We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4UR Ranch
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Foothills Lodge & Cabins(South Fork)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Allington Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spruce Lodge(South Fork)(Great Value!)
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Country Lodge(Pagosa Springs)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
First Inn of Pagosa(Pagosa Springs)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Juan Motel(Pagosa Springs)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teller House(Silverton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prospector Motel(Silverton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinewood Inn(Pagosa Springs)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
40
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew friendshorseback ridinggorgeous settinga special placelove this placerobinaaronranchwranglershorsesfishingscenerymemoriesaccommodations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I grew up going to the 4UR with my family. It is truly one of the most special places on earth. If you are looking for the best vacation in the west, look no further. The 4UR exceeds expectations on every level- the fishing is superb, as are the pro guides, the food is delicious, the amenities are comfortable, the location is breathtaking, and if you aren;t into fishing, then there is hiking, horseback riding, skeet shooting, and plenty to do in the delightful town of Creede. It's a place to escape, appreciate nature, and feel at home in the mountains. It's a true southern Rockies experience and a family owned ranch with a fabulous history. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ampolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I have stayed at the ranch a couple of times now and the experience has always been incredible. The location is spectacular and the service is outstanding. World renowned chefs handle the dining hall and the fishing is top notch. The horse back riding is some of the best I have ever done at a ranch as their focus on natural horsemanship really makes a difference. The horses are calmer and the education is something valuable for anyone who rides. Also, a round of Annie Oakly on the skeet range is a must! I could not recommend the ranch more and can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I have been coming to the 4UR since 1963. My wife and I have been coming for over 30 years. We have been to several other fine western resorts and fly fishing ranches, but always return to 4UR, because of the people, the place and, of course, the fishing. It is simply unsurpassed. This is a classic type of family vacation spot where everyone has a good time because the staff bends over backwards to make it so. The setting for 4UR is, in itself, idyllic, and unequalled. The food is superb. It is a place you never want to leave and always want to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BobPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

My family has made our yearly stay at the 4UR a family tradition since the '70s - making the trip each July isn't ever up for discussion... it's the one week of the year that we all put on our calendars year in and year out, knowing that it's just a "given". The reasons are many - comfortable and well-maintained accomodations and amenities, casually sophisticated food and service, superb fly fishing and beautiful mountain views are those at the top of our family's list. The 4UR has been owned for many years by a well-regarded family, and is managed by a couple who have become close family friends. As a team, they take great care to provide a fun, attentive and relaxed, family-focused environment, be it on the stream or in the dining room. The 4UR is arguably best known for its private stream fly fishing (as well as private stretch of the Rio Grande) that is consistantly some of the best in the Rockies. My wife and I are grateful that we are now able to share the 4UR experience with our 4 year old twin boys, the third generation in our family to call the 4UR our "Colorado home"...

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rmpjrTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We have been going to the 4UR Ranch for at least 40 years now. My grandmother started going in the early 1970's and we have loved it ever since. Each summer our family looks forward to this amazing trip. It is our very favorite vacation!

The service is excellent! The rooms are cleaned everyday with fresh towels. The view from each room is breathtaking, surrounded by mountains and streams. Each room is updated and rustic. The food is wonderful and delicious. It's such a treat to have 3 meals a day served to you for a week. 4UR is known for their amazing food! The wait staff is very friendly. The lodge where the food is served is decorated very rustic and cozy. It's a wonderful meeting spot for all the families and friends. Each staff member on the ranch has been interviewed so they are very experienced. 4UR even has a "kids program" so the adults can fish and play on the ranch during the day. The kids love their day camp because they are hiking, riding horses, swimming in the hot springs or hanging out in the recreational room.

Fly fishing at the 4UR is fantastic! It's the best fly fishing in Colorado. It is a catch and release program. Goose Creek runs 7 miles through the ranch which allows the vistors plenty of space to fish. Vistors have a choice between fly fishing in Goose Creek or the Rio Grande River. Also, there is a pond for the small children to fish. You have to experience it to believe it!

The horse riding program is a "luxury "dude ranch. It's a top notch stable with wonderful and experienced wranglers. You will leave the ranch feeling comfortable and relaxed on a horse. The children will have a rodeo at the end of the week to show off their skills. The rodeo is such a fun time for the whole family! It's amazing how much the kids and the adults learn in a week at the 4UR! You will leave the ranch feeling like you belong on a horse!

The managers of the ranch, Aaron and Robin Christensen, are the most gracious people. They are there to make your trip a memorable one. They are always greeting you with a smile or helping you at the ranch.

4UR Ranch is an amazing vacation. It is great for families with kids or couples that are wanting a romantic trip. No matter what, you will have the most wonderful time at the ranch. You have to make reservations now!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tezreena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews