We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
De Vere Wokefield Estate
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Roselawn Hotel(Burghfield)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Highfield Park(Heckfield)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,044)
Filter reviews
2,044 results
Traveller rating
315
509
469
395
356
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
509
469
395
356
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,307 - 1,312 of 2,044 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Booked a Sunday night deal which included dinner and breakfast. When we arrived, we found that we were staying in what I can only describe as the school dormitory area (the executive center) and not the nice part in the main house (which they fail to mention on the booking site)
The place was basically a conference center and had no charm to it at all.
Checking in was fine, but be aware, they are a bit sneaky....They let you know there is a swimming pool in the "executive" center, but upon inspection it's about the same standard as a local council swimming center. What they don't tell you is that you can actually go back to the main house and use their much nicer spa facilities (which were very nice and can't fault)

Back to our room, down the dark corridors, you start to notice how nothing looks like it has been cleaned for a very long time. Carpets filthy, cobwebs over all the light fittings, room service trays lying everywhere (at least 5 hours)

The room itself was actually fine. Very modern and comfortable. Again the cleaning let it down. Mold all over the bathroom ceiling, windows filthy, kettle with limescale stains all over it etc. Don't get me wrong, it was a nice room, but just wasn't cleaned to a standard you would expect.

Dinner was the biggest let down. It was more like a school canteen really. The food quality was fine, but is was bland and nothing special.

To conclude, I would not stay at this hotel again. Maybe if I was in the main house, but I wouldn't recommend it. No charm, dirty and generally poor.

Room Tip: Avoid to Executive center. Go for the main house
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snips1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback on trip advisor, we take all feedback seriously and are sorry that you felt let down on this occasion.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Glossy advert states 'a spectacular four course feast' and 'you're guaranteed to have yourself a merry little Christmas'.
It was plain awful, do yourself a favour and save the £69 per person (or whatever they charge next year.
Cold food, small portions, poorly executed menu, truly poor service (3.5 hrs from sitting down to having desert served and we didn't dare stay for mince pies and coffee, otherwise we would probably still be there now!?).
No welcome, no offer to take coats, no drinks order taken, no checking on how we were, no clearing of unwanted table clutter, no service staff.
We had to pre-order food before the day, and they still managed to bring us the wrong dishes.
On leaving, we found our own coats slumped over the chairs of a free table in the same room?!.
All this for the not so value price of £69 per person.
There were a number of tables that complained on the day, but I didn't want to add any further embarrassment to our table of 5 that we had already encountered.
I called and complained last Friday, and received a call from their Ops Manager (Dave Longcake) who promised to look into our complaint and call me back by Saturday 28th Dec latest.
It is now Monday 30th pm and still no call received.
Just another example of their poor service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leadenfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback - I believe that the hotel has been in contact to resolve.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel numerous times as part of the BMW Training Academy. The Mansion house is where I have always stayed, Very friendly bar staff and clean facility. Happy to recommend to anybody and looking forward to staying again soon...

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Mattjeffery11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your stays here at Wokefield
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Firstly, I agree that the location is really hard to find- even our cab drivers got lost twice. The room conditions were far worse than I expected- it appeared to be a high quality location, but the rooms (our group had three rooms, we were in town for a wedding) were close to dreadful. Cold on arrival, the radiator had either a 'hot' or an 'off' which made it a little hot at night. The main problem was that the bathroom had no ventilation, so it was humid and damp all the time, which meant the towels never dried and the humidity seeped into the room. There was also the result of longtime humidity in the bathroom itself, visible in peeling wallpaper and damp spots.
Also, as triathletes, we were expecting slightly better gym facilities, but again we were disappointed. On the upside the breakfast was nice, we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for your review on trip advisor, We do have a ongoing maintenance plan in place here at Wokefield. I am sorry that the gym facilities did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Great news on the breakfast though.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Dinner felt like i was at a cantine and the staff were rubbish. The room was a bit dingy in the bathroom, the pillow had marks on it. Clean room but the bathroom was pretty dated and had cracked tiles and missing screws in the mirror. The foyer could have been grand, but it was devoted to BMW training which made it feel very businessy/conferency rather than like a hotel trip.
Food was alright, but a bit chilly and totally let down by the lack of waitering.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback, the staff here at Wokefield try to meet all customer expectations and we value all our staff here. I am sorry that you felt let down on theis occasion.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews