We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of The Elm Tree

The Elm Tree
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Elmton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Three family members visited today for the first time and it definitely won’t be the last.
It was a lunch time visit and we only had light bites but they were delicious (loved the parsnip shavings ). The main meals that we could see being served looked very appetising also. The staff were very efficient and friendly. The outside dining area was really attractive. Can’t wait to return.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank SWgirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Thank you to all the staff yet again for a wonderful evening! Sue a special thank you for fitting us in at short notice! The food was amazing!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

Thank you yet again for the amazing food tonight, special mention for Sue, for accomdating all our friends at short notice, what more could you want amazing food and fantastic staff, Thank you ♥️

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank jackieg344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris N, Owner at The Elm Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

An associate had told me about this place and I decided to have a search on line for it. I found that they were dog friendly so we decided to give it a go. I have to say the welcome, the food and the price were all very good together with the offer of dog biscuits and water for the dogs. We had the lunch special and although the portion sizes weren't massive, we had certainly had eaten more than necessary by the time we left. The glass of red wine in the huge glass was equally wonderful. Thank you to the Elm Tree, it was our first visit, but it won't be our last. There is also a pleasant outdoor eating area which we would be happy to use when we next visit with our dogs but the weather wasn't quite up to supporting alfresco dining when we visited sadly.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Came here last night with my daughter. Hadn't been here for some time because last time out the beer was very poor.

Pint of John Smith's, pint of Peroni and a packet of crisps- £ 9.35. When I queried how the John Smith's and Peroni prices were split only got as far as the "Peroni was £ 5.15" before we went outside. Last time I looked on the map this place wasn't in London and for this area that is by far the most expensive pint that I have bought in the north in 4 years.

To add insult to injury had some fool to my side trying to push in at the bar that wasn't busy, but he still insisted on bumping into me twice. We wondered why we bothered.

Now obviously a pub can charge what it likes but for the north of England £ 5.15 for a pint is pushing it a bit. So decided to drive a mile and a half up the road to get a pint of Stella for £ 3.20 -not for me as I was driving.

We will not be back because even for that price we didn't get a please and a thank you despite other reviews saying how friendly the staff were..... must be me then.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Sickofrudepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris N, Owner at The Elm Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for your review, many other customers commented about you so you left a lasting impression on my establishment and other guests. So your right it must be you.

Peroni is premium world beer, top of the shop in quality and in price we even serve it in a chilled glass straight from the fridge. Stella is not.

If you dont want to pay for a Rolls Royce (peroni in this case) have a BMW ( staropramen) or a Austin maestro (Carling)

God love a key board warrior.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Elm Tree also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 
Barlborough, Chesterfield
 
Bolsover, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Elm Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing