changed and we couldn't stay at the Sleep Inn any longer, we called the hotel to inform them and expected good service. Unfortunately, we got the opposite. The supervisor was rude, condescending and didn't call back as promised. When I followed up and spoke to the General Manager, Mr. Donovan O'Donnell. He was equally unresponsive, condescending and rude. The hotel still charged us for the room, in spite of the advertised cancellation policy, insisting that there is a 5 day cancellation policy. Had that fact been advertised, we wouldn't have booked in the first place (and avoided a whole lot of headaches and wasted money). Suffice it to say, the inflexibility of this staff and unprofessional behavior was incredibly disappointing. Based on this experience, I have no desire to stay at any hotel with Choice Hotels International.

Room Tip: Make sure you want to stay here BEFORE you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colorado Springs hotels

Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

I spent one night here with my 11 year old son for a soccer game. There are plenty of restaurants very close by, which came in handy for dinner and breakfast. The outdoor pool was closed (in April this is expected). The indoor pool was really just a landing spot for the slide. No way to do anything more than play on the slide - which we did and had a great time.

The bed sheets were very uncomfortable - some sort of synthetic blend full of static. I got static shocked about 5 times during the night when I rolled over.

We had to leave too early for breakfast (not served until 7:00am on weekends). We told the night manager we had to checkout at 6:30 and he said food would be out by then. Grumpy morning manager told us at 6:30 that he wasn't putting anything out for another 15 minutes. We hit McDonalds across the street.

The room was not really that clean. I found a kids toy next to the bed and the remote for the TV was really greasy - from french fries or chips or something similar.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bondad99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

We stayed here two nights using Choice Privileges points. It was in a convenient location close to I-25. The first night there was a problem with the air conditioner - in the middle of the night it smelled like it was over heating. My husband went down and told the night clerk. He said he could move us then or wait until morning. We decided to wait until the morning. The morning clerk had been alerted to the problem and we were assigned another room right away. Everyone was very nice. We would stay here again.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FerndaleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

Front desk staff were very nice, attentive and helpful. But the room, the building and the breakfast were lacking. Older rooms: carpet, linens, shower, beds, etc. Mattress was a "taco bed" and caved-in in the middle. But it was replaced when we told the front desk. Poor circulation of air on all floors, stinky and hot throughout. Breakfast was so crowded and poorly designed with the coffee station in the corner. Had to stand in line way too long just to get a cup of coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucylucy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Stayed at this hotel for three nights with a friend. Very convenient to restaurants, AF Academy, and other local attractions. Lotsa bang for your buck!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallulah44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Colorado Springs
Comfort Suites Colorado Springs
#61 of 105 in Colorado Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn North - Air Force Academy Area
Comfort Inn North - Air Force Ac...
#51 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy
Days Inn Colorado Springs Air Fo...
#24 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Colorado Springs Air Force Academy
Fairfield Inn & Suites Colorado ...
#33 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Colorado Springs/AFA Area
Super 8 Colorado Springs/AFA Are...
#67 of 105 in Colorado Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
10.3 mi away
Super 8 Colorado Springs Airport
Super 8 Colorado Springs Airport
#75 of 105 in Colorado Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge North Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge North Academy

Property: Econo Lodge North Academy
Address: 1075 Kelly Johnson Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3926 (Formerly Sleep Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge North Academy 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Econo Lodge hotel in Colorado Springs offering fabulous accommodations, Clean Rooms, a convenient location, free wireless Internet, and easy access to area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Choice Hotels and Expedia so you can book your Econo Lodge North Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing