We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced & Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Vere Wokefield Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Vere Wokefield Estate
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Overpriced & Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is set in lovely grounds, absolutely beautiful. The rooms are below the standard you'd expect for the price you pay. In ours, the chair is the room had massive rips in the arm and the iron was covered in burnt material that I failed to notice until it was transferred over my clothes. Breakfast was a shambles. We were with another couple, the day after their wedding and were told we'd have sit on round tables with strangers. We refused to do this and sat on an empty dirty table and waited for it to be cleaned. The staff were particularly slow at restocking the buffet, the food was average. This was supposed to be a special stay and the hotel just didn't come up to par.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback here on trip advisor, i am sorry to hear that you encountered issues with the breakfast service. and that the chair was damaged in your room. Please accept our apologies that you encountered these issues in the first instance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    448
    410
    358
    305
See reviews for
259
462
53
563
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend and had a round of golf. The hotel itself was very nice. Good clean rooms. There are free coffee and tea facilities dotted around the hotel but none in your room. Only a problem first thing in the morning! The bar is very nice but a little bit expensive. The golf course is well maintained. For the price we paid an absolute bargain.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay here at Wokefield. Great to hear that you enjoyed the golf!.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonian123
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on 9th August for a wedding and are
thankful we decided not to book a second night. Upon our arrival we were greeted by an unsmiling vaguely hostile woman on reception who checked us in. The room was ok although general impression of the hotel is a bit run down and in need of refurbishment.
The bed was comfortable though and we slept well.
Unfortunately breakfast the next morning was a let down. The food itself was fine but they had run out of bread, plates and hot water for tea so there was a lot of people standing around waiting while breakfasts got cold while we patiently waited for things to arrive whilst tables were left uncleared. The waiters did seem cheerful and apologetic unless the reception staff

The following morning I waited at reception to hand back my key card (the room had already been paid for) I actually overheard the receptionist say to one of the guests who had asked a question 'I already told you!' Unbelievably she then said to the guest 'you'll have to wait I've only got one pair of hands'. Shocked at her attitude I commented to the guest on how rude the member of staff was (She didn't have a name badge on and she was wearing a grey suit and had dark hair in a bun) .The guest then explained that another member of staff on rereception had been rude to the bride and tha there had been a catalogue of errors since they arrived. We enjoyed a wonderful wedding in nearby Ufton Court where staff were courteous and efficient. What a contrast to the service we experienced here. Needless to say, we will not be returning.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Brightonian123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
I do believe that any issues you encountered during your recent stay where dealt with prior to your departure. I do sincerely apologies if you felt let down on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratfield Mortimer hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Based on the Trip Advisor reviews I had read, I was worried about staying here. We were staying here as we were attending a wedding nearby and this was where the rest of the wedding party were leaving from. A week before arrival, we noticed that the hotel room rate had been reduced by 50% which made the room rate an average of £85 plus breakfast. For this price the hotel was actually fine, though if I had been paying the original price of approximately £160 a night I would have been less happy. Yes, the hotel isn't air conditioned, but fans are provided in every room. The bed was comfortable, and the linens and towels were reasonable quality, though the bathroom toiletries were extremely basic. Bring your own shower gel and shampoo!! The hotel is quite a corporate type of hotel and while we were there there were several large events taking place. Breakfast was actually pretty good with a wide choice and good quality. Dinner was a bit more basic, but nevertheless good value and tasty. Overall, if you are looking for a fancy hotel in the countryside this one probably isn't for you, but if you are attending a function nearby then you could do a lot worse. On the whole, my experience was nowhere near as bad as some of the other reviewers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Southwark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback from your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My best friend was getting married and we had a big party staying here for 2 nights . On arrival the rude receptionist swiped my credit card for a £160 cover fee ( even though the first night had been paid by the bride ) I was then told to go to the room . 306 in the mansion side we were paying £176 a night so when I walked in to this room I was expecting quite an executive feel to it which it was anything but , it stank of mould it was filthy , bath panels missing light shades broke , it was appalling and to top it all off have the wall had riding damp .. When we complained they didn't care they just went you'll have to go to another building as we can't accommodate you . So my best friend had booked this a year in advance so all our rooms were together as we were bridesmaids and all needed to be together and all of us were scattered everywhere . We still didn't know where we were staying 2 hours after arrival and then we got this room and were told tomorrow we would be moving . We got back from the wedding and our luggage wasn't moved to the new room so we had no clothes at 2am they wouldn't let us order food or room service because the credit card wasn't the one allocated to the new room ... A unpleasant experience as for the food , overpriced rubbish it was a complete mess , it resembled a Pizza Hut salad bar at the end of the day and there excuse for not reserving our table was "we have had 150 people eating today " . As a below review they mentioned payment issues I have had the same problem saying they have nothing on their PC indicating that I used a credit card yet they've swiped it so I have all this argument to come once I see my statement . This place made my friend have a totally stress wedding experience thank god she didn't have her reception there , it would have ruined her day completely . Rude staff , bad attitudes and extremely unhelpful and if you do complain expect some bad attitude back with a queue of people listening
A lot of business will be lost by upsetting the bride as her work uses this chain a lot .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Squidge80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
I do believe i spoke to you personally on the telephone and rectified this matter today, I do apologies that you felt like staff spoke to you in a rude manner, i can assure that all staff are trained in customer service and am sure they would not intensionally upset any guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Not a great stay at this hotel, as it is in desperate need of a refit.

Negatives
- First room smelt if cigarette smoke and in very bad state, so needed to change rooms
- No clock in the room
- Two lamps didn't work
- Extractor fan in bathroom didn't work
- Heated towel radiator not turned on and very difficult to find how to turn this on
- Tiles missing in bathroom
- Grouting in bathroom black
- Could only open one window after a lot of worse and the other wouldn't open
- No child locks on windows so could easily fall out if travelling with small child
- Paint on the walls patchy and needing repaint
- Two single beds put together and very dipped in the mattress
- General condition of room poor with need of refitting, with only reasonable cleanliness
- could not get the wifi as poor signal
- fuzzy picture on tv
- spot light in bathroom not working

Positives
- nice setting and surrounding area
- didn't undertake leisure activities but there seemed to be a lot on offer
- excellent breakfast
- ample parking
- quiet night

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ultimatelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
I am sorry to read that you encountered so many faults with your room, My team would happily move a guest from a room should there be any issues. I have passed this feedback to my team to help try and locate where at the venue it is located?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We spent 2 nights here, at a lovely wedding, great wedding food etc. But the hotel side, the room management was chaotic. We paid 5 months before but were told on arrival they had no room for us and no record of payment. After much argument and production of our bank statement they agreed to find us a room. On leaving we went through the same argument ... we hadn't paid etc etc. We weren't the only ones in the wedding party in difficulty. The whole thing was handled in an accusative manner by staff who were clearly crisis managing.Everything carried on in front of a waiting queue.. never again! The room maintenance was poor (sash windows broken, lightbulbs missing, top floor poor water pressure etc etc).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katefromglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, i have taken the time to find out there was some confusion with regards to your booking and this was all rectified prior to your departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratfield Mortimer
20.4 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,420 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Reading South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Wokefield Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Wokefield Estate

Property: De Vere Wokefield Estate
Address: Goodboys Lane, Stratfield Mortimer RG7 3AE, England (Formerly De Vere Wokefield Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Stratfield Mortimer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stratfield Mortimer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Vere Wokefield Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park blends the charm of a traditional mansion house hotel in Reading with the amenities of a modern executive centre to offer a fabulous choice of accommodation and superb leisure facilities, including a US PGA-standard 7,000-yard championship golf course, boasting elevated tees and nine lakes for the ultimate golfing challenge. As you would imagine with 250 acres of landscaped grounds, outdoor activities are well catered for at Wokefield. From weddings to business events, our Wokefield Park venue is perfectly equipped to fit your every need. Wokefield Park is a great base to explore Berkshire with its many attractions and places of interest and is easily accessible from the M4 and close to Reading for direct trains from London, making Wokefield Park an obvious choice of hotels in Berkshire. It is with regret that the Wokefield Park Mansion House Spa is closed until further notice. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your De Vere Wokefield Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing