We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way.....!!!!”
Review of Elk Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elk Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way.....!!!!”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My husband and I have spent over a week at the Elk Mountain Lodge. The owner and staff were fantastic! They were most accommodating and friendly. Excellent breakfast each morning and we never felt rushed. Our stay was relaxing, good location, great value and wonderful people!!! This was our second stay and we will return next year. Ron and Viki
Thank you to Mike, Bryan, Erica and Lindsey...

Room Tip: We liked the second floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    56
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
130
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilson, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Wow! We bucked up a big drive to race at the Alley Loop in Crested Butte and arrived at the charming Elk Mountain Lodge in the wee hours of the morning. Not only were we greeting by plush beds, we awoke to a gourmet breakfast and espressos. The owner and staff went out of their way in every way to make sure that we could wax our skis for the race on their wax bench and have a fuel-hardy breakfast. The icing on the cake after our race was the delighful hot tub soak. We will be back and will bring the rest of the family for an excellent vacation!

Room Tip: Families, there is a first floor that looked excellent and we were informed that you could book the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamsen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skowhegan, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My wife and enjoyed our 1 week stay here very much.we found it to be very comfortable and restful.all the staff were helpful and friendly.we heartily recommend it to any one looking for a nice,reasonably priced place to stay in crested butte which is a fun and unique ski town.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajervey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We have travelled to Crested Butte several times and decided to visit in Ocober to get an early dose of cold weather away from Texas. Knowing town would be basically deserted this time of year, waited until last minute to book. Everything was easily handled over the internet and a key was waiting for us at the front desk upon arrival. Elk Mountain Lodge is a privately owned establishment, not a chain and you definitely feel that from the moment you enter. Owner Mike Nolan runs a tight ship and all the details are taken care of. Not luxury accommodation - it is quite an old building, but way beyond "no frills". Decor and style of hotel is more in keeping with small town Colorado. Comfortable bed; clean, decent sized room; modern, well appointed bathroom. No complaints what so ever. Even though there were just a couple of guests in the hotel due to the time of year, we were still served a very filling, adequate breakfast. Mike even cooked us eggs himself one morning. The lodge's location is perfect - 2 blocks off of Elk Street.

All in all a very nice stay in a very comfortable hotel and I would very definitely recommend to any CB visitors.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurotripper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We visited this Inn in June. There was still snow on the ground. The very nice Innkeeper even upgraded our cozy room to one with a balcony. We were able to sit outside and enjoy the beautiful views of Mt Crested Butte and the city below. A very nice simple breakfast was there to get us going in the morning. We hope to be back one day. We love Crested Butte!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Reserved just by reviews and it paid off. Was a Miner's hotel back in the day. Our room was excellent, well maintained and the breakfast was great. Easy walk to downtown for dining and drinking.

Room Tip: We had a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaire, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Our one night in Crested Butte was at the more expensive Elk Mountain Lodge. It is within walking distance of downtown and all the shops and restaurants. The room was very nicely decorated. I wish there had been a comfortable chair though. My major complaint is there are a lot of stairs and at a higher elevation, we were very winded going up the one flight to our room. I couldn't have made it to the third floor! The breakfast was wonderful and the dining room very pleasant. The owners were very nice and very helpful.

Room Tip: I probably wouldn't go to the third floor as there are so many stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antiquetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
2.3 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
767 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
264 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
630 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#7 of 9 in Crested Butte
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cristiana Guesthaus
Cristiana Guesthaus
#5 of 9 in Crested Butte
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Lodge

Property: Elk Mountain Lodge
Address: 129 Gothic Ave, At Second & Gothic Ave, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Crested Butte’s Historic Inn” A modest, yet elegant, bed & breakfast lodge with 19 quaint rooms downtown Crested Butte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Elk Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Mountain Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing