We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy
Ranked #37 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice and pleasant stay”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

After reading reviews from past posters that gave the hotel a 2 or 3 we almost kept driving to the next holiday express 40miles down the road in the snow. Glad we didn't . I can't say one negative thing about our stay. From the woman who checked us in and checked later to make sure everything was ok to the man that we checked out within the am, everything was great. The room was very clean, the new pillows so comfortable we didn't have go get ours out of the car.
Breakfast the usual, but service friendly. The housekeeping staff very friendly to guest and each other. They seemed to work well with each other and happy with life. I would stay here again if going that way!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    81
    43
    19
    13
See reviews for
105
35
9
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
594 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed 2 nights while in the area site seeing, easy to find, next to a lot of food. The room was clean, the staff was nice, breakfast was good, Overall a good stay. I had a good view of the mountains.

Room Tip: Top floor, away from the ice mach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firebear1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you firebear1961 for your review! It's good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel is great The front desk staff is so helpful. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast has a great assortment of food. The location is perfect near the interstate and several restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_traveler1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you Happy_traveler1994 for leaving the wonderful review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in our hotel, and appreciate your feedback. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

They were very accommodating, we had a very long day and it was very late when we needed to find a hotel. They got us right in and our room was clean and comfortable. In the morning I realized I didn't have deodorant or a comb I called the front desk and they had them such a life saver! My only complaint is not enough close parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockymtngirlco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and found us accomodating to your needs! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for three days and found the staff to be first rate; Catherine is a saint!

The breakfast in the morning is outstanding, the location perfect.

The BIG drawback? This hotel obviously had a lot of smoking rooms at one time. While they no longer do, a LOT of the rooms reek of cigarette smoke. The carpets are odor saturated. As are the window sheers. Until the hotel tears all that out and replaces it...this will not be a pleasant stay for someone likes who is super sensitive to smoke.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for your review! We have receintly changed to a completly non-smoking hotel. We are reworking our rooms to make them better for the next time you return to Colorado Springs. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
Level 6 Contributor
586 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel is so new and located in a Mall area that it looks a little like toy town, but don't be put off. Front desk staff were excellent and check in was a pleasant experience, as the staff were knowledgable and able to answer several questions. They also offered vouchers for a free beer at the local bar Rock bottom that I can also recommend. (see separate review) The rooms were a good size and had excellent beds. Minor detail why do hotels choose such bad designs for pattered carpets and better details of how to get there would be useful. A good hotel that provides better value and service than most in this price range.

Room Tip: Back of building is quiet, but does't have the views. Your choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! I'm sad to say that we cannot take credit for your stay. It looks like you stayed with a different Holiday Inn Express in town. I have heard good things from them, so I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Colorado Springs and enjoy our wonderful mountain views! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel was clean and the complementary breakfast was comparable to above for similar short-stay hotels. The staff were pleasant and efficient.
The breakfast omelets could have been made with real cheddar cheese instead of a Velveta-like cheese. The staff kept the food filled, so even if you showed up near the end of the breakfast period, there was still plenty to eat. The pastries were fresh, and they have a pancake maker that creates them at the push of a button. The view from the patio off the breakfast room has a great view of the surrounding area. One comment regarding the reservations was that this was a pre-paid arrangement, which was not really as prominent as it could be. It says a deposit will be collected, so I assumed it would be 1 night, but I found out it was a total pre-pay. Most other hotels offer both pre-pay, and a pay after checkout, which is better if you think travel plans may change. It was Labor day weekend, which is also the Air Force Academies parent's weekend and opening day for football, so we happened to pick a very busy weekend.
All in all, this was a very nice place, and Colorado Springs is so much more scenic than Denver!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eclecticman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
eclecticman, thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Air Force Academy! Your review is very helpful, it is true that Labor Day weekend is a very busy one, with Parent's Weekend and everyone travelling before school starts, the more the merrier! :) I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Colorado Springs Air Force Academy
Fairfield Inn & Suites Colorado ...
#30 of 105 in Colorado Springs
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Colorado Springs Central Air Force Academy
Hampton Inn Colorado Springs Cen...
#34 of 105 in Colorado Springs
502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#8 of 105 in Colorado Springs
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorad...
#17 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,253 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Colorado Springs
Hyatt Place Colorado Springs
#10 of 105 in Colorado Springs
824 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Colorado Springs Dwtn Area
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#36 of 105 in Colorado Springs
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy
Address: 7110 Commerce Center Dr, Colorado Springs, CO 80919-2634
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Colorado Springs-Air Force Academy is conveniently located on the north side of Colorado Springs, just one exit south of the US Air Force Academy and easy access to I-25. Additional hotel features include: Deluxe hotel accommodations 28 suites with microwave and refrigerators. Complimentary Continental deluxe breakfast, 24 hr business center and complimentary local phone calls, high speed internet in all guest rooms. Indoor pool, whirlpool and workout facility. Walking distance to many local restaurants. Attractions Garden of the Gods, Pikes Peak, Old Colorado City, Manitou Springs, Seven Falls, Cheyenne Mountain Zoo, Focus on the Family, World Pray Center, US Olympic Training Center, Pine Creek Golf Course. Business: Hewlett Packard, MCI, Federal Express, Oracle, Boeing, Stellant, Current, Lockheed Martin, Ford, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, Intel, Bank of America, Progressive insurance, California Casualty, USAA Insurance. Military: USAFA, Fort Carson, NORAD, Peterson AFB and Schriever AFB. Visit Colorado Springs, CO and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Holiday Inn Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing