We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Strenuous, bit scary, but lots of fun

Went rafting today, it was a lot of fun, not for the faint hearted or unfit. Our instructor (think... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
StephBishop
,
Petersfield, United Kingdom
via mobile
You can paddle an Olympic course and live the dream

There are two white water courses for kayaking (and other paddle sports) at LVWWC. The Legacy is... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
AndrewG710
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 1,532 reviews
  
Reviews (1,532)
Filter reviews
1,532 results
Traveller rating
1,368
114
19
13
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,368
114
19
13
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great fun safety briefing great instructor hen do clear instructions team building adrenaline rush an amazing experience safety talk great afternoon changing facilities great facilities birthday present water sports burger white water wet suits
Filter
Updating list...
893 - 898 of 1,532 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

I enjoyed the deck, it had a great vibe and it was a nice place to hang out with my friends. However, I did not care at all for the rafting. I felt it was way too serious for what it was. Being an avid rafter, I was not pleased with the "assigned seating" on the raft and I felt "fun" was being forced on me. This is a good place for people who are either first time rafters or are afraid of white water because they will not hesitate to help you out. Will not be coming back for the white water activities.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank caseyacm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Lee Valley White Water Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Thank you for your review. We’re pleased you enjoyed your time with your friends at the centre. However, we are sorry to hear that you felt the rafting did not match your level of experience. We do have a high number of first time rafters so we aim to make sure we have a strong emphasis on the safety procedures and training aspect of the session. Although this is true for all of our activities, some sessions such as our Hydrospeeding or Hot Dog sessions only have an instructor coaching you from the bank which gives you a lot more freedom to enjoy the white water element. Maybe this is something you can try if you do decide to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Sight is clean and tidy. Play area for children was fun. Purpose of our visit was my partner and son in law was having a day white water rafting. They thought it was a fantastic experience. Recommend it to anybody. They would like to thank Brazilian Tony for his enthusiasm that made the whole experience such a pleasure and great gun

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Lee Valley White Water Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Thanks for taking the time review your visit to us. We’re pleased to hear your partner and son in law enjoyed their rafting experience – we shall pass on their thanks and kind words to Tony. We hope you’ll come and visit us again soon; whether it’s to relax on our beach, enjoy a drink and bite to eat at The Terrace Bar & Café, or to plunge into the rapids and take part in one of our activities – check out our website to find out what’s coming up this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Spent 2 days on the lake learning the basics of kayaking. Alex and Joey are awesome instructors, professional, charismatic and vastly knowledgeable (of course) Couldn't of asked for any more from either of them or from the course itself. Give them a pay rise! ;) Look forward to learning lots more at lee valley.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank daniellek62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Lee Valley White Water Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Thanks for reviewing your visit to our centre. We’re pleased you had a great experience on our Paddlesport Development Programme and will pass on your kind words to Alex and Joey. We hope we’ll see you back for stage 2!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Dear Lee Valley Leisure Trust

The Lee Valley White Water Centre is a fantastic facility, a legacy of the Olympics funded by public money. The ratings for the white water activities seem great. My review is about the standard of service and food at the restaurant and bar.

The restaurant and bar are large, modern and wonderful. An expensively fit out. So much potential for the local area. I had high hopes for evening drinks and dinner.

Very disappointed. Here's why:

No sign of the manager, managing the staff

Staff members talking to each other and not working and not serving customers.

Staff texting on their mobile phones.

Staff drinking coffee and other drinks in sight of customers while on duty.

At one point I counted nine members of staff talking with each other and only one of them was working - preparing a jug of Pimms while the tables outside and inside needed clearing and cleaning from earlier that afternoon

Potman drinking a can of coke whilst pushing a trolley and sort of clearing some bottles

Potman and others throwing bucket loads of used bottles into a rubbish bin on the public decking area. Very noisy.

Two members of staff on the checkout tills with no support from at least half a dozen servers during a busy period when the queue for service was about 25 people. Slow and tedious is an understatement.

Bags of rubbish piled outside the kitchen door in a public area.

Wet floors in the public areas not being wiped and no warnings.

Behind the bar boxes of drink and glasses and other items on the floor which is a trip hazard for staff.

Limited and simple child type food - burgers, hot dogs, chilli, etc... This might serve kids during the day but in the evening much more could be done.

Other than my girlfriend and I, there were a handful of other customers, a few people who had just done the White water and a private party of 30 or so. Had the private party not been there,!the 20 restaurant staff would have outnumbered customers.

You are a charity. You benefited from millions of pounds of charity and public money to build and operate this facility, including the bar and restaurant. You benefit from charitable status that means that you don't pay tax on any profit you might make, which means that you do not contribute to general taxation.

Mismanaging a facility like yours is a waste to the local area and is an insult to the lottery and to those of us who do pay tax.

With the facilities that you have you should and could have a slick operation serving people with food and drink from lunch to dinner. Serving good pub grub and not "activity food" for soggy kayakers.

To be clear the most pressing issue at this place is for the manager to manage the staff and for them to focus on presenting this fabulous facility at its very best, serving customers attentively and stop mucking around. Once this is done you could look at improving your offering.

Date of experience: July 2016
2  Thank MJP26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Lee Valley White Water Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Lee Valley White Water Centre. We’re sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience at The Terrace Bar & Café – we can assure you this is not the level of service that we normally provide or find acceptable.

The Terrace Bar & Café is quite a new addition to this fabulous venue and we're very proud to offer this facility to people from the area and beyond. The Trust has Charitable Status through HM Revenue & Customs, receives no direct charity funding and does pay taxes contributing to general taxation, but this doesn’t excuse the poor service that you received on your visit.

We value all feedback that we receive from our customers, both positive and negative, as we use this to help us improve our service. Please be assured that your comments have been passed on to our catering management and will be addressed accordingly. We hope this experience will not deter you from visiting us again in the future as we would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

A group of seven of us went for a friends Birthday and had a great time! Took a picnic and enjoyed it while watching others kayak and raft down the Rapids. When it came to our turn we had Tony 'from Brazil' as our instructor. Tony was a great guy who knew exactly how to make us laugh and kept us safe throughout the experience. He also pushed us to challenge ourselves and go to the 'next level' on each run. Our experience lasted two hours, with about 1.5hours in the water/raft which felt like much longer. All kit was included, you just need your swimmers! Great facilities to chill out after too, with a drink or some food.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank jamesmountford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Lee Valley White Water Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Thank you for your lovely review. We’re pleased to hear you had fun celebrating your friend’s birthday on the rapids. Safety is always our number one priority with ‘fun’ being a very close second, so we’ll be sure to let Tony know how much you enjoyed it. After all your hard work on the rapids you definitely need to kick back and relax, and where better to do so than on our terrace overlooking the course; drink in one hand, burger in the other! We hope you’ll come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews