We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lighthouse”

Assateague Lighthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
us
Level Contributor
285 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lighthouse”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I came here as a child and was excited to come back and see this lovely lighthouse on the hill once again. It was clean and fresh (I remember it as being all red when I visited before) and seemed much easier to get to than it did those many years ago! I did not climb but, it seems like it would be easy to do so and I am sure the views are spectacular.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank junemagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    34
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Panoramic views, stunning!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This lighthouse has been beautifully restored. It was closed this year, however we have visited it before. It is really beautiful. After a short walk up a well worn path you reach the lighthouse. The views from the top are absolutely stunning. Great photo opportunities await. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
540 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“best lighthouse in Md/Va?”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

a great view from atop this lighthouse and a minimal fee to climb. the fee goes toward repainting the light. you do have to pay the entrance fee to get into the national park, but that allows you access to much more than the lighthouse. there is also a gift shop at the base of the lighthouse. bringing bug spray is a plus.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
160 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Love this Stuff”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Great place to see a beatifully restored lighthouse. The picture was done before its new coat of paint. Be careful about the time of year . The mosquito and black fly population goes way up near the end of summer. I sprayed my legs before the walk up and my legs were actually bleeding by the time I got back to the car. Go early in the year and enjoy the whole area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't believe the picture!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

The picture of the lighthouse on the page is very poor depiction of what's really there. The lighthouse has been repainted, the windows have been reglazed, the iron Works have been refitted and the light house looks terrific. The official picture was taken long before this work was finished and does not do justice to the beauty that is assateague lighthouse today.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HalibutOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Assateague Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Assateague Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing