We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only thing missing was Basil Faulty!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Vere Wokefield Estate
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The only thing missing was Basil Faulty!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend at The De Vere, Wokefield Park. (Friday 25th July to Monday 28th July 2014). All that was missing from the terrible experience was Basil Faulty himself. It really was just like Faulty Towers. The hotel advertised a Forties Entertainment Break which we thought would be ideal for our elderly mums who are both 80 plus and can now only manage holidays in England. On ringing to book the break, the hotel seemed to know nothing about the advertised weekend. When eventually I was able to book, it took 4 telephone calls and 3 emails to get confirmation of my payment in full sent to me. On arrival we booked a twin and a double room which were adequate size, but needed refurbishing. There was no wardrobe in the double room and only a small wardrobe with 4 hangers in the twin room. There were no drawers in either room to put clothes in. The maid service was very poor. At 4pm on both days our mums room had not been cleaned. Eventually the cleaning lady arrived but barely cleaned the room at all. This was the same on both days.
The first night we had a 'waiter service' meal in the room where the entertainment was taking place. There were 2 choices for the main course on the menu but you weren't asked what you wanted, just given the chicken option! The food was just 'ok' on that night.
The following night we ate in the buffet self service restaurant. It was stiffling hot, with no air conditioning and very little air coming through any window. The service in the same restaurant at breakfast was appauling. Tables were left uncleared, infact I cleared and set our table myself. There were no clean plates and bowls out and no staff around to get any for you. Some of the clean plates and cutlery when we located some, were not clean
The icing on the cake was the 'buffet' evening meal on the final night. This was back in the room where the entertainment was being held. We were told to be seated for 19.30 which everyone was. There were no tables laid and at 20.10 the trolleys of food arrived. You had to lay your own table and fight for your food. There was not enough to go around and the quality of the food was disgraceful and cold. There were no staff around and all of the dirty pots we had to pile up on an empty table. These were EVENTUALLY collected after someone asked the staff to clear them away before the entertainment started. The soup was cold, the staff (when you could find one) were asked 3 times to bring out more bread rolls. The eventually came out with a loaf of sliced bread! The main courses were 'well cooked' and there was not enough of the deserts to go around and eventually they brought out a few tubs of ice cream. Again not enough for everyone. We were told that they would not be providing coffee at the end of the meal and that we could help ourselves from the free coffee machine in Reception!!!!! It is a very good job that the entertainment was First Class otherwise we would have come home early. This was a real disappointment, especially for our mums who were looking forward to their only holiday this year. We will definately not be returning to this hotel. My partner is a keen golfer and has been to several De Vere hotels but has never experienced what we did this weekend and stated that this is the worst De Vere hotel he has ever been in. The staff didn't seem to know what they were doing and there was no one in charge to put this right. The Duty Manager left on Friday afternoon at 16.00 and did not return until Monday morning at 9.00am! Will not be returning - EVER.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I believe that any issues that were encountered during this weekend were addressed with the relevant parties.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    459
    426
    376
    315
See reviews for
273
484
53
577
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Booked a Saturday night in July staying in the Executive Centre.

When we arrived signs were awful driving around in circles trying to work out where to go, drove up to the Executive Centre but this looked like the golf bit no sign for reception so went to the main house to be told no go back to where we were! Same problem in the Executive Centre difficulty finding the pool (have to walk through the bar!! strange!!!) and other areas no signs!!

Lovely grounds so why don't the have some nice seating areas???

Good points (only 2!), free tea and coffee available in reception & free wifi everywhere.

Bedrooms looking tatty in Executive Centre. Extremely hot, had a fan which was thick with dust but made no difference. The beds!!!! Well they were like sleeping in a hammock!!! Zip together beds which sunk in the middle to each and moved side to side every time you turned over. Half way through the night I had such chronic back ache that I put the quilt on the floor and slept there!!! Also asked for a quite room. Had room looking over towards the main house where there was an excessively loud event going on till the early hours!!

Don't pay for breakfast not worth the money. The little hut for the golfers does bacon/saug bap for £2.50 better off with that and your free coffee from reception. There was a very limited choice of food for breakfast most of which was nearly always run out! They serve hot food on extremely cold plates so by the time you have sat down food is cold. Only one toaster so have to wait for ever. Cold options are dried up plastic bread (no rolls or 'real' bread) a few pastries if you were luck that they hadn't run out, poor choice of cereal, fruit salad that was brown and awful.

Pool very small for size of hotel and not big enough for the inconsiderate parents who let their children constantly jump in and out bombing people, I had one child jump right on top of me when trying to swim!! Needs another pool (why not an outside one there is more than enough grounds!

The staff & management treat those in the Executive Centre as 2nd class to those in the main house!

This hotel might be OK for conferences??? But not for a quite weekend away!!

Room Tip: go to another hotel!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback here on trip advisor, I am sorry to read that you found the signage poor, I can confirm that we do have a rolling maintenance programme in place here at Wokefield, and am sorry that certain elements let you down on this occasion. We do not encourage people to jump in and out of the pool and do have appropriate signage to reiterate this, i am sorry if this caused issues whilst enjoying your swim. Please once again accept our apologies if this impacted on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratfield Mortimer hotels

London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Adequate for a business conference. Break-out rooms, dining area, private dining, nice grounds ... good coffee!

Staff need more training and focus on what guest want. Warm white wine served at our private dinner, is not one of them! Etiquette is very important and staff need to understand this to make for a successful event.

Keep on improving.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank steviewonder123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback here on trip advisor after your recent stay, here at Wokefield we continually work with the team to ensure guest feedback is shared with our team and that any necessary actions are taken to continue moving the business forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

II travel a lot with work so I stay in many hotels and I can safely say that this is the worst hotel that I've ever had the displeasure of staying in! The rooms are way too hot that it makes you feel like you're on a slow bake throughout the night! I asked for a fan and I had to ask four times times because the lady on reception never managed to get it sorted - I don't think it's because she didn't care, I think it's because many other people complained that there's only so much she could take! When I spoke to my colleagues they all had the same opinion - just very bad! The food in the restaurant is actually ok but again the customer service was poor! My colleague asked for a bottle of wine when we sat down and it only arrived when we finished our meal - 30 mins later! Also, I asked at breakfast for poached eggs and they never arrived! Overall a terrible stay and the management need to sort this place out otherwise the reviews and feedback on this site will bring it down.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hywel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback here on trip advisor. I am sorry to hear that you had a lengthy wait for both a fan for your room and wine during your meal. We have noticed due to the weather we are being increasingly asked for additional fans. We do have an additional stock of fans available and apologies that you experienced delays whilst staying here at Wokefield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Overall a nice hotel. Breakfast was spoiled by the hotel allegedly running out of orange juice with an hour of service left!! Just warm cranberry or warm water to drink, refreshing! Impossible to believe that whole hotel has no orange juice just can't be bothered attitude.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank senever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay here at Wokefield, I can only apologies that the restaurant ran out of Orange juice at 10am. We have noticed that due to the heat we are seeing at this time of year, guests are drinking more. Our chefs have increased the ordering to ensure this does not happen in the future. I have checked with the manager and am advised that there was, apple juice, cranberry juice, and water available along with breakfast smoothies. Again please accept our apologies.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We spent two nights here, 23rd and 24th July. It was extremely hot in the room and although a fan was supplied it did little to move the air, but better than no fan. We ate in the bar on the first evening and enjoyed the meal. The second evening we ate as part of a large group. Again the food was nice, as was the breakfast. The staff were pleasant and helpful. We were in the executive centre and didn't hear any noise from neighbouring rooms. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the executive centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilagriffiths18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review here on trip advisor. Great to read.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The setting is fantastic but otherwise this hotel underdelivers-massively. On check-in one is required to pre-load one's credit card if charges to the room are desired. This is an abhorrent practice and entirely unnecessary. Worse, having pre-loaded my card I was then embarrassed by having a room-charge declined at the bar. This was later sorted and an apology received but the damage was done.

Our room had no air-con and the outside temp was above 30°C so we tried to open the windows. They opened OK but then immediately slid shut again. We eventually had to prop one window open with the single drinking glass provided in the bathroom.

Ah, the bathroom. I thought that the necessity to travel with one's own bath plug had died in Russia in the 1970's but no, this tradition is alive and well at Wokefield Patk.

On the plus side the young staff were very friendly and helpful and the food at the wedding breakfast we attended was excellent. Just don't stay here.

Room Tip: Chose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback here on trip advisor. I am sorry to hear that you encountered issues with your credit for your room and again apologies if this left you feeling embarrassed. I am however glad to read that the issue was dealt with. I am also sorry to hear that you had a plug missing in your room, we would always arrange a room change or additional item should anything be missing from a room when notified at reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratfield Mortimer
20.3 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,599 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Reading South Hotel
4.0 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
17.2 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Wokefield Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Wokefield Estate

Property: De Vere Wokefield Estate
Address: Goodboys Lane, Stratfield Mortimer RG7 3AE, England (Formerly De Vere Wokefield Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Stratfield Mortimer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stratfield Mortimer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Vere Wokefield Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park blends the charm of a traditional mansion house hotel in Reading with the amenities of a modern executive centre to offer a fabulous choice of accommodation and superb leisure facilities, including a US PGA-standard 7,000-yard championship golf course, boasting elevated tees and nine lakes for the ultimate golfing challenge. As you would imagine with 250 acres of landscaped grounds, outdoor activities are well catered for at Wokefield. From weddings to business events, our Wokefield Park venue is perfectly equipped to fit your every need. Wokefield Park is a great base to explore Berkshire with its many attractions and places of interest and is easily accessible from the M4 and close to Reading for direct trains from London, making Wokefield Park an obvious choice of hotels in Berkshire. It is with regret that the Wokefield Park Mansion House Spa is closed until further notice. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your De Vere Wokefield Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing