We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome beach- easy drive from Maryland!”
Review of Assateague Beach

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Morgantown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome beach- easy drive from Maryland!”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We drove to Assateague beach, Virginia while we were staying in Bethany Beach, Delaware. It was actually a lovely, scenic drive- only took us about 1 1/2 hours to get there. We traveled with 4 teenage girls, who really enjoyed it too! When we first approached the white beach and looked across to the gorgeous ocean, it was breathtaking! Words cannot describe this lovely stretch of beach. There isn't a lot of beach but what's there is very clean, white sand, clean, blue green water. In fact if I didn't know better, I'd say we were at a Florida beach! The waves were perfect the day we were there, great for body surfing, boogie boards or surfing. There were quite a few surfers there that day! It was quiet, and peaceful- the only sounds were the crashing of the waves! Lots of shells to pick up too! I would highly recommend this beach if you like clean, white sand and that lovely blue green water! You can walk out a fair way into the ocean too before it gets deep, so perfect for riding those waves! There are bathroom/changing rooms nearby too. We brought a cooler with sandwiches and drinks as there is nothing nearby. I would recommend bringing this if you plan to stay for any length of time. Also it was over 90 degrees the day we were there so it helped to have a cold drink. Unfortunately we didn't spend enough time the day we visited to see the ponies- which we would have loved to have seen!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dciffarelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    66
    17
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Favorite family vacation”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We have been visiting Chincoteague and Assateague since 1973. We happened to be there on Independence Day this year, with our daughter and her family, and our son, when NASA, from nearby Wallops Island launched a rocket toward the ocean. It was a rare treat, though their reason was scientific, not about celebrating. The ponies, the wildlife, the beautiful beach, wonderful Chincoteague, the whole National Park system, make this our favorite summer destination.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank bbkgpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Assateague access from Maryland or Virginia”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Assateague Island is accessible from Maryland or Virginia. Both have unique offerings.

The Maryland side has a state park as well as a National Park. It also has a wonderful new visitor center with great displays and a very informative film with beautiful cinemetography. You can walk from the visitor center down a path along the bay to an historic house in a lovely setting. The house was recently refurbished and is now open for tours.
Across the bridge, The Maryland state park costs less to get in and offers big restrooms with flushing toilets and private showers, a well-stocked store and an ice cream parlor and fast food kitchen (hot dogs, burgers, fries, sandwiches, etc.). It also has a nice deck outside to sit and eat while looking over the beach. You can walk north from the state park and see the bay on one side and the ocean on the other. If you go to the National Park side in Maryland, you drive a few miles further and pay about $15 to get in (they no longer let you pay a single day fee but require you purchase a week pass). The bathrooms are essentially outhouses and the showers are outside (usually with a long line). There are some nice hiking trails and great camping here though (bring bug spray).
The quaint picturesque town of Berlin is about ten miles inland from the Maryland parks, and offers really great restaurants, really nice gift and antique shops, and an awesome glass blower.

The Virginia side of Assateague is accessed through the touristy town of Chincoteague, which also has a FEW nice restaurants and shops, but a lot of tacky places and loads of kids and tourists (Mcdonalds right next to the park entrance).
However, Once you get through Chincoteague to the Virginia side of the National Park, there is a wonderful lake to walk or bike around, and an historic lighthouse and many nature trails. The beach is much smaller than the Maryland beach.
We prefer the Maryland side, less crowds, bigger beach, better facilities on the State Park area, and Berlin is always wonderful. And we always stay at our favorite booklovers b and b in Maryland.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
20 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowe
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

A short drive from the closest town, where you can camp or stay in a motel, through a wild life refuge, past a toll booth. Yes, you must pay for the upkeep of this beautiful beach. Make sure you take bug spray. If the wind is blowing the wrong way, bugs can chase you away. Limited parking, go early in the day. Clean showers and restrooms have been my experience. Let's keep it that way folks.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshine19518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect beach experience!”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

A great alternative to the wilder life on the beaches in OC. The beach is beautiful, wide and the water is perfect. Kids love to catch a glimpse of the wild ponies too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Whimsylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Assateague Beach also viewed

 

Been to Assateague Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing