We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic facilities and friendly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Wokefield Estate
Reviewed 17 August 2014

So pleased with our 3 night stay with 2 children. The hotel has fantastic facilities and we were made to feel so welcome. Brilliant crazy golf, my son also had golf tuition by a member of the team which was first class. Would recommend to anyone! Agree that the decor is a little tired in places but the facilities and staff more than compensate for this

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review from your 3 night stay here at Wokefield, Great to see that you had an enjoyable stay with your two children.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,961)
There are newer reviews for De Vere Wokefield Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

999 - 1,005 of 1,962 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here overnight. The hotel was more than adequate for a bed and breakfast break. The whole hotel was clean, the staff helpful, the food excellent, and the prices reasonable. Not the most up-market hotel in the world, but just right for one or more nights stay, and good value for your money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Freddyminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback from your recent stay here at Wokefield.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

There is a possibility that the mansion house section of this hotel is in a better state of repair, however, this is definitely not the case for the "Modern Executive" section of the hotel, in which our room was located. We like to write good reviews when deserved and try not to pick holes in places, just for the sake of it, yet this hotel was that bad that it actually became quite upsetting. We had seen negative reviews from other users and decided to risk it anyway, which was a mistake.

Check-in was a long process, even though the 2 members of staff only had us and one other party to look after. It was gone 10.30pm when we arrived and so we did not expect that it would take nearly 30 minutes to get our room keys. Our room was a long way from all of the main areas of the hotel, down some very tired and old looking corridors. At the junctions of the corridors, damaged and stained furniture appeared to be stored, before being repaired or disposed of properly. When we arrived at the room, I was quite shocked at the state of disrepair, with chewing gum on the walls, ripped wallpaper, milky white liquid dribbled down the back of the bathroom door and no soft lighting at all. I was quite upset and so my fiancé went back to reception and was given another room key. We moved across the hall, to the new room and found that this was better but still run down and dusty, with marks on the walls & ceiling. The room was advertised as having an iron and hairdryer but neither of these items could be located. The bedding was marked and looked dirty, although it could had just been stained. I am pregnant and need extra pillows to be comfortable while sleeping, however, the extra pillow (singular) had been stored for goodness knows how long, in a ripped plastic cover on a top shelf, had dirty covers and covered in dust.

We had breakfast, which was decent enough for £8.50 each but had a lot of trouble when ordering room service. It took forever to get through to them, then we were told that we needed to leave a credit card at reception, which should have been taken at check-in. After another visit to reception, taking 30 mins, we then spent an hour trying to get through to the room service number again. Once we managed to get through again, we ordered sandwiches and chips, which I have to admit turned out to be really good quality but not the fillings that we had ordered. This didn't matter too much, as we enjoyed it anyway and so decided not to mention it. We also ordered room service for dinner the next day and when it finally arrived, my partners dinner was not what he had ordered. Upon calling, they said that they would send a replacement, over an hour later we called back and they said that they would reorder. He finally received a replacement dinner at 11pm (we had first ordered at 7.15pm). Again, the food quality was very good but this is only helpful if you receive what you have ordered. The staff didn't seem too bothered about anything that was mentioned to them and did the bare minimum to solve the issue, with a dismissive attitude.

Positives:-
Nice food, free drinks stations with large choice of hot drinks
Negatives:-
Just about everything else.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Danni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review here on trip advisor. I am sorry to read that you encountered issues with trying to order room service and that you found the room not to a satifactory standard. All are rooms are cleaned on a daily basis by our housekeeping team. Again i am sorry if you felt this was not at the required standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel as an over night stay before early airport run .. very impressed with price, lovely location room comfortable, clean and equipped. Leisure looked great didnt get chance to try it out :(
Overall a positive stay for us

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback from your recent stay here at Wokefield.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel is very nice. Its a little more expensive than other hotels. My visit was a business trip for the week and I took my partner along with me. Service and staff very friendly. The reception area was very welcoming and personified quality. You have free access to the internet and also free wi fi connection, definitely need this connection and general phone signal around the area is very very poor. You also have free tea coffee milk and flavoured tea available.

The pool is very nice but its small so if you get a busy hotel you could find yourself in a tin of sardines, unfortunately the Jacuzzi was not working, I was there for three nights and it was not available at all. Sauna room was small but did the job.

The hotel prompts its spa facilities, but these were a big disappointment for us, we tried to contact the spa three times once in the morning once in the afternoon and once in the evening and on all three occasions no one was available to take our call. The staff who answered was very friendly but was not from the spa so could not give us any info about the spa. We gave up at the end. I did go and look at the spa the spa has no swimming pool, you have to walk back to the hotel to access the pool.

Be aware hotel does hold a lot of functions, so at times the hotel can get very loud.

Overall very nice experience, a little steep but make sure you book breakfast as part of your package as its expensive and they are not willing to negotiate any deal, no matter how long you stay.

One bit of advice for the hotel, if you are going to charge more than your competitors then you should look to include breakfast. There was a maccies ten mins drive so it all worked out well in the end, no thanks to the hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Villains_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review here on trip advisor, Great to see that you enjoyed your stay, and sorry to read that you encountered issues with the team in the spa, I will be passing ovetr your feedback to the relevant persons.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is set in lovely grounds, absolutely beautiful. The rooms are below the standard you'd expect for the price you pay. In ours, the chair is the room had massive rips in the arm and the iron was covered in burnt material that I failed to notice until it was transferred over my clothes. Breakfast was a shambles. We were with another couple, the day after their wedding and were told we'd have sit on round tables with strangers. We refused to do this and sat on an empty dirty table and waited for it to be cleaned. The staff were particularly slow at restocking the buffet, the food was average. This was supposed to be a special stay and the hotel just didn't come up to par.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback here on trip advisor, i am sorry to hear that you encountered issues with the breakfast service. and that the chair was damaged in your room. Please accept our apologies that you encountered these issues in the first instance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend and had a round of golf. The hotel itself was very nice. Good clean rooms. There are free coffee and tea facilities dotted around the hotel but none in your room. Only a problem first thing in the morning! The bar is very nice but a little bit expensive. The golf course is well maintained. For the price we paid an absolute bargain.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay here at Wokefield. Great to hear that you enjoyed the golf!.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratfield Mortimer
20.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,877 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,863 reviews
4.2 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,350 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Reading M4 Westbound
3.2 mi away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Wokefield Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Wokefield Estate

Address: Goodboys Lane, Stratfield Mortimer RG7 3AE, England (Formerly De Vere Wokefield Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Stratfield Mortimer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stratfield Mortimer
Price Range: £50 - £810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Vere Wokefield Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park blends the charm of a traditional mansion house hotel in Reading with the amenities of a modern executive centre to offer a fabulous choice of accommodation and superb leisure facilities, including a US PGA-standard 7,000-yard championship golf course, boasting elevated tees and nine lakes for the ultimate golfing challenge. As you would imagine with 250 acres of landscaped grounds, outdoor activities are well catered for at Wokefield. From weddings to business events, our Wokefield Park venue is perfectly equipped to fit your every need. Wokefield Park is a great base to explore Berkshire with its many attractions and places of interest and is easily accessible from the M4 and close to Reading for direct trains from London, making Wokefield Park an obvious choice of hotels in Berkshire. It is with regret that the Wokefield Park Mansion House Spa is closed until further notice. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your De Vere Wokefield Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing